We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS
Ranked #2 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We haven't stayed here for at least 10+ years. so it's changed since then. I love the updated rooms, especially having a fridge in your room is a plus. Reasonable rates and good location. Staff is friendly and the place is very clean. Love the parking right by your room so you don't have lug all your bags upstairs like in a lot of hotels. Will definiately come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are so happy to have you back as a guest after not staying with us for over the past decade. We are now on a yearly offseason program of updating our property and adding in many touches of modern to go with our retro vibe. We hear many of our guests comment on the nice convenience of having a reserved parking spot by their room. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you in the near future! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    705
    157
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
478
252
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
US OF A
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

So many great Trip Advisor reviews can't be wrong, so we booked 2 nights at the Blackhawk motel (after staying 2 nights on Lake Delton). So glad that we did. Room was clean and spacious - plenty of storage space. Big screen TV. Entire place was like a snapshot from the 1960s. Kids had a blast in the two pools ( indoor and outdoor) and we spend some time in the hot tub and sauna. Past the hubbub of downtown dells but only a 2 minute drive to reach everything.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for your review, we truly appreciate it! We hope we can accommodate you on your next trip to the Wisconsin Dells area for your entire stay! We are glad that you liked your room and specifically noted the plenty of storage space. Many of our guest choose to just "live" out of their luggage while they only stay a night or two, but we like to provide the option of not having to do so. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the Black Hawk Motel because of the amazing reviews. It is by far one of the most clean places ive staied at. The bed was very comfy. It's like an old school motel but kept up very well. The pools were very nice, indoor and out. It was never over crowded. It's just a few blocks from the main downtown dells area. I have no complaints about the motel itself what so ever. The only reason why i did not give five stars is because when we got up Monday morning there was someone passed out on the picnic table next to our room. There was beer cans everywhere. Even though it didnt really bother me, if i would have had children like some of the other guests then i would have been bothered by it. Rather then that... Yes, i would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room 72. It was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we strive to make all of our guests always feel like they are right at home, all while maintaining and putting money back into the business. We apologize for the other guest on the picnic table as it was a group of repeat guests that stay with us every year. I have never had a noise complaint from them and I am happy to hear that they were not disrespectful with high noise levels. I will speak w/ them next year and also provide an addtional garbage can in this picnic area. Thank you again and have a wonderful rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Everything is so well maintained and organized - from the clean room/cottage (#67) to the grass and the flowers, the playground and the pool. Spent four nights here and every day you could see the staff and owners doing things that gives the place the extra touch. It's obvious that the owners put their heart and soul into the motel. Just have a look at their page on Facebook and you will see how personal this is. Great location and much calmer than a resort. Will definitely be back one day.

Room Tip: Stayed in #67, a cottage with one bedroom (Three queens) and a sofabed. Just across the street from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and choosing the Black Hawk as your vacation spot. Sounds like cottage #67 worked out great for you and your family. It's a popular room type and we wish we had a few more more types like this one. It was great to accommodate you and your family and we appreciate you kind words in regard to us...as you are correct, we do put our heart and soul into our business...and thanks for following us on Face Book. Also...hope to visit Norway someday! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illlinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay and I see plenty more in our future. If you are tired of the outrageous prices of the big hotels and are looking for a place to relax after a long day this is the place for you. The rooms are super clean and the staff and owners are more than will to accommodate you in every way. The 2 pools they have are great for all ages. My kids 7 and 12 had so much fun in and out of the water. They also offer a playground right outside your door. I felt very comfortable letting the kids roam. Unlike the big hotels where you have to be cautious. Here u can see them from your room or from the outside chairs in front of your room. Only down fall was the thin walls. Neighbors kids were bouncing off the wall but who really sleep great on vacation. It didn't deter us we actually extended our stay by a day. Oh and the added water park passes were a plus but with all that said. This will be our first and only choice for years to come.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We believe in providing a clean, comfortable and affordable place to stay with friendly customer service. Many of our guests have told us they are tired of paying high rates at the big mega resorts with added resort and amenity fees. We look forward to accommodating you and your family for years to come and Thank You for choosing the Black Hawk! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I planned a last minute trip to dells for a short get a way. I payed 100 dollars at a chain hotel near town. While walking the strip I found the Blackhawk. I walked in, checked the price, and was shown a room! I will never stay anywhere else now. The staff was great, room was spotless, and very cozy and adorable. We loved the short walk or drive to the shops and restaraunts, the AC, and the front porch area. We will be back every year in July and always choose the Blackhawk. I especially loved the nostalgic feeling the motel offered and the integrity to try to keep it as close to the era it was built in. GREAT Overall experience. I was surprised that such an inexpensive room would be so Outstanding. Only one complaint:no in room coffee. But ther is a starbucks nearby and a mobil pretty much next door.

Room Tip: Have the owners show you a room if you don't believe everything you have read on this site. Once...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Jen,...Thank you for your review and for choosing the Black Hawk! We love hearing when we or any other Mom and Pop Motel can compete with todays chain hotels. Great to hear you love our retro feel as WE ARE trying to keep our property close to it's era, while also providing modern day touches. If you would like the same room next year, please let us know and we will try and accommodate you, as July books up fast. Thanks again and have a great rest of the summer! Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here with my husband's family - a total of 8 people - in one hotel room. I must admit I was a bit nervous about sharing a room with 7 others, but it turned out really well. We had a discount card when we called, but none of the rooms it applied to were available that would have accommodated our group. They gave us a discount on the 4 Queen bed room instead - customer service really seems to be a priority. The room actually had a separate bedroom with its own door - two queen beds in each room. There is one shared bathroom, which can be a bit of a challenge, but we did not spend much time in the room and there is a restroom in the indoor pool area which is just across the parking lot. We requested extra pillows and towels and were able to pick them up at the office without a problem. There is assigned parking which is nice. Our daughter loved the indoor pool, especially the slide. We did not use the outdoor pool, but it looked nice. Two other adults used the hot tub that is not connected to the indoor pool and said it was great. We found the location to be convenient. The room was very clean. Price was very reasonable for the Dells in the summer. This was a great budget option and worked out perfectly for our group. We noticed that they have an expansion planned and would certainly stay here again.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Black Hawk! We're glad that room #31 worked out well for you and your family...even though everyone had to share the bathroom. This room is on our remodel list in the next year or two and looking over used space in the adjoining store / linen room,...we have decided to use part of this space for a second bathroom. Glad to hear that your stay was not only great, but reasonable...and we are all about customer service. We hope to see you again in the future...and after our expansion we will offer even more than our current 30 different room types. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.