We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation Place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS!
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“Great Vacation Place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was our 3rd year at the Black Hawk. 4 adults and 2 kids. We stayed in the 2 bedroom house, which was awesome!! It is spacious and open, which our 9-month-old grandson loved. We love the feel of the Black Hawk. It's a wonderful place to have a relaxing vacation. Indoor/outdoor pools are warm & clean. Kiddie pool is perfect. Friendly staff. Quiet rooms. Walking distance to downtown. Well-maintained. Free water park passes. Game room. We intend on visiting the Black Hawk every summer & making it a family tradition. It is our home in the Dells!
The Hess Family

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hello Deb...Thank you again for visiting us this year and for taking the time to write us a review! Sounds like our two bedroom house worked out great for the family. It's over 1300 sq. feet and may be our most popular room we have as it books up fast each year. Happy that you noted our pools not only being clean,...but also warm as we believe in heating our pool water to a comfortable temperature, which makes for a more enjoyable swim for our guests. Thank again and Thank you also for following us on Face Book. We hope to accommodate you and your family again next summer. Have a great summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    174
    30
    9
    2
See reviews for
558
281
18
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Merrill, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have stayed at Black hawk in the past and loved it and stayed there again our kids love the pools and all the room to play!!! We also got to cook out on the grill!!! Nice and comfortable beds!! Clean room!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hello Kristen,...We accommodate many families each year and we have plenty to do to keep the kids busy....from our heated indoor and outdoor pools, mulitple playgrounds, retro arcade, dvd / cd players in all rooms and FREE Water Park Wristbands for all registered guests. Also...our grill on site are very popular as well. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for being one of our many repeat guests. We look forward to accommodating you and your family again in the near future. Kind regards,...Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had tried to stay at the Black Hawk Motel a couple of years ago, but had to cancel our trip a few days before our arrival due to a death in the family. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating regarding the matter. It was great to see such a high level of customer support and I vowed that the next time we went to the Dells, we would for sure be booking a room here.

We finally got that chance this year and it was a great experience. The location was close enough to the downtown that we could just walk and the rooms were very clean and inviting. Not to mention, it was a great price! We will definitely be staying at the Black Hawk Motel the next time we come to the Dells.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, as we very much appreciate it! We are happy that you had a chance to finally visit us and I believe I remember talking w/ you when you had to unfortunately cancel a few years ago and then I spoke with you at check out time. We love when our guests have a great experience! We are experiencing more guests commenting on our proximity to downtown and how close we are, which is only a short 4 block walk to the start of downtown Wisconsin Dells. We hope to have the chance to accommodate you and your family again in the future. Thank you and have a great day! Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Thank you so much for having such a clean well kept motel, it is absolutely wonderful. After a 5 hour drive it was so refreshing to walk into a room that was so clean and nice. I can certainly see that your family takes great pride in your motel. I will certainly recommend it to all my friends and family and I will come back next time I am in the Dells. Staff and owners are both friendly and very helpful no request went unanswered!!! Thank you again for the great stay!!!!

Jeri Hunt

Room Tip: If you want a clean room with plenty for family to do this is your place!!!! I would give it 10 star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Jeri, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing the Black Hawk Motel on your recent visit to the Wisconsin Dells. We are family owned and operated since 1945 and have always believed in putting profits back into the business. As a youth...I seen the pride my Parents took in operating the business and this pride was installed in myself and now in my wife and staff as we are the 3rd generation to operate the Black Hawk. To learn more about our history...visit our Face Book page link from our home page and start at 02/01/2013. Thanks again for your wonderful review and for letting your friends and family know about us....we truly appreciate it as it helps this family run business compete agaisnt the large mega resort and the cookie cutter chain hotels of today. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was last minute in reserving a hotel room for the weekend of fathers day for the All-Star basketball games and Black Hawk Motel was available. It's not your big resort with a water park, but, it is close to down town and the fieldhouse and you don't have to fight the horrible traffic - the staff was very nice and accomodating, the rooms were VERY clean -small, but clean. I would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you found us to be right for the money and very clean! We are located just 9 blocks east of Just A Game Fieldhouse with a straight shot down Washington Ave. Sounds like you had one of our budget rooms because you said your room was small. We do have 30 different room types from over 1300 sq. feet to small budget rooms. During peak times rooms reserved thru third party travel sites may be obligated to budget rooms due to high commissions we pay. The best rates can always be found by booking directly thru us. We are happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and that you would stay with us again! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Five different families from our baseball club stayed for two nights. We all agreed how nice everything was and would come back again. The kids went back and forth between the indoor and outdoor pools after a day of tournament. Parents were able to relax and socialize poolside and still be able to watch the kids. While at the pool, another guest commented that him and his family have been coming here for 20 years.

