We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS
Ranked #1 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at Black Hawk, got a great deal through hotels.ca. Great motel, great area. Staff was good, rooms were small but perfect for the 2 of us as we didn't spend much time in the room. The pool and hot tub were good. We never used our free passes to the watersides as we didn't have enough time. I would recommend this place to anyone that is going to The Dells. My boyfriend and myself also liked the fact that you had a balcony with a few chairs and that u could see your car as it was right outside your room.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing to stay with us during your visit to the Wisconsin Dells. Sounds like you had one of our budget rooms w/ a Queen bed. During the peak summer months most of our rooms available on the major travel sites w/ one bed are our budget rooms and are a bit smaller...but still have all the amenities of our largest rooms. Check out website for our 30 different room types and detailed room descriptions. We're glad you enjoyed our pools and our indoor is open until 11:30 pm each night and all our rooms have reserved parking right by your door and we're also just a short walk to the downtown Wisconsin Dells area. We hope to accommodate you again this summer and new this year is a complimentary Dells Splash Pass for each room reserved which gets you a buy one get one free admission to Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park, plus other great savings. Thanks again and have a great spring season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    715
    157
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
485
253
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
wi
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Cold rainy spring day about two years ago, we called to see if we could get a room with just a regular pool instead of the loud, over-priced resorts. Now, other than our winter trips, the BH is the only place we go. Love the cottages, pools, and that you can walk downtown. Add free golf and CV tickets if it rains, and you have a great deal. Place is always full, so book early. We hit the Dells 5 times a year and have stayed just about everywhere, but after 2 nights at the Wilderness this weekend, we are ready for the B H to open!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I believe this is Brian...thanks for taking the time to write us a great review! Sorry we were closed this past weekend and couldn't accommodate you and your family. Definitely have thoughts and plans of opening earlier than April. It's great to hear that you found us on a rainy spring day. Our indoor pool is open until 11:30 pm each night and we'll be having the complimentary Chula Vista Water Park passes again this year as well as the Dells Splash Pass and we hope to have the complimentary golf as well. We look forward to seeing you and your family again this year and have a great rest of the winter! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Me and a couple buddies stayed here on a motorcycle trip. Perfect layover. Very well kept classic motel. Price was awesome and the owner was really nice. Room was good. Everything really clean. What more can you ask for? I'd stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! It's great that you can get together w/ friends and take a bike ride and we're glad that you chose the Black Hawk as a stop over point. We have 30 different room types to choose from, from budget to large accommodations w/ kitchens. We hope to accommodate you again on your next road trip and if you would like the same room, please let us know...as all our rooms do have reserved parking. If there's inclement weather in the forcast for the evening, let us know if you would like to park your bikes inside our garage for the night. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our family had a wonderful time and enjoyed our stay! We have an 11yr old and a 4yr old and just loved the motel, they want to go back this summer. Its very clean and comfrotable w/ a retro feel. I loved the lawn chairs outside your door and window. Its peaceful, clean and comfortable what else would you ask for...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello Karla,
We love hearing when our guests enjoy our Retro feel. Many guests tell us all the time that they love staying with us because of our Retro feel and they want their children to experiece a vacation the way that Mom and Dad did when they traveled as kids. We are Family Owned and Operated since 1945 and a regular repeat guest once wrote us a review and titled it "Retro meets Modern". Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and we look forward to accommodating you and your family again this summer! King regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We've been staying at the Black Hawk for several years now. We had the opportunity to stay at The Wilderness resort with my son's boy scout troop. I was worried that it would make me not want to stay at the Black Hawk anymore. The opposite turned out to be true! The whole time we were staying at the Wilderness, I was wishing we were back at the the Black Hawk where it is quiet, relaxed, not crowded, clean, friendly, and all of the other things you've been reading about. We spend every Father's Day weekend in the Dells with a large group and look forward to staying in our same "wing" of rooms. Every year, The Black Hawk surprises us with something new and improved. Last summer it was remodeled rooms and bathrooms. What will it be in 2013? Can't wait to find out! P.S. We stayed in the house on the property during our last trip in November. It was just as nice as the rest of the Black Hawk.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Bethany, Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write us an awesome review as it is very much appreciated! We appreciate even more all of your continued patronage with all of the Huber family and friends over the years! The Wilderness has some unbelievable waterparks and things to do. We offer a different type of lodging experience as the Black Hawk has been family owned and operated since 1945 and we are trying to preserve a piece of "True Americana" with yearly and modern upgrades. My parents had a few simple rules while running the Black Hawk for 44+ years...."always put money back into the business". This year, as every year we are doing the same. We're glad to hear you enjoyed staying in our two bedroom house recently and we'll look forward to seeing everyone this Father's Day weekend as we have your rooms reserved for you with your own reserved parking spots. Thanks again and have a great rest of the winter. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This past July was our third time staying at the Black Hawk Motel. It has become our yearly tradition! It is a mom & pop motel, a refreshing change of pace from the huge 'water park' hotels, and the couple who owns it are lovely. We get one of the small 'cabins' that have a jacuzzi bath. The room is very clean and the beds are heavenly. The pool is small but always sparkling clean. They have fresh coffee in the lobby all day and is it very good. You can walk downtown easily so you do not have to worry about parking. If you want great value and a clean room with friendly people, this is the place!

Room Tip: The little seperate 'cabins' with the jacuzzi tubs are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hello Julie, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Our jacuzzi rooms are some of the most popular of our 30 room types to choose from. Most of our cottages allow for extra privacy w/ no common walls, with reserved parking right by your door. We are just a short 6 block walk to the center of downtown Wisconsin Dells, yet all of the major attractions are within about a 5 mile radius of us. We truly enjoy welcoming all our many repeat guests back each year, as well as our first time guests! We look forward to seeing you again this summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Heights, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for week at the Black Hawk at the end of August and loved every minute of it! Our room fit our needs perfectly, the arcade was entertaining, the pools were clean, we were walking distance from downtown - absolutely no complaints. We will be back again and again and again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello Tracy, Thanks so much for taking a few minutes to write us a review and for choosing the Black Hawk and the Wisconsin Dells for your vacation spot. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you plan on returning and joining our many repeat guests. Check out our web site for our 30 different room types and if you would like to have the same room, just let us know. Thanks again and we look forward to accommodating you and your family again this summer and have great rest of the winter! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
Free Parking, M...
Show More
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#7 of 77 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#21 of 77 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#22 of 77 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#29 of 77 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
3.9 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#26 of 77 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 909 reviews
Restaurant, Bud...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
#10 of 77 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.