We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great costumer service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS!
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great costumer service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great costumer service, Rooms are outdated but very clean not a single mold spot in the bathroom! Pool and sauna are great, super clean and private. We didnt visit the otdoor pool, but
we will visit again for sure! needs more activities for little kids.

Room Tip: not close from atractions, but close enough from shopping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing to stay with us! It sounds like we accommodated you in one of our rooms that is still on our remodel list as many of our rooms have been recently completely renovated. Guests should check our website for detailed room descriptions and photos. Thanks again for your review and it makes our day to learn that your room was clean and our property was clean and you received great customer service. Thanks again and have a great fall season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    197
    34
    9
    2
See reviews for
690
320
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
LOVES PARK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We looked for a place to stay for our 25th Anniversary and remembered this motel. This motel I was brought to when I was 6 or 7 by my grand parents. I am 45 years old now. We came back here 5 years ago and the place is as I remembered it with the addition of the game room and indoor pool. It is so clean that you can literally eat off of the floors in my opinion. The staff has always been more than accommodating. Being only a block and a half away from the Downtown Shopping Strip you need not drive there and pay for parking. If you really need the hustle and bustle of a water park they now include Chula vista passes with your stay. We always enjoy our time here and cannot say enough about the owners and the accommodations. If you want a good clean place to stay for a reasonable price look no further Black Hawk Motel is the place to stay!!! We have been coming here come here at least once a year for the past 5 years or more. We will continue to come for the wonderful family style tradition we are accustomed to!! Try it and see for yourself!!! You will Love this place!!!

Room Tip: Always look for the managers special!!!!! Whirlpool rooms with or without a balcony!! Excellent rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello Scott! First of all...I, Tena and our entire staff would like to stay CONGRATULATIONS on 25 years of marriage and Thank you for your continued patronage over this time. Sounds like you and Michelle had a great getaway and enjoyed some much needed R & R. Our whirlpool suites are some of our most popular rooms for many years and they are very popular in the spring and fall seasons when we run our Manager's Special. This special makes our whirlpool suites a great deal at $69 or $79 per night Sunday thru Thursday nights. Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and have a great fall season. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neshkoro, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great stay!! We have gone there for our family reunions for the past several years. Love it - clean, very accommodating, friendly, and a good value. Left some items there after our last stay there and they were so helpful by sending them to me. We will be going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for your continued patronage each summer,...it's very much appreciated! We are happy that we were able to accommodate everyone this year and we love the photo of the kids in front of Chief Black Hawk! This is a very popular photo spot for many of our guests. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again next year! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My family and I loved this motel! It looks and feels like it's the 50's, but has extremely clean rooms, new flooring, super cold air conditioning, flat screen tv, etc all for a value-friendly price. We spent lots of time enjoying both the indoor and outdoor pools, the kids loved the slides and diving board, and my wife and I liked having a hot tub available. We will definitely be coming back here next time we're in the Dells!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
It's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed our Retro feel motel with our many in room modern day upgrades! Our Heated Indoor and Outdoor pools are always a big hit with our youngest guests and their parents and grandparents too! We hope to accommodate you and your family again next summer and please let us know if you would like to have the same room. Also,....be sure and check out our second hot tub located by our office. Many guests don't know about this hot tub as it's a bit more private...and a bit hotter. Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and have a great fall season. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

So I picked this motel because of Trip Advisor. When we pulled in my boyfriend looked at me and said "Really, this is what you picked out of every place in the Dells?" Needless to say by the end of our stay he was convinced why this motel has such high ratings. The customer service is top notch. You don't see very many family owned motels in the dells. Most of them actually look like they are being monopolized my Mt. Olympus. Stroll through the dells and you will see white and blue motels everywhere. We stayed in a room that had just been remodeled. It was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. My boyfriend and I usually sleep with two pillows each and there were only two on the bed. We went to the front office and Brad gladly gave us two more. I can see why there are so many reviews about him. He really is a nice guy! On the wall there was a big picture of an expansion that they were thinking about doing. I told him right away that I thought the motel was perfect just the way it was! That's what makes people keep coming back! If I wanted to go stay at some big hotel I'd go one of the huge chains that have poor customer service where the people working there could care less if you came back or not. But that's not how it is at the motel. You can tell that they appreciate every guest that stays there. And that is why they're rated one of the best places to stay in the dells.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review and for choosing the Black Hawk for your accomodation needs while visiting the Wisconsin Dells area. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with! We strive on providing a clean, comfortable room and well maintained property, with many amenities and top notch customer service. We really do appreciate all of our guests and do our best to make sure they have the best possible stay. Many of our repeat guests we have known for years and grown to love like family. Thanks for your thoughts on our expansion plans and I promise that with our expansion...nothing will change as we'll never be like a resort or chain where our guests are nothing more than a number. We are family owned and operated since 1945 and I grew up in the business and I was taught how to treat our guests and we carry this on today. We hope to see you again soon and if you are able to join us again and would like the same room....please let us know and we will try and accommodate you! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have had our family reunion here for 15 plus years and we've always had great rooms, service and friendliness from the owners. They take great care in the rooms, grounds and amenities. Brad and Tena are always ready to assist with your questions.
A restaurant across the street, short walk to downtown and more restaurants. Pools are clean and fun. If you're looking for a clean, reasonably priced place to stay, this is it.
Thanks, Brad & Tena, Kathy S

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello Kathy! We always look forward to each Labor Day weekend as the summer is winding down and we get ready to welcome you and the rest of your family! It seems that every year your reunion seems to grow by a room or two. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable property with many amenities and top notch customer service. Thank you for taking the time to write us another review and have a great fall season and we look forward to seeing you and the rest of your family over Labor Day weekend 2014. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. The rooms are older but they have done a great job maintaining it. The price is outstanding and it's close to everything. They have a nice indoor and outdoor pool, an arcade room and playground. The room includes admission to a water park but we didn't take advantage of that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello Linda, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are glad to hear that you found us to be a great deal and our property to be well maintained. We have 30 different room types to choose from and many are newly remodeled and we have another wing of rooms which we are remodeling this winter. Sounds like you had an older room,...if you visit us again, please ask when booking your reservation and we'll be sure and accommodate you the best we can. Also the best rates are almost always found by booking directly thru our website or by giving us a call. Thanks again and have a great fall season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#6 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#29 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#19 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#20 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#25 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Star Value Inn
All Star Value Inn
#1 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.