We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Minneapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Decided to try this place out after reading the reviews here - I was NOT disappointed!

We stayed in cottage 69. The place was clean (one of my biggest fears when staying in "bargain" places), and up to date. I read a comment by an earlier reviewer stating that the sink in the remodeled bathroom was teeny - and it is!! However, I would rather have two sinks than one, so I appreciate that they used this space rather than leaving it empty. The only gripe, which is absolutely minimal and doesn't affect anything directly, is that there wasn't a dvd player in the main room, but there were ones in each bedroom. We would have appreciated it late at night after our little one went to sleep so that we could watch something somewhere other than the bedroom.

We had an issue one night with the air conditioner in one of the bedrooms. I called the front desk at 9:30p and someone was at my door to fix it in less than five minutes. You won't find that in many places these days!

Overall - this was the perfect spot to stay with my little family. I absolutely will return and spread the word!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us in cottage #69. We appreciate your thoughts in reference to the small sink in the bathroom and as I stated in a past review...it was added because we had the space. We sincerely apologize for your room not having a DVD player in the front room, as there is suppose to be a total of (3) in the room. This one was not working earlier this summer and was taken out and I forgot to have it replaced when housekeeping alerted me of this. We do have plenty of spare players if one ever has to be replaced or is missing. We look forward to accommodating you and your family in the future and we truly appreciate you spreading the word about us to your family, friends and co-workers. Have a great end of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    166
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
534
270
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great value; perfect for those on a budget or who don't want to pay the high price for other hotels for similar amenities. Close enough to walk to downtown Dells and many attractions but far enough away to not be disturbed by the busy night life. Workers friendly and willing to offer activity suggestions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
So glad to learn that we left "a great first impression" with you and your spouse in reference to you recent stay with us. We are happy that you found us to be budget friendly, yet still offereing many of the same amenities of the larger chain hotels. We are just a short walk to the downtown shopping district where everyone can find shopping, great restaurants, attractions and the popular Wisconsin River Walk. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our first time at Black Hawk was great! We had a convenient little room; room 40. We all slept beautifully each night. We loved each pool and the game room. My son and I loved the pool table. Everyone loved Chula Vista. We found a deck above the outdoor pool. Our family loved it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Stephanie...Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us. Sounds like everyone had a great time staying with us and also enjoyed the complimentary Water Park Passes to Chula Vista Water Parks. Great to hear that you also enjoyed our Retro arcade and pool table....and most importantly...had a GREAT night sleep each night. We hope to see you again in the future and if you would like a specific room or room type...please let us know and we will do our best to accommodate you and your family. We do have 30 different room types to choose from and all may be viewed on our website. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was our third stay at Blackhawk and we look forward to many more. The prices can't be beat. The staff is great, from the housekeepers to the owners. The room remodels look greak. Can't wait to return again next summer

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
It's so great to hear that you had another great stay with us! We believe in providing great value while staying with us while having many added amenities to go with friendly customer service. We look forward to accommodating you again next summer and if you would like a certain room, please let us know. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and have a great end of the summer. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I am so glad I looked at trip advisor before traveling to Wisconsin Dells. If I wouldn't have, we would have missed this great treasure of a motel. Free Chula Vista park passes, pool at hotel. This hotel was right up our alley, we love things that have a little history and you can tell Black Hawk Motel has some years under its belt. Still, this motel has been treated gingerly and looks terrific. The rooms are clean and nice. It was absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in #64 I believe, but there are so many other rooms to choose from. I think it would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! We have many guests tell us that they enjoy our "retro" or "old school" feel and that we remind them of a place they use to stay when they were kids. Happy that we attracted you because of this and you enjoyed your stay and the Free Chula Vista Water Park passes. We do have 30 different room choices to choose from and all may be viewed at our web site with detailed room descriptions and addtional photos. Be sure and check out our Face Book page where you can read about our history and see old vintage photo's. We hope to see you on your check trip to the Dells and have a great end of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our second stay at the Black Hawk and once again everything was amazing! We stayed in a one king poolside bed, room #30. It was located next to the ice machine and housekeeping which concerned us at first but it wasn't a problem. We didn't hear noise from either. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Every employee we interacted with was very nice and welcoming. The location of the motel is perfect, we were able to walk to the downtown area to shop and eat so we didn't have to deal with the hassle of parking. We also got a free splash pass at check and were able to use it to get two passes to Mt. Olympus for the price of one which was great! The motel's indoor and outdoor pools were also great and the water temp was perfect. I also loved the tanning deck! It was a great place to lay in the sun and relax. I recommend Black Hawk to everyone-couples and families, young or old. It is an excellent value and a comfortable stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and for joining our long list of repeat guests with your second stay at the Black Hawk,....we very much appreciate it! Great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and the ice machine and houskeeping were not an issue while staying in room #30. Especially enjoyed reading that you enjoyed our sun deck (located above our game room). This is a really nice place away from all our guests to catch some quite time and some sun. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and have a great end of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had originally planned on staying at one of the hotels that had a water/theme park attached to its name, but when I went to submit my reservation, they were going to hit me with a "resort fee" that would have significantly raised my cost. So I researched Trip Advisor and came across the Blackhawk motel. Unlike other motels that had inconsistent reviews, the ones for the Blackhawk Motel were extremely positive. After our visit, I concur with all of the positive comments that people have posted. Clean, reasonably priced, and staffed by friendly folks. The mattress was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on. We enjoyed hitting the pool and hot tub at the end of the day. Since our room had a refrigerator, we were able to save money by doing breakfast in our room and packing picnic lunches. Also, we received discount coupons upon arrival that saved us money at some of the attractions in town. I highly recommend the Blackhawk Motel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Jodi, Thank you for trusting the rest of the Trip Advisor Community and choosing to stay with us at the Black Hawk! There's some very nice places to stay in the Dells, as well as dining options...attractions and Trip Advisor is one of the best resources for finding a place to stay, dine or go see. Our guests are never charged a "resort fee" or anything similar when staying with us and can be assured that their room rate will corrospond to the number of guests in the room and be charged the 11.5% sales tax. Great to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to accommodating you and your family again in the future! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.