We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking for prime location, a great atmosphere for all ages and overall value, look no further.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS!
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“If you're looking for prime location, a great atmosphere for all ages and overall value, look no further.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here since I was a kid, starting around 1995. Owners are very friendly, and I refuse to stay at the bigger resorts due to the unwavering consistency of staff, room and amenities. Motel has great discount partnerships with many of local establishments to help stretch your dollar in the dells and experience more the town has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and more importantly your continued years of patronage and loyalty to the Black Hawk! We strive to provide the "best bang for your buck" while consistently providing a clean and comfortable room, well maintained property and top notch customer service. We sincerely appreciate your business and recommending us to others. We also feel that we have a great location, just on the east end of downtown Wisconsin Dells, yet close enough to all area attractions and restaurants. Thank you again and have a great August! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    195
    34
    9
    2
See reviews for
682
317
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
OAK LAWN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here after looking up here on tripadvisor and everything I read was right, CLEAN rooms, friendly staff, affordable, and close to everything. We've stayed at other motels at the Dells before and let me say they were horrible, dirty, stinky, and moldy nothing like the Black Hawk. My kids loved the pools and arcade. We will stay here again next time we visit the Dells. Thank you Black Hawk!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Valerie,...Thank you for your review and for listening to the rest of the Trip Advisor Community and choosing to stay at the Black Hawk. We are sorry to hear that you have experienced poor accommodations at other properties, however happy to hear that you found us to be clean and affordable and that you will soon be joining our many repeat guests when you return to the Black Hawk as a repeat guest yourself! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

In a touristy town where prices are jacked-up, the Black Hawk Motel was a welcome change! Here, we found a nice, newly-updated and CLEAN room that had a nice-sized fridge and microwave. They also had charcoal grills available, so we brought a cooler packed with hot dogs, brats, and steaks to help save on the cost of eating out for every meal. Both the indoor and outdoor pool areas were nice, and we liked having the option of swimming there with the kids. It was a nice pool to wind-down in after spending time at the busy waterpark. There was also a hot tub and sauna. I was a little apprehensive to stay off from resort property, but I'm so glad we did. Black Hawk is located near all the attractions, but far enough away that it's peaceful and relaxing.You can't beat the price, especially when passes to Chula Vista are included! We were so very impressed with the Black Hawk and will definitely stay there again, as well as recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! We strive to provide an exceptional value with added amenities in today's tough economy. Sounds like you took good advantage of our grills and were able to save some money from eating out each meal. We have thoughts of adding a few more grills to help even more families stay on a budget. Thanks again and we truly appreciate that you are helping spread the word about the Black Hawk! Have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at The Blackhawk motel every summer for the past four summers and every experience has been first rate. The service is friendly and attentive - they even helped us jump a dead car battery one year.

Highly recommend if you're headed for the Dells.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review...and more importantly for your continued years of patronage. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable room at an affordable price with great customer service. We have the simple philosophy to treat our guests the same way we would want to be treated. Thanks again and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for the 2nd time, this time in room 15. A Queen Superior room. Our room was a bit larger than the standard room and the bathroom and carpet were new. As always the room was nice and clean. Pools are also nice and clean and warm. My family loves the location because we can walk to the downtown area for shopping, eating or just something to do. Mitzi's across the street is great for breakfast also. Parking right in front of your room is also a plus! We definitely will continue to stay at the Blackhawk for our yearly visit to the Dells.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review! Room #15...also known as our 2 Queen Superior has been an extremely popular room for over 40+ years and now it's all newly remodeled and even more popluar. We also would like to thank you for becoming one of our many repeat guests! We truly appreciate your return business and look forward to accommodating you again next summer....if not sooner. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at the Black Hawk Motel for two nights 7/21-7/23. We arrived prior to check in and received our water park passes to Chula Vista, which is about a 5 minute drive from the motel. Later returned to our room and were very please. We had a two bed standard room which was very spacious. Everything was very clean. The room included a mini-fridge, counter top, and nice television. The motel has a nostalgia to it, with it being an older motel. All though it is old its a nice change from the more modern, overly packed hotels in the Dells. Black Hawk allows you to get away from all the hustle and bustle when you choose to do so. The pools have a diving board and small slides which the kids enjoyed very much. Also the old school arcade was fun. The owners are very kind, and provided us with a deck of cards along with a toothbrush which was forgotten. We will return next time we go to the Dells.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are happy to hear that we provided you with a clean room at a great value! Many guests tell us and / or write a review on how they appreciate our family atmosphere and our more laid back property, compared to the huge mega water park resorts. We also provide our guests with reserved parking at their door...a small feature that guests appreciate, especially for unloading and loading at check in and check out times. Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and we look forward to accommodating you and your family again in the future! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I selected this motel based on the reviews. We are so pleased. The rooms are spotless, bed is so comfy,plenty of hot water. The front desk were so welcoming. The pools are perfect with a wonderful game room plus laundry if you need it. We are already planning our trip back here for next year. Oh by the way, we are in a budget room and you would never know that. We drove downtown and parked, think it might be a bit to long of a walk home after a fun night downtown. There are great places to go but we will be back at the blackhawk for sure. Thanks for the great place!:-) :-) :-)

Room Tip: 6 or 9 budget rooms but perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Donna, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us. Sounds like you stayed in our retro building w/ the curved roof. We honestly have had some guests scared of staying in this building because of it's retro look and that it looks older..so we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in this section of our budget rooms. We hope to see you in the near future and be sure to check out our game room again, as we are always adding new additions each season. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#6 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#30 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#17 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#21 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Star Value Inn
All Star Value Inn
#2 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
3.9 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#19 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.