We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love It - Year after Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
LJBOYS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We Love It - Year after Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have been going here for 6 years now and have already booked next year. We love Brad and Tena - they make it very family oriented, comfortable and safe. With everything in the Dells being so expensive it is phenomenal to be able to find such a wonderful place at great rates. The only reason I did not want to write a review is because I don't want everyone else to know just how wonderful it is.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to not only write us a review...but also post two photos as well...awesome!!! We truly appreciate your continued patronage and we will always strive to provide an affordable, clean and comfortable place to stay with many on-site and off-site amenities and great customer service. Thank you again and please tell the rest of your family to book this fall for 2014 as bookings for next year are increasing. Have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    173
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
553
281
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lanesboro, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Not much more to say than Amazing. If you are looking for immaculate rooms, a staff that truly is happy you chose them, and just a bit of peace and quiet. Then The Blackhawk is your place!
From check in to check out a very pleasant experience. The staff is like watching an ant farm. Everyone busy and no one even remotely grumpy. A hard thing to accomplish in the service industry
Already booked again for next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms ( of my own doing)and found both equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for choosing the Black Hawk! We appreciate your business and look forward to accommodating you again in 2014 when you will become one of our many repeat guests! Our staff truly appreciates your comments toward them and we strive to provide a friendly and happy environment, not only for our guests...but for our staff as well. Thanks again and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We recently stayed at the Black Hawk for a second time recently, and again, they did not disappoint. The owners are wonderful and helpful. We stayed in rooms 61 and 62 which were adjoining rooms this time. Room 61 only came with a full bed, so we expected it to be small, and it was, but we were able to put a roll-away in it for our other son with just some rearranging of the furniture. The rooms were clean, actually spotless. This is the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in. I truly hope the people who clean the rooms are paid well, because they deserve it. They do a stand-up job! My husband and I have decided that when we return to the Dells in the future, there will be no other place for us to stay other than the Black Hawk. My boys love the outdoor pool- mostly because they have a diving board. Quite honestly, it seemed they would rather have spent the day going off the board at the Black Hawk than at the water park we went to. I can't say enough how much we love the Black Hawk. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to stay in the Dells!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and for joining our long list of repeat guests with your second visit to the Black Hawk! Glad to hear that the adjoining rooms #61 and #62 worked out well for you and your family! I am proud to say that we pay our housekeeping staff very well...and they definitely deserve it! According to others I have talked to and research I have done...we are one of the best paying employers for housekeeping in the area....and I wouldn't have it any other way. Any potential new help that we may hire...we will state that one has to be a certain breed to do housekeeping at The Black Hawk, because it's darn hard work. Thanks again as it was great to see you and your family again this summer and have a great winter...and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was a great spot for our family on vacation. Motel style hotel, we stayed in a separate unit that had ample space for 6 with a private room. This is a great spot for a short or extended stay. Beds and bedding could be upgraded.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello Darryl,...We appreciate you taking the time to write us a quick review on your recent visit to the Black Hawk. We are happy to hear that you had a GREAT stay! Sounds like you had one of our popular cottages, which offer alot of privacy with no common walls. We did actually just replace all our our bedspreads in these units within the last 2-3 weeks and it has helped give the room a bit more upgraded look instead of the flower spreads that were in these rooms. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have been visiting the Dells since 1969. Having stayed at many of the properties around town, I am always reminded at what a great place the Black Hawk Motel is. I have tried the other properties when the Black Hawk had no vacancy or off-season, when the my family wanted an indoor water park. While the resorts compete in their own space, the Black Hawk is by far the best , most consistent, highest value motel experience available in the Dells area. It has been well operated by the same family for decades. The rooms are exceptionally clean and the beds are comfortable. The showers have lots of pressure and the tubs are very clean. There are lots of room types to choose. The indoor and outdoor pools are both kept very clean and are well heated. It is a family friendly place where you'll meet friendly people from all over the Midwest, many of whom have chosen to return for another visit to the Black Hawk.

When going to the Dells, most of your time is spent somewhere other than the room, so why overpay? Every room at the Black Hawk is value priced, even in the high season. I have stayed there many times and never had a bad stay. Give it a try; you will be glad you did.

Room Tip: The website has accurate photos of every room type. Visit the site and look around before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dale,...Thank you so much for your detailed review and for your many years of continued patronage, not only to the Black Hawk,...but also to the Wisconsin Dells and other accommodation properties. We are happy to hear that you have always found us to be consistent....all while keeping our room rates reasonable and providing great value. We do have 30 different room types to choose from and they range from budget to large family to jacuzzi suites. It was great to see you and your family recently and we always appreciate your business and friendship over the years. We hope to see you again soon and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The rooms were very clean and the service was great. The decor may have seemed dated, but it did not feel old. the beds were very comfy, something I have not experienced at too many places.

The atmosphere was very relaxed and it was very family friendly.

Room Tip: Great value and great service. We will return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hello Cary,...great to hear that you plan on returning to the Black Hawk! Please check our website for detailed room descriptions and book directly to get the best rate. We do have many remodeled rooms and hope to accommodate you in one on your return visit! Thank you for taking the time to write us review as we truly appreciate it! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The whole family enjoyed the old-fashioned experience of this motel. Just like my husband and I stayed in when we were kids. Arcade was popular. We enjoyed revisiting having our vehicle just outside the door and the aluminum lawn chairs out in front of every room. And a real KEY, not a keycard. Fun. Clean. Enjoyable. The staff was nice. Tub was sparkling.

Room Tip: This may not be your hotel if you drive a big vehicle. The parking area is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
So glad to hear that you had a nice experience on your recent visit with us! We are definitely retro...however feel that we have many modern touches as well. Many guests really appreciate our reserved parking at their door and we do have many options on and near the property for larger or extra vehicles. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.