We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlessly clean, affordable, great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE WATERPARK INCLUDED
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spotlessly clean, affordable, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at The Blackhawk motel every summer for the past four summers and every experience has been first rate. The service is friendly and attentive - they even helped us jump a dead car battery one year.

Highly recommend if you're headed for the Dells.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review...and more importantly for your continued years of patronage. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable room at an affordable price with great customer service. We have the simple philosophy to treat our guests the same way we would want to be treated. Thanks again and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    167
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
537
270
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for the 2nd time, this time in room 15. A Queen Superior room. Our room was a bit larger than the standard room and the bathroom and carpet were new. As always the room was nice and clean. Pools are also nice and clean and warm. My family loves the location because we can walk to the downtown area for shopping, eating or just something to do. Mitzi's across the street is great for breakfast also. Parking right in front of your room is also a plus! We definitely will continue to stay at the Blackhawk for our yearly visit to the Dells.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review! Room #15...also known as our 2 Queen Superior has been an extremely popular room for over 40+ years and now it's all newly remodeled and even more popluar. We also would like to thank you for becoming one of our many repeat guests! We truly appreciate your return business and look forward to accommodating you again next summer....if not sooner. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at the Black Hawk Motel for two nights 7/21-7/23. We arrived prior to check in and received our water park passes to Chula Vista, which is about a 5 minute drive from the motel. Later returned to our room and were very please. We had a two bed standard room which was very spacious. Everything was very clean. The room included a mini-fridge, counter top, and nice television. The motel has a nostalgia to it, with it being an older motel. All though it is old its a nice change from the more modern, overly packed hotels in the Dells. Black Hawk allows you to get away from all the hustle and bustle when you choose to do so. The pools have a diving board and small slides which the kids enjoyed very much. Also the old school arcade was fun. The owners are very kind, and provided us with a deck of cards along with a toothbrush which was forgotten. We will return next time we go to the Dells.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are happy to hear that we provided you with a clean room at a great value! Many guests tell us and / or write a review on how they appreciate our family atmosphere and our more laid back property, compared to the huge mega water park resorts. We also provide our guests with reserved parking at their door...a small feature that guests appreciate, especially for unloading and loading at check in and check out times. Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and we look forward to accommodating you and your family again in the future! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I selected this motel based on the reviews. We are so pleased. The rooms are spotless, bed is so comfy,plenty of hot water. The front desk were so welcoming. The pools are perfect with a wonderful game room plus laundry if you need it. We are already planning our trip back here for next year. Oh by the way, we are in a budget room and you would never know that. We drove downtown and parked, think it might be a bit to long of a walk home after a fun night downtown. There are great places to go but we will be back at the blackhawk for sure. Thanks for the great place!:-) :-) :-)

Room Tip: 6 or 9 budget rooms but perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Donna, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us. Sounds like you stayed in our retro building w/ the curved roof. We honestly have had some guests scared of staying in this building because of it's retro look and that it looks older..so we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in this section of our budget rooms. We hope to see you in the near future and be sure to check out our game room again, as we are always adding new additions each season. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Grove, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have been here a few times and I have always been so pleased. The property is IMMACULATE! The owners and staff are very kind
The rates are very affordable~ I have stayed all over, including the big resorts and I am just as pleased at this family owned motel.
You would be hard pressed to find cleaner rooms or a cleaner pool(s) or spa. Although the property has been there a long time, it is updated and very well cared for.
In addition, I have been visiting the dells since I was a child - before the big resorts...this reminds me of my childhood and family time. Plus, why wouldnt you want to support a family business that has been around for generations? Not to mention, it attracts such nice people visiting from all over. Great family atmosphere.

Room Tip: They have great rooms by the pool, try and reserve...so convenient! AND if traveling with larger gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hello Lori,...Thank you for your review and more importantly...for your continued years of patronage as it's very much appreciated. We have so many guests tell us that we remind them of their childhood vacations and time spent with family each summer. Many of the best memories that any of us have involve our childhood...and we strive to help families relive their childhood memories. Thanks again our family sincerely thanks you for supporting not only our family business, but all family businesses. Kind regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Blackhawk motel was clean, quiet, & well maintained. The photos on their website accurately reflected what you received upon arrival. The staff was friendly and willing to accommodate. Staying at the this motel as an alternative to the larger hotels in the Dells was wonderful. Just a few blocks away from the main tourist strip. You definitely get your moneys worth. I had no problems asking for and obtaining extra towels and pillows. There was always fresh coffee in the main office. They also provided free water park passes for Chula Vista just for staying. Everything you could need. The only thing missing was a continental breakfast but otherwise 9/10 and I would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are ground floor making them very elderly & handicap accessible. And they did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Nadia,...Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review as we learned that you found us to be a clean and well maintained property...at a great price! Sounds like you received good customer service and also enjoyed our coffee. Thanks also for your thoughts on a continental breakfast (which we currently do not offer) as we have thoughts of adding one for our guests....however...with 75 rooms we need ample space to provide seating for 60-100. This is currently something we do not have, however are looking into different options to renovate our office / home to obtain this space. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, after we checked out of the big house we rented for our extended family reunion. The Black Hawk was perfect. So, so clean. Seems the rooms have been renovated and have very comfortable beds. Love the classic tile work in the bathrooms. The retro vibe is much appreciated. Our room was perfect for my husband, son and I...a queen bed and a twin. Fabulous indoor and outdoor pools. The game room is a hit -- love all the classic retro games. We left plenty of quarters behind! Convenient to all Dells locations. The free water park pass is such a deal! And the Splash pass was a nice way to save money at different locations. Great hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Lisa, Thank you for your review and for choosing the Black Hawk. We love to hear that our guests appreciate our retro vibe and it carries into our classic arcade as well. Here guests can find the classics like Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man, Cenitipede, Billiards and more. Glad you like our budget room type of the Queen and Twin. This is a popular room and helps guests stay on a budget, but still has all the same room amenities. Thanks so much and we hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;