We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A motel pearl” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE WATERPARK INCLUDED
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A motel pearl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Everything is so well maintained and organized - from the clean room/cottage (#67) to the grass and the flowers, the playground and the pool. Spent four nights here and every day you could see the staff and owners doing things that gives the place the extra touch. It's obvious that the owners put their heart and soul into the motel. Just have a look at their page on Facebook and you will see how personal this is. Great location and much calmer than a resort. Will definitely be back one day.

Room Tip: Stayed in #67, a cottage with one bedroom (Three queens) and a sofabed. Just across the street from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and choosing the Black Hawk as your vacation spot. Sounds like cottage #67 worked out great for you and your family. It's a popular room type and we wish we had a few more more types like this one. It was great to accommodate you and your family and we appreciate you kind words in regard to us...as you are correct, we do put our heart and soul into our business...and thanks for following us on Face Book. Also...hope to visit Norway someday! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    172
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
552
281
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Illlinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay and I see plenty more in our future. If you are tired of the outrageous prices of the big hotels and are looking for a place to relax after a long day this is the place for you. The rooms are super clean and the staff and owners are more than will to accommodate you in every way. The 2 pools they have are great for all ages. My kids 7 and 12 had so much fun in and out of the water. They also offer a playground right outside your door. I felt very comfortable letting the kids roam. Unlike the big hotels where you have to be cautious. Here u can see them from your room or from the outside chairs in front of your room. Only down fall was the thin walls. Neighbors kids were bouncing off the wall but who really sleep great on vacation. It didn't deter us we actually extended our stay by a day. Oh and the added water park passes were a plus but with all that said. This will be our first and only choice for years to come.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We believe in providing a clean, comfortable and affordable place to stay with friendly customer service. Many of our guests have told us they are tired of paying high rates at the big mega resorts with added resort and amenity fees. We look forward to accommodating you and your family for years to come and Thank You for choosing the Black Hawk! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I planned a last minute trip to dells for a short get a way. I payed 100 dollars at a chain hotel near town. While walking the strip I found the Blackhawk. I walked in, checked the price, and was shown a room! I will never stay anywhere else now. The staff was great, room was spotless, and very cozy and adorable. We loved the short walk or drive to the shops and restaraunts, the AC, and the front porch area. We will be back every year in July and always choose the Blackhawk. I especially loved the nostalgic feeling the motel offered and the integrity to try to keep it as close to the era it was built in. GREAT Overall experience. I was surprised that such an inexpensive room would be so Outstanding. Only one complaint:no in room coffee. But ther is a starbucks nearby and a mobil pretty much next door.

Room Tip: Have the owners show you a room if you don't believe everything you have read on this site. Once...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Jen,...Thank you for your review and for choosing the Black Hawk! We love hearing when we or any other Mom and Pop Motel can compete with todays chain hotels. Great to hear you love our retro feel as WE ARE trying to keep our property close to it's era, while also providing modern day touches. If you would like the same room next year, please let us know and we will try and accommodate you, as July books up fast. Thanks again and have a great rest of the summer! Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here with my husband's family - a total of 8 people - in one hotel room. I must admit I was a bit nervous about sharing a room with 7 others, but it turned out really well. We had a discount card when we called, but none of the rooms it applied to were available that would have accommodated our group. They gave us a discount on the 4 Queen bed room instead - customer service really seems to be a priority. The room actually had a separate bedroom with its own door - two queen beds in each room. There is one shared bathroom, which can be a bit of a challenge, but we did not spend much time in the room and there is a restroom in the indoor pool area which is just across the parking lot. We requested extra pillows and towels and were able to pick them up at the office without a problem. There is assigned parking which is nice. Our daughter loved the indoor pool, especially the slide. We did not use the outdoor pool, but it looked nice. Two other adults used the hot tub that is not connected to the indoor pool and said it was great. We found the location to be convenient. The room was very clean. Price was very reasonable for the Dells in the summer. This was a great budget option and worked out perfectly for our group. We noticed that they have an expansion planned and would certainly stay here again.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Black Hawk! We're glad that room #31 worked out well for you and your family...even though everyone had to share the bathroom. This room is on our remodel list in the next year or two and looking over used space in the adjoining store / linen room,...we have decided to use part of this space for a second bathroom. Glad to hear that your stay was not only great, but reasonable...and we are all about customer service. We hope to see you again in the future...and after our expansion we will offer even more than our current 30 different room types. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have been staying here for over 15 years and refuse to stay anywhere else. Every year this is our vacation spot and we will be loyal guests for many years to come! The owner, Brad, is amazing! He is so friendly and goes out of his way to make sure every guest is treated like family. The motel itself is awesome! There's an outdoor pool and kiddie pool, indoor pool with slide and hot tub, and a separate hot tub located by the office. They also have a playground and arcade for the kids. They keep it so clean and even sweep the parking lot everyday. The rooms are the perfect size with a TV, small fridge, free WIFI, cable, and the most comfortable beds ever! All of the staff is friendly and will help you in any way possible. There are chairs and a table located outside of every room and you get your own designated parking spot located feet away from your room. The atmosphere is fun and everyone you see staying here is having a good time. Stay here one night and you will be planning your next vacation here the minute you return home! Keep up the good work Brad!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and more importantly for your 15+ years of continued patronage! The wonderful people known as our repeat guests and the new guests that we meet is the most rewarding part of our job. We are happy to hear that you like everything about the Black Hawk...from our rooms, to our pools, amenities, friendly staff and reserved parking at your door. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa City, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Planned a girls weekend for a large room with 3 beds... Last minute we had one person cancel and I was able to change our room to 2 queens without any issues.

