We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE WATERPARK INCLUDED
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Woodridge, Illinois
1 review
“Perfect weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here based on travel reviews from others that have passed here before me. Clean, Grounds room and area well kept. Hotel manager was a graet help. WE caught fish and he let us keep ion his freezer until we went home. My grandkids age 3 and 5 loved having two pools and Chula Vista passes were a bonus. Close to downtown. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you hate stairs, let them know,.Most rooms are on mail level and close to pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your review and we happy to hear that we provided you with a clean and comfortable stay. Sounds like the kids had alot of fun in our heated indoor and outdoor pools and the water parks at Chula Vista water parks. I was also happy to store your fish for you in our home freezer, at the price you paid for the fish...we sure hope they were good. However,...as you stated...it was for the kids and they had fun. We hope to accommodate you again in the near future and have a great fall season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    167
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
536
270
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The cottages 67 & 69 were as expected, very cozy and quiet. I would highly recommend for anyone planning on visiting the area. Only a few blocks walk to main drag.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hello,...we are HUGE on customer service and we are proud to hear you received friendly service from our staff. Our cottages are some of our most popular room types and with no common walls they give added privacy. Thank you so much for your review and we hope to accommodate you again in the future and have a pleasant fall season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We absolutely LOVED this place! It screamed old school America while still being very clean and offering nice amenities. We were able to easily walk into town. They had plenty for our little ones to enjoy with an indoor and outdoor pool. It was affordable and quite simply put, exactly what we were looking for on this trip...to experience the Dells while maintaining standards and without staying in an overpriced resort that nickel and dimes you for your entire stay. The Fred passes to chula waterpark are awesome, it's a great park!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We were so happy to accommodate The Traveling Circus to the Black Hawk recently this summer! Glad that you wanted to experience a taste of True Americana...a time of the past, before corporate America and chain hotels started popping up all over the country. We are glad you liked our indoor and outdoor pools, playgrounds and complimentary water park passes to Chula Vista...all while finding us to be affordable. Thank you for your review and we hope to accommodate you again in the future! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Grove, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Overall it is a great place, I feel the price was a little high but then again we did stay there over Labor Day Weekend. If there was a continental breakfast every morning then I would feinately say that it would hands down be the best place to stay in the dells. It seemed as if EVERY other motel in the dells and surrounding areas offered a continental style breakfast every morning as they were all priced very similar to Black Hawk. The indoor and outdoor pools were great and well maintained and very clean, as where the rooms! Even though we never made it to Chula Vista Waterpark it was still a huge bonus to receive free passes for each day that we stayed at Black Hawk, also the free Splash Pass that was given to us with out room was great, it saved us about $50 total between the Ducks, the Riverside and Great Northern Railroad rain ride as well as a few other attractions!

Room Tip: We were in rooms 53 and 54 which the outdoor pool was directly across from our room which was nice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Labor Day weekend is considered peak rates because of the Holiday and is the highest rates of the season. We have considered adding a continental breakfast...and are looking into possibly for the future. Great to hear that you saved money with the use of the complimentary Dells Splash Pass. This is a great savings and we give one complimentary for each room reserved, and the complimentary water park tickets for all registered guests helps make for a better value. We hope to see you in future and have a great fall season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Perfect little retro feeling motel. Very clean rooms. Very updated for the guests of 2013. The indoor and outdoor pools were very well kept. The staff was friendly. You can tell the owners take pride in this place. Outside areas were clean and trash free. Astroturf all over the place....but again very well kept in all areas. Good location for those of us that don't want to be in the crazy crowds from the resorts.
We would come back, no question!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We are happy to learn that you found us to be clean, affordable and friendly! Our retro vibe is a big hit for many of our guests and we do take so much pride in our property. Being family owned and operated since 1945...this has also been our families home as well. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and we look forward to seeing you in the future! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We tried this place for the first time this year. Beds were very comfortable and quiet enough to get some decent sleep. Rooms and pool area were all kept very clean. Owner/front desk people were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dana, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Our comfortable beds are one of the biggest compliments that we receive and we are happy to hear that you had a comfortable and quiet sleep each night. We hope to see you again next summer and have a great fall season!
Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I (23 and 21) wanted to take a trip to the Dells but wanted an affordable place to stay. I had previously stayed at the Blackhawk with my family two years prior and had a really great time and decided to look at rates. Our room was a steal! With water park passes to Chula Visit and the Splash Pass, we saved so much money! The hotel was super clean. Because it's a smaller hotel, the staff was super friendly, helpful, and familiar. I honestly don't know if I would every stay anywhere else unless I was looking to stay at a location that I would never have to leave (i.e. onsite restaurants, waterparks, etc.) The location was perfect. Not in a super busy area but very close to downtown and walking distance to bars, restaurants, shops and gas stations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello,...Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us! We are happy to hear that you found us to be a perfect location and your room rate a steal! We believe in providing a clean, comfortable, safe and affordable place to stay. Our complimentary water park passes and the Dells Splash Pass have been a huge hit with our guests and have allowed them to really stretch their vacation dollars. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.