We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Tinley Park, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place for vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have been staying here for years and years, from golf trips with friends to staying with family from grand parents and kids. from Brad and his wife (owners) and their staff,, everything is neat, clean, and well maintained. Excellent value for the money and they always go out of their way to make you feel at home!!!!

Room Tip: many different options from small rooms to cabins for larger families
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Chuck, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and more importantly for your many years of continued patronage! Accommodating great people like you, Barb, the rest of your family and the numerous other guests that visit the Black Hawk is one of the most rewarding benefits of operating our family business. On your next golf trip, keep in mind that we also now offer the Camp Wawbeek golf card at a 25% discount ($15) and it offers two for one greens fees for Trapper's Turn, Cold Water Canyon, Devil's Head, Spring Brook and many other great courses in centeral Wisconsin. Thanks again and have a great summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    172
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
552
281
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at the Black Hawk Motel for one night on a short business trip to the Dells. We've always been pleased with our clean room and grounds as well as the friendly staff. You will notice some of this years new changes from the moment you check in. You now can book on line and that makes checking in quicker than ever.

It's also been really interesting watching the Black Hawks face book page the past few months as the owners have been telling the history of the the busines and the family over the past 63 years. We will be back this season for sure.

Patrick

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hey Pat...it's always great to see you each spring when you make your business trip to the Dells. Thanks once again for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write us a review. We are excited about our method of booking reservations and after 68 years in business is a welcomed change as it's giving our many repeat and new guests another option of how to book with us and will allow us even more ways to accommodate our guests as our planned expansion nears. We're glad that you have enjoyed our history of the Black Hawk and my family on Face Book. I started on February 1st, 2013 and it's been memorable looking at the photos and posting stories. Thanks again and have a great summer! Kind regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed in a Queen room and a 3-bed Double room. Both rooms were recently remodeled. They had very nice beds, and the bathrooms were clean. It was the quietest motel I've ever slept at - though we were there off peek, and it was a weekend where it snowed. Both rooms also would have had plenty of room for a roll away bed. The hotel is slightly off the busy touristy parts, so it's nice and quiet. The front desk will call you a shuttle to go to the casino, if you want.

Both rooms, however, we had a little trouble getting the room temperature right. Both rooms had dials that said, high and low, and there was really no indication of if you were in the 60s or 70s as far as temp - so after a hour, we decided it was still to cold, and cranked it up a bit.

Room Tip: The recently remodeled Queen rooms were $5 more than the regular rooms when I stayed there, but well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing your weekend getaway at the Black Hawk. We don't usually see snow in April...but it seems like spring doesn't want to arrive this year. Rooms 19 and 20 are our rooms with the 3 Double (full) beds and have been a very popular room choice for over 30 years and our Queen Poolside rooms are now all newly remodeled and have been one of our most requested room types for years. We agree that some of our rooms don't actually have a temperture setting on the therostat dial, they have a number setting and we'll look into possibly improving this setting...possibly with a sign which relates the number to the temperture. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to accommodate you once again in the near future. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have nothing but good to say about this motel. It is not only clean and a great price with modern updates, but conveniently located in downtown Wisconsin Dells. If looking for a place to stay in the Dells again, I will definitely consider Black Hawk Motel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Christie, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay with us, as both your review and patronage is truly appreciated! We have many newly renovated rooms and even our rooms which are not the most recently renovated, like all rooms still offer: a clean room, w/ a comfortable bed at a great price! When you plan to return to the Dells, please check our web site for detailed room information on our 30 different room types. Kind regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stay at black hawk every year and always have a pleasant experience. The owners are so nice, and the rooms are spotless. The beds are new and very comfortable. The indoor and outdoor pool areas are always clean and well kept.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write us a review and more importantly for your continued patronage each year. We appreciate your comments regarding my wife Tena and I. We have a simple recipe that we believe in and that is treating others the way that we would want to be treated, after all...life is to short, so why not be nice? We agree that our Sealy Encore Plush Beds are VERY comfortable and after purchasing new beds for all our rooms, we soon found our selfs purchasing the same new beds for each bedroom in our home. Thanks again for visiting this year and have a great summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were so happy with our stay! Best Value and I was so impressed with the rooms.
Clean. We kept. Updated. Everyone was so friendly.
You get free water park passes and a Splash Pass. What more could you want?
Oh and the beds were awesome.
Thank You Black Hawk for making our weekend!

Room Tip: Call them direct. Lots of options
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Jenny, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing to spend your weekend getaway at the Black Hawk! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found us to be a great bargain. The FREE Water Park Wristbands to Chula Vista's Water Parks and the FREE Dells Splash Pass allow for a great way to extend the fun at no extra charge. The Splash Pass is great buy one get one FREE Discount Card which includes Mt. Olympus Theme park and Wild Fun Zone. We do have 30 different room types to choose from and the best rate and preferred room type is usually always found by calling us direct. Thanks for telling others about us and we hope to accommodate you and your family again in the near future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

From the time of arrival to departure we always felt welcomed. The check in was smooth and offered to help with directions or help with anything during our stay. We had the king budget room that was so clean. Bed was nice and comfortable. The indoor pool was very nice. This motel is a 70's classic that they keep updated. My only complaint is I wish it wasn't so popular!!!

Room Tip: There is no bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for becoming one of our many repeat guests! We truly appreciate your continued patronage and the fact that you choose to stay at our classic motel. We continually believe in putting money back into the business and we're glad that you found your King Budget room clean and comfortable and well as our indoor pool, which is always kept warm and open until 11:30 pm each night. Thank you again have a great summer....we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.