We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay! Clean and well taken care of!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS
Ranked #1 of 78 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay! Clean and well taken care of!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Black Hawk is a gem in the Dells! They keep this place in great shape and spotless! We had adjoining rooms with our friends and loved having the outside entrances and parking spots right in front of our rooms. One day housekeeping even arranged my sons stuffed animals and blanket on the bed in an adorable way. My son loved it! The pools were great and we loved the little playground. Beds were very comfortable and loved having a fridge in the room. Mine was making a loud sound every few minutes the first night. The next day I told the front desk and an employee came and swapped fridges! So kind! The price was great and loved the passes to Chula Vista. We will definitely be returning to this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing the Black Hawk! We pride ourselves in providing a clean and well maintained property w/ great customer service. It makes us feel great when our guests tell us how well maintained our property is,...despite it's age. Great to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay...both at the Black Hawk and at the nearby and complimentary Chula Vista Water Parks. Our reserved parking (w/ permit required) ensures that guests have a parking space close by their door...which makes it a breeze for unloading and loading the car for check in and check out times. Thank you again and we look forward to accommodating you and your family on your return trip to the Dells! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    762
    166
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
521
267
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a perfect room with a full kitchen. We had traveled through the night and Black Hawk staff allowed us to check in early with no problems. This saved us.

We were beyond impressed at how detailed and clean this place is... And fun abounds! Indoor and outdoor pools, lots of fun playgrounds for kids of all ages-- even very young. I personally loved the retro styling of the motel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing Black Hawk Motel on your recent visit to the Wisconsin Dells area! We were happy to let you check in early after your travel from the great state of Tennesse and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations! Our full kitchen units are some of the most popular units that we have and they are all fully equipped w/ everything you may need. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and if you would like to have the same room, just let us know and we will see if we can accommodate you! Next time the kids will be able to enjoy our new playground which is located by our kitchenettes / cottages. We'll be sure and still provide great value to you and all of our guests. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and have a wonderful rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mounds View, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I reserved a room here based on Trip Advisory reviews from others. I'm so glad that I did. The location is wonderful as was the Motel itself. My friend and I met up at Black Hawk after not seeing each other for 17 years and we had an adjoining room which was wonderful. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were very clean. The other guest were great also and sitting outside our door to chat and make new friends became a daily routine it seemed. We were giving passes for Chula Vista but after two hours there my two 13 year-old boys were ready to just come back and enjoy the much less crowded pool at the Motel. They loved the Arcade as well. I'm from Minnesota and my friend is from Indiana and we are already talking about making this a yearly tradition to meet back at the Black Hawk. The guest next door to my room are even on board as they have been coming to the Black Hawk for years now. I was surprised by how many guests told me they have been coming to the Black Hawk for years. The longest one was 30 and I can tell you that we will be back too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for your review and for posting an AWESOME photo of your son and one of the last remaining diving boards in the Wisconsin Dells area. We are glad that we provided a great meeting place for you and your friend and we look forward to being a part of your yearly reunion each summer. If you would like the same room for next year...please let us know and we will try and accommodate you. We do a great repeat business and some repeat guests have known myself since I was a child. Thanks again and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We usually don't stay at motels, but did so based on TripAdvisor's recommendation. The outside looks a little dated, but the room was well kept and clean. I liked the variety of room options. Good location to downtown, but we drove and parked rather than walked there. Had nice amenities but we did not utilize because of time and rain. Looked at other options while driving through and we will stay at Black Hawk Motel again for future Wisconsin Dells visits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are glad that the word "Motel" didn't scare you off and you choose to stay with us based on the thoughts of the rest of the Trip Advisor community! Thank you so much for doing so and for also taking the time to write us a review! We actually offer 30 different room choices to choose from and we have rooms for the budget minded traveler, couples or family rooms that sleep from 2 - 10. It makes us feel great that you looked at other accommodation options while staying in the Wisconsin Dells and that you would return to the Black Hawk Motel. Thank you again and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We picked this place based on other trip advisor reviews. We were very pleased. It has the feel of a 1960's motel, and is extremely clean. The owners are very friendly. We used many of the coupons they gave us. It came with free passes to Chula Vista Waterpark, and it was mediocre, but since it was free, I won't complain.

Darin & Marj DeNeal

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello Darin and Marj....Thank you for taking time to write us a quick review on Trip Advisor! Great to hear that you found us to be extremely clean, friendly and a good bargain. In today's tough economy we strive to provide a clean, comfortable and friendly place to stay...while offering many on site and off site amenties with great savings at area attractions and restaurants. We hope to accommodate you on your return trip to the Wisconsin Dells area...call us or book direct with us for choice accommodations. Have an outstanding rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Based on the reviews we read before we made our reservation, we weren't expecting a lot--and we were not disappointed! But the price was right and the location was fine, although it was a little further from downtown than other reviewers had indicated. As we were only there for one night, we didn't need much in the way of amenities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and we're glad to hear that you were not disappointed and found us to be reasonable. We have 30 different room types and some vary based on if they are a newly remodeled (which many are) and also size. I am not sure what room you had or your rate, especially if booking from a major online travel site...where we pay high commissions. Ultimate room choice and typically the best price can be found by booking directly from our web site or calling direct.. We realize each guests perscpective on location to downtown can be different. We are actually located 4 blocks east of downtown and 6 blocks east to the center of downtown...we also refer to being 10 blocks east of the river bridge for guests who know the area well. Thanks again and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at the Black Hawk for three nights last week for the first time since I was a child. I love the retro buildings as it takes me back to all the great times I had there as a kid. This is definitely where I will be staying for every trip from now on. I love the layout, the pools were so close to our rooms. Everything was super clean-and this is something I am picky about when I stay in a hotel. The rooms even smelled clean, and even though we left our do not disturb sign out one day, housekeeping still called our room to see if we needed anything...how great is that? The beds were comfortable (though I wish there were extra pillows in the room, although I am sure I could have just walked to the office and gotten one). There are so many different room types to choose from which is great when traveling with a group. The grounds, arcade, and pool areas are clean and well maintained. Every staff member we had an interaction with was incredibly friendly. The location is great, and you won't find a better price around the Dells during summer. Absolutely loved our stay and will be back, hopefully before summer ends!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello Kate, Thanks for going back to your childhood days and reliving them by returning to the Black Hawk! Our family has been helping build lifelong memories for many guests since 1945. We are family owned and operated and my wife and I are third generation operators. I as well, have many childhood memories of growing up in the business and you can learn more about our history at our Face Book page. My wife Tena and I and our entire staff pride ourselves in providing friendly customer service. Thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write us a review and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.