We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Neat, Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Clean, Neat, Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have had our family reunion here for 15 plus years and we've always had great rooms, service and friendliness from the owners. They take great care in the rooms, grounds and amenities. Brad and Tena are always ready to assist with your questions.
A restaurant across the street, short walk to downtown and more restaurants. Pools are clean and fun. If you're looking for a clean, reasonably priced place to stay, this is it.
Thanks, Brad & Tena, Kathy S

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello Kathy! We always look forward to each Labor Day weekend as the summer is winding down and we get ready to welcome you and the rest of your family! It seems that every year your reunion seems to grow by a room or two. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable property with many amenities and top notch customer service. Thank you for taking the time to write us another review and have a great fall season and we look forward to seeing you and the rest of your family over Labor Day weekend 2014. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    172
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
552
281
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. The rooms are older but they have done a great job maintaining it. The price is outstanding and it's close to everything. They have a nice indoor and outdoor pool, an arcade room and playground. The room includes admission to a water park but we didn't take advantage of that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello Linda, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are glad to hear that you found us to be a great deal and our property to be well maintained. We have 30 different room types to choose from and many are newly remodeled and we have another wing of rooms which we are remodeling this winter. Sounds like you had an older room,...if you visit us again, please ask when booking your reservation and we'll be sure and accommodate you the best we can. Also the best rates are almost always found by booking directly thru our website or by giving us a call. Thanks again and have a great fall season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeoville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I Have Stayed here Several Times With My Wife and 2 Girls 11 and 13 They loved the indoor and outdoor pools,and Hot tuband Sauna. Great spot just far enough from the "strip" for peace and Quite.
We used the outdoor BBQ Grill next to the pool it was awesome.Save some Money and Stay Here.
They Recommened some places to eat to us which were outstanding as well.We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: They have a 3 bed suite that was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you so much taking the time to write us a review! It's always great to accommodate you and your family and room #21 is our two bedroom unit with 3 Queens. This room has been one of our most popular room choices for over 4 decades....as it offers privacy and is close to our heated pools, retro arcade and BBQ grill...plus it's newly remodeled! My wife Tena and I are born and raised in the Wisconsin Dells and we always encourage our guests to inquire with us where the best restaurants and must see attractions are. If it's a locals choice for breakfast, lunch, pizza or an old fashioned Wisconsin supper club.....we'll direct you in the right direction...and chances are...Trip Advisor backs up our recommendations. Thanks again and we hope to see you and your family again in the near future...until then...have a great fall season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over Memorial Day weekend. Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate much that weekend... was a bit chilly and even rainy. So we never did try the outdoor pool, but we definitely took advantage of the indoor pool, jacuzzi & sauna. Our boys loved the arcade room with pool table & juke box. Gave us plenty to do in our down time at the motel. The passes to Chula Vista were great, especially since it was rainy & cold... an indoor waterpark was perfect. Parking was excellent... always had the spot right in front of your room. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Black Hawk! It's great to hear that your kids enjoyed our heated indoor pool and retro arcade w/ pool table and juke box....as well as the complimentary Water Park Passes to Chula Vista Waterparks. All of our guest rooms have reserved parking at your door and this is a great convenience to our guests. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Went to the Dells for one night to see a concert. We made a reservation based on tripadvisor reviews. We want to thank everyone for being right on. Room was spotless and in really great shape for age of the Motel. Place was alive with Activity around the Pool and yes it was a throwback not only to the 70's but to the late 50'early 60's when used to go to Dells as a .young boy. It was a joy to stay here. We also made note that it was the only place in area with " NO VACANCEY". Great value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Charles, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on your recent one night stay with us. We are glad that you choose to stay at the Black Hawk and we are happy to hear that we reminded you of places you stayed at as a kid growing up. Back during a time before the hotel chains took over many of the motels that were across the country. We appreciate you noticing that we were the only place in town with "No Vacancy". As my Dad would teach me as a kid and reference the renting of rooms...."you can't rent them in November". Thank you again and we hope to accommodate you again in the future. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Random Lake, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Brad/Tena
Thank you for another wonderful vacation the remodeling looks great .
If your looking for a clean and friendly place this is it new mattress pillows and affordable
been staying seven yrs and will continue.the owners go out of there way very well kept prperty

Room Tip: acroses from the office in deluxa queen
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hello Nancy! We are glad you like the new look of your room #11...also known as our Two Queen Superior! This is one of our most popular room choices for over 4 decades and includes an extra window for added sunlight. It was great to see you and Steve again and congrats on your recent marriage! We always look forward to seeing you and we really appreciate your review,...however we especially appreciate your continued years of patronage and your friendship! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I went for a short getaway from the kids and decided to stay in the Jacuzzi sweet. The room was very clean and cozy. We did not use the pools at all while we were there,but from what we saw, they looked very nice.

The motel parking was very nice and right up front to the door of the rooms, only downside is if you have more the one car in your party, it really did not look to have any guest parking for additional cars. Could only have one per room.

Reasonable rates for a getaway, we had a really great stay. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Black Hawk for your weekend getaway! Our jacuzzi suites are very popular units, especially in the spring and fall months. All guest rooms do have reserved parking at your door and this is one of the most appreciated amenities that we offer. For guests that do have more than one vehicle, we offer a few extra parking spaces within our main complex or by our cottages, but also have many areas around the property which is currently vacant land that we usually direct our guests to also park. This has worked out great for guests who need addtional parking to accommodate a boat or trailer. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and for also recommending us to others. We look forward to accommodating you for another weekend getaway! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.