Rooms were really clean and comfortable with plenty of room for family of 4. We had an adjoining room with another family so that worked well. Small fridge and microwave was helpful. Little patio seating outside your room was nice so you can enjoy the evening while the kids slept.

We will certainly be back, enjoyed the retro charm it has! Way better than a recent stay we had at one of the resorts.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double queen room, #34, which was adjoined to #35.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We appreciate your review and for choosing the Black Hawk as your home base for your recent tournament weekend! Great to hear that the kids enjoyed our heated indoor and outdoor pools while the parents enjoyed conversation together. We do have a retro feel to our property with all rooms have exterior entrances and reserved parking at your door. All rooms also include a fridge, microwave and table and two chairs outside each room. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future and found it fitting that your team name is the BLACKHAWKS! Thanks again, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Okay, the Black Hawk Motel is not the newest motel in town by a long stretch. We stayed there for two nights last week after checking out their rating on Tripadvisor.

The top rating is deserved. Even though the Black Hawk is definitely a trip back to the 1960s, everything we found was clean and in order. We didn't go swimming but the pools, both indoor and outdoor looked clean and inviting, with lots of slides and other extras that kids love. The kids staying next door to us appeared to be having a great time in them.

The location is so convenient--Mitzi's American Grille Restaurant is across the street and downtown Dells is just a few blocks walk or a 60 second car ride. There is also a convenience store with almost anything you need just a block away.

Hate noise? Our room was right next to the soda and ice machines and we STILL didn't hear anything. Even though our section of the motel was a single story, there were two chairs and a small table outside of each unit so you could sit outside and relax if you want. I enjoyed a chat with our neighbors as they got ready for their day on the town which is not something that's easy to do in a more modern facility.

The bed had a pillow top mattress which made it more comfortable than most stone-like hotel mattresses. The furniture was newer and in excellent condition. There was a table with two chairs and also a desk with another chair. It would be nice to have an outlet easier to access near the desk but I have no real complaint about that.

The only criticisms I have are minor--the grout in the bathroom was stained and really took away from the feel of an otherwise very clean bathroom. Also, there are still quilted bedspreads on the bed which we now know can be a problem, so ours spent most of the time off the bed. However judging by the cleanliness of the rest of the room, I surmise that if I had brought my black light, the bedspread would have passed inspection.

We loved the Black Hawk--it was a nice trip back in time to when motels were much more of a destination than the cookie cutter hotels of today. It's a real MOTEL--you drive in and park in front of your room in your assigned parking spot. It could not be much more convenient than that.

We will be back at the Black Hawk the next time the Dells comes up on our itinerary. Thank you for a nice stay, Black Hawk Motel staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed review on your recent stay with us! I love your review because is states exactly what we are....a MOTEL. We have had some potential guests think that we are a resort or fancy hotel, which we are not and we don't portray to be. We believe in providing a true piece of Americana from the 60's and 70's era with touches of modern day today. A place where families can bring their kids and let them experience what it was like to travel when they were kids. Our outdoor pool has a slide and diving board....one of the last remaining in the Wisconsin Dells area. We are known for our cleanliness, well maintained property and friendly customer service and we are happy to hear that you experienced all of these aspects during your stay. This winter, we have plans to remodel the room you were in to bring it more modern as the tile grout does show it's age a bit. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future and thanks again for your review. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.