We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our first time at Black Hawk was great! We had a convenient little room; room 40. We all slept beautifully each night. We loved each pool and the game room. My son and I loved the pool table. Everyone loved Chula Vista. We found a deck above the outdoor pool. Our family loved it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Stephanie...Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us. Sounds like everyone had a great time staying with us and also enjoyed the complimentary Water Park Passes to Chula Vista Water Parks. Great to hear that you also enjoyed our Retro arcade and pool table....and most importantly...had a GREAT night sleep each night. We hope to see you again in the future and if you would like a specific room or room type...please let us know and we will do our best to accommodate you and your family. We do have 30 different room types to choose from and all may be viewed on our website. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    173
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
553
281
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was our third stay at Blackhawk and we look forward to many more. The prices can't be beat. The staff is great, from the housekeepers to the owners. The room remodels look greak. Can't wait to return again next summer

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
It's so great to hear that you had another great stay with us! We believe in providing great value while staying with us while having many added amenities to go with friendly customer service. We look forward to accommodating you again next summer and if you would like a certain room, please let us know. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and have a great end of the summer. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I am so glad I looked at trip advisor before traveling to Wisconsin Dells. If I wouldn't have, we would have missed this great treasure of a motel. Free Chula Vista park passes, pool at hotel. This hotel was right up our alley, we love things that have a little history and you can tell Black Hawk Motel has some years under its belt. Still, this motel has been treated gingerly and looks terrific. The rooms are clean and nice. It was absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in #64 I believe, but there are so many other rooms to choose from. I think it would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! We have many guests tell us that they enjoy our "retro" or "old school" feel and that we remind them of a place they use to stay when they were kids. Happy that we attracted you because of this and you enjoyed your stay and the Free Chula Vista Water Park passes. We do have 30 different room choices to choose from and all may be viewed at our web site with detailed room descriptions and addtional photos. Be sure and check out our Face Book page where you can read about our history and see old vintage photo's. We hope to see you on your check trip to the Dells and have a great end of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our second stay at the Black Hawk and once again everything was amazing! We stayed in a one king poolside bed, room #30. It was located next to the ice machine and housekeeping which concerned us at first but it wasn't a problem. We didn't hear noise from either. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Every employee we interacted with was very nice and welcoming. The location of the motel is perfect, we were able to walk to the downtown area to shop and eat so we didn't have to deal with the hassle of parking. We also got a free splash pass at check and were able to use it to get two passes to Mt. Olympus for the price of one which was great! The motel's indoor and outdoor pools were also great and the water temp was perfect. I also loved the tanning deck! It was a great place to lay in the sun and relax. I recommend Black Hawk to everyone-couples and families, young or old. It is an excellent value and a comfortable stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and for joining our long list of repeat guests with your second stay at the Black Hawk,....we very much appreciate it! Great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and the ice machine and houskeeping were not an issue while staying in room #30. Especially enjoyed reading that you enjoyed our sun deck (located above our game room). This is a really nice place away from all our guests to catch some quite time and some sun. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and have a great end of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had originally planned on staying at one of the hotels that had a water/theme park attached to its name, but when I went to submit my reservation, they were going to hit me with a "resort fee" that would have significantly raised my cost. So I researched Trip Advisor and came across the Blackhawk motel. Unlike other motels that had inconsistent reviews, the ones for the Blackhawk Motel were extremely positive. After our visit, I concur with all of the positive comments that people have posted. Clean, reasonably priced, and staffed by friendly folks. The mattress was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on. We enjoyed hitting the pool and hot tub at the end of the day. Since our room had a refrigerator, we were able to save money by doing breakfast in our room and packing picnic lunches. Also, we received discount coupons upon arrival that saved us money at some of the attractions in town. I highly recommend the Blackhawk Motel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Jodi, Thank you for trusting the rest of the Trip Advisor Community and choosing to stay with us at the Black Hawk! There's some very nice places to stay in the Dells, as well as dining options...attractions and Trip Advisor is one of the best resources for finding a place to stay, dine or go see. Our guests are never charged a "resort fee" or anything similar when staying with us and can be assured that their room rate will corrospond to the number of guests in the room and be charged the 11.5% sales tax. Great to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to accommodating you and your family again in the future! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

With all the big name hotels in the Dells we decided to try something different.As we pulled up I thought I don't know if this was a good choice ,being used to the water park hotels .Was I wrong Very clean rooms and grounds including the pool,hot tub ,game room with all the old retro games I grew up with.Very accommodating staff and a great place for a family on a budget,walk to restaurants and downtown shopping.We will be back .Thanks Brad and Tina .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Kyle...Thank you for your review and for the choosing us over the water park resorts! We are happy that you unexpectably found us to be clean, comfortable, and a great value. We strive to provide families with a nice alternative vacation with their pocket book in mind. Our retro arcade has been a huge hit for many years and sounds like you really enjoyed the games. Pat and Glen of Starworlds Arcade in Delkalb, IL is our vendor and they strive to "bring the games of yesterday...today". Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in August and were happy. The rooms were clean and spacious, and had a microwave and fridge. The owner was very nice and accommodating when I had to change the reservation on one of our rooms. My only complaint was that they did not replenish the complimentary shampoo and lotion in our 4 nights there. That would have been nice, since I did not have mine. Another concern is that it would have been nice to have towels at the pool areas. Ours were always wet when we came back from a day at a waterpark.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We are glad you had a nice stay with us and found your room to be clean, spacious and well equipped with a fridge and microwave. Our housekeeping staff may have missed if your shampoo and lotion were empty and honestly we do not put new ones in each day on a guests stay over unless they are empty...only because this is an effort to keep our costs down and our rates reasonable. However...extra shampoo and lotion is always available upon request and we are happy to try and meet all requests our guests may have. We have thought about having towels available at the pool for our guests, however do not have them at this time...but extra pool towels are always available upon request. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#7 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.