The room was clean and plenty big enough for our group of 4 women. They did offer wristbands for Chula Vista but we were good just laying by the motel pool, which was great too.

The Black Hawk is at the end of town, but within walking distance.

We were already talking about making this a yearly event!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing Black Hawk Motel! We are happy that you found us to be a great stay for your girls weekend. We like to accommodate our guests the very best way that we can, so we were happy that you we were able to downgrade you to a smaller room. We look forward to being a part of your girls weekend tradtion as you are set to join our many repeat guests. Thanks again and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family and I had a few bad experiences here at the Black Hawk. We had to leave the motel in the middle of the night. I will not mention what occurred because the staff and owner of the motel were very nice. If he, the owner, works on resolving the issues...then the black hawk will again be a shining star. I stayed at this motel when I was a child. I wanted my kids to experience the Dells the way I did when I was a kid back in the 70s...no over crowded water parks...just a small mom and pop motel with a nice pool and diving board. Maybe in the future we will try and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello, Thank you for your review and we apologize for the inconvenience and that you decided to leave at midnight. We have had many issues arise in our 68+ years of being in business and I want to say Thank You to the gentleman (David) whom I worked with on your two issues. I have the philosophy that life's to short so why not be nice and it's always more pleasant when guests are easy to work with...as David was. Regarding your issues...you and your family registered at 2 pm and checked in shortly after. Over 9 hours later..at 11:15 pm two issues were brought to my attention. I was told you discovered a cockroach in your room and crawling on a family member. I apologized and explained that we have Wisconsin Pest Control treat our property on a monthly basis, I didn't believe we have a problem as no complaints in your room before and it may have entered from the outside or traveled in w/ a prior guests food. I explained Insects are a problem, but we do address them. I explained that we have insects in our house...David replied "we all do". Second issue was that a child pulled a clean towel out of the towel rack and seen a spot...thought it may be feces? I explained that I was just about positive this was not the case...that Vicky (who has been with us 12 years) does not but dirty towels in a towel rack. I believed it was a rust stain...we do get rust stains on towels and turn them into rags...however we do miss them sometimes as we are no where near perfect and David replied "you can't be" and said Vicky seems like quite the "task manager". I asked him to bring this towel to the office at check out time and he did not...upon entering your room later that night, I found a towel w/ rust on it and no other soiled towels, expect for the ones that were used for the pools and showering. I also sprayed for addtional cockroaches and seen none, and no other ones were discoved by your family, or by other guests since then. The next morning...Ray from Wisconsin Pest Control identified the bug as an Earwig and a common problem w/ their accounts and stated that upon my spraying, would have flushed them out if they were anymore. Upon check out I asked how everything was..besides these two issues and was not told of any other issues that you may have had. David stated he "was in the military and slept in and around alot worse things" and he wanted to stay...however the women in his family won the vote. I stated I totally understood and that the kids may have the "hibbee jimpbee's"...I did not take this personal and also could not move you to a different room because we were sold out. I was then told that "as far as I am concerned...this place is better than the Kalahari or Wilderness, I appreciated how you let us bring our cooler to the pool". I again apologized for the inconvenience, we are not perfect and realize we will never please everyone, this is a tough business and life is tough sometimes. I was happy to hear that your stay could not of been horrible up until 11 pm, because no other complaints of any issues that you may have had...meaning that our pools were clean, warm and enjoyable, everything in your room was clean and in working order, bathroom was clean w/ hot water, your reserved parking space was available at all times, you received friendly customer service at check in and thoughout your stay and our other guests were friendly. Best Wishes, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.