We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, always...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS
Ranked #1 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Poplar Grove, Illinois
1 review
“Great stay, always...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have been here a few times and I have always been so pleased. The property is IMMACULATE! The owners and staff are very kind
The rates are very affordable~ I have stayed all over, including the big resorts and I am just as pleased at this family owned motel.
You would be hard pressed to find cleaner rooms or a cleaner pool(s) or spa. Although the property has been there a long time, it is updated and very well cared for.
In addition, I have been visiting the dells since I was a child - before the big resorts...this reminds me of my childhood and family time. Plus, why wouldnt you want to support a family business that has been around for generations? Not to mention, it attracts such nice people visiting from all over. Great family atmosphere.

Room Tip: They have great rooms by the pool, try and reserve...so convenient! AND if traveling with larger gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hello Lori,...Thank you for your review and more importantly...for your continued years of patronage as it's very much appreciated. We have so many guests tell us that we remind them of their childhood vacations and time spent with family each summer. Many of the best memories that any of us have involve our childhood...and we strive to help families relive their childhood memories. Thanks again our family sincerely thanks you for supporting not only our family business, but all family businesses. Kind regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    714
    157
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
484
253
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Blackhawk motel was clean, quiet, & well maintained. The photos on their website accurately reflected what you received upon arrival. The staff was friendly and willing to accommodate. Staying at the this motel as an alternative to the larger hotels in the Dells was wonderful. Just a few blocks away from the main tourist strip. You definitely get your moneys worth. I had no problems asking for and obtaining extra towels and pillows. There was always fresh coffee in the main office. They also provided free water park passes for Chula Vista just for staying. Everything you could need. The only thing missing was a continental breakfast but otherwise 9/10 and I would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are ground floor making them very elderly & handicap accessible. And they did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Nadia,...Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review as we learned that you found us to be a clean and well maintained property...at a great price! Sounds like you received good customer service and also enjoyed our coffee. Thanks also for your thoughts on a continental breakfast (which we currently do not offer) as we have thoughts of adding one for our guests....however...with 75 rooms we need ample space to provide seating for 60-100. This is currently something we do not have, however are looking into different options to renovate our office / home to obtain this space. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, after we checked out of the big house we rented for our extended family reunion. The Black Hawk was perfect. So, so clean. Seems the rooms have been renovated and have very comfortable beds. Love the classic tile work in the bathrooms. The retro vibe is much appreciated. Our room was perfect for my husband, son and I...a queen bed and a twin. Fabulous indoor and outdoor pools. The game room is a hit -- love all the classic retro games. We left plenty of quarters behind! Convenient to all Dells locations. The free water park pass is such a deal! And the Splash pass was a nice way to save money at different locations. Great hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Lisa, Thank you for your review and for choosing the Black Hawk. We love to hear that our guests appreciate our retro vibe and it carries into our classic arcade as well. Here guests can find the classics like Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man, Cenitipede, Billiards and more. Glad you like our budget room type of the Queen and Twin. This is a popular room and helps guests stay on a budget, but still has all the same room amenities. Thanks so much and we hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

My siblings and I stayed in cottage #74. This was the perfect place for us to stay. It's walking distance to the downtown area. The place was extremely clean and being a hotel housekeeper myself, I was very impressed with the cleaniness here!! The Chula Vista water park passes were an extra bonus. We will definitely be staying here again next year!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hello Heidi, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! One of our many goals to achieve with each guest is to provide them with a clean and comfortable room and we love hearing that we have done so...and especially when our guest is a housekeeper! Unit #74 is one of our most popular units and books up quickly as it provides a full kitchen. We look forward to accommodating you and your family next summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The owners/managers of the place, Brad and his wife, are wonderful, warm and friendly people. They make you feel welcomed and they make you feel like they have known you forever. After reading all of the great reviews prior to staying at the Black Hawk Motel in the Dells, I was a little disappointed with my stay. Room 19 had a very unpleasant odor, unidentifiable stains in the carpet and one of the bed spreads had a suspicious looking stain on the inside of the cover. A clean motel room is very important to me. However, I have to believe with all of the great reviews this motel get and it get a lot of great reviews, not all of the rooms have the aforementioned concerns that room 19 has. I wish I could have rated this motel higher, as room 19 is very large, spacious and has a great view of the outside pool area and the assigned parking is awesome!

Room Tip: If the aforementioned things listed above are corrected, room 19 is a great room to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your kind words toward I and my wife Tena. We are sorry that you were a bit disappointed in your stay with us and we apologize for the issues you experienced. We are not sure what the unpleasant odor was in your room...may have been a disinfectant used to mask left over odors in the room when guests decide to do a bit to much cooking in the room. We do have our own carpet cleaning machine and we clean our carpets 1-2 times each season, before we have them done professionally at the end of our season. I will admit that during our busy, height of the season, when we are near or at full occupancy...our carpets may get neglected as time doesn't allow and all stains are spot treated as needed in an effort to remove them. We have cleaned this room since your check out. As far as the stain on the bedspread, we would have been glad to change it for you as it may have been a clean permanant stain as we sometimes have to use our spare bedspreads. We wish you would have brought these issues to our attention as we could have did our best to correct them while you were still a guest with us. We are happy to hear that you loved your reserved parking spot right in front of your door! Thanks again and have a nice rest of the summer. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Me and my family always stayed at the Black Hawk motel for our family vacations. Plus this was the second time for me taking my girlfriend. We always have a great relaxing time swimming in their nice indoor and outdoor pools. The rooms are always super clean, and very comfortable to stay in. The staff there is always friendly and really helpful with any questions you may have.Its a real good location for walking to all the down town activities. This will always be our motel of choice when staying in the dells.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hello Kevin,....Thank you for your awesome review as we very much appreciate it! However,...what we really appreciate is your continued years of patronage with you and your family and now your spouse. Glad you enjoy our indoor and outdoor pools and you always find our rooms to be super clean and comfortable. Perhaps next time on your visit with us..you'll want to try one of our king balcony jacuzzi suites? Thanks again and have a great rest of the suumer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

we had the most amazing time here as usual the only place we will stay in the dells very clean and nice place to say would recommend it to anyone going to the dells !!! We plan to stay at the Black Hawk every time we go back to the Dells!! great room rates and very clean .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and your continued years of patronage! We strive on providing a clean and well maintained property at a great value. We really enjoy seeing our numerous repeat guests each season and meeting new guests as well. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you and your family on your next return trip to the Dells. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.