We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,quiet,comfortable and a good value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean,quiet,comfortable and a good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this motel on Sept 26,2013 for one night. We were very pleased with the quietness ,the pool and whirlpool, and the reasonable price. Wish we would have read the splash pass sooner and better,could have saved 20.00 on our golf at "the Woods". But will know for next year. Enjoyed the free round at Pinecrest par 3, as my husbands back was acting up and it was a cute and perfect place to work on your short game . Also enjoyed the breakfast deal at the the Kilbourn grill nearby.This place is clean ,quiet and friendly,and coffee in the room would be nice,but did not mind going to the office for it. Great job ,nicely run motel,comfortable bed! Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us...we very much appreciate it and also your patronage. Sounds like you had a relaxing stay and found your stay to be enjoyable and budget friendly. We do give a complimentary Dells Splash Pass with each room reserved, it's a great savings of buy one get one free discount deals at various attractions and restaurants. Sounds like you enjoyed the Kilbourn Grill with use of this card. We hope to see you again for the 2014 season...and it is looking like all rooms will then have complimentary in room coffee. Have a great fall season and we hope you can find time to work on your short game before the snow starts flying. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    172
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
552
281
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here Sept.23rd and had a really nice stay. The staff was more than helpful. The room was clean and there were plenty of towels. The location is excellent very close to the Dells Tours.We stayed here as a result of Trip Advisor recommemdations and we happily add our good rating. It's great for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you so much for listening to the rest of the Trip Advisor community and booking your stay at the Black Hawk! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you also enjoyed the beauty of the Wisconsin River while on the Dells Boat tours. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again in the near future. Have a great fall and winter season. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We are a family of four. Two young girls ages 8&12. We usually stay at big name resorts which we find ourselves tired from no sleep due to noise. The Black Hawk was quiet we had our own cottage #68. Absoutely loved this place. Very Very clean. Staff very friendly. The indoor pool nice and warm along with the sauna and hot tub. We our looking forward to booking this place in the summer. IT is with in walking distance to downtown strip. Beds were comfortable. I just cant say enough it was a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: There are ground floor rooms at hotel, cottages 66-74, 715 house and many other rooms check the webs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
So glad to hear that you had a quiet and peaceful stay with us. Our cottage #68 is our whirlpool deluxe with 3 queen beds and huge in room whirlpool. It's a popular unit because it offers privacy with the bedroom w/ 2 Queens. We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and for giving us a chance by booking with us. We feel that we offer a nice alternative type of lodging for families that are looking for something different than the big mega water park resorts. We hope to see you for the 2014 season and be sure to check our website for our 30 different room types to choose from. Have a great fall and winter season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean well furnished well maintained motel. Excellent value for your dollar. Pleasant, professional, but down home feeling staff. I really liked this place. We are extensive travelers and found this to be a comfortable stop on our travels. Jack arthur

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello Jack Arthur, Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found us to be an excellent value and comfortable place to stay. We hope to see you again and in the mean time....safe travels! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Black Hawk Motel in August 2013. It was a great price and location. Like the title of this review says, it is what we needed. It is not a fancy place so if that is a priority, stay somewhere else and pay more. If you want a great deal, location and friendly staff for an affordable price, this motel will meet your needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello Shanna,...Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us! We also feel that we offer a great lodging value and offer an alternative to the fancy high price accommodation. We are located just 4 blocks from downtown Wisconsin Dells and all area attractions and fine restaurants are within a short drive. We also offer 30 different room types to choose from so we have rooms for guests on a budget, large family rooms, two bedroom units, kitchen units, jacuzzi suites and our two bedroom house. We hope to see you again in the near future and have a great fall and winter season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and had an excellent experience. The hotel offers so much for the price and the 2 rooms we stayed in were updated and clean. We stayed in the WP room with kitchen and the rest of the week a QB regular room. Pool and hot tub, game room, laundry. The ONLY downfall and the reason for a 4 rating is there is no coffee maker in your room. The room has a fridge & microwave but no coffee maker?? You have to walk down to the office for coffee. I'm glad we stayed during Sept. I wouldn't want to walk down there in winter for something I drink while half asleep. Great value overall and we'll definitely be back but will bring our own coffeemaker for more convienience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent week stay stay with us. We appreciate all the reviews that we receive as we get insight on new amenities to add and ways to improve guest satisfaction. In room coffee is the most requested amenity by our guests according to in person customer comments, on comment cards or in reviews. As for the 2014 season...at this time we plan on having in room coffee in all our guests rooms. Otherwise, it's great to hear that you had an excellant stay with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the rest of the amenities that we offer. We do currently close at the end of October each year and reopen in the spring. Please check our website for information and what is most likely something new for 2014...In room coffee. We really appreciate your feedback on the in room coffee and for also choosing the Black Hawk. Thanks again and have a great fall season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, IL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here in early August in Room 35--double Queen room. Everything was very clean and everything worked great in the room--no problems here! Nice pool outside with slide/diving board and they DID heat it up a bit when needed (some other places i've stayed at advertise heated pool but it never seems to be heated when it's a bit chilly)..also used the indoor pool while there. This place also has two jacuzzi's--has nice game room--small playground outside for the younger kids (I'd say 10-11 and under). The owners/managers were very nice people--there is free coffee in the AM in the office. The only thing I didn't like too much is that most of the rooms are ground level with the parking lot and view was of cars--but i knew the layout when we booked anyway and we still enjoyed sitting outside at night having a few drinks. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us this summer! Room #35 is our standard two queen bed room and is one of our most popular room types that we have. It's ideally located at the back of our horseshoe section...so it's close to the indoor and outdoor pools. I believe in heating our pools to a comfortable temperture for better customer satisfaction. I and my family have experienced cold swimming tempertures and it's not enjoyable. So...when the outside temps are cooler...we turn our pool heaters up. Sounds like you had a great time staying with us and we hope to accommodate you again in the near future and if you would like the same room....please let us know and we will try and accommodate you. Have a great fall season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#7 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.