We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE WATERPARK INCLUDED
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Watertown, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here overnight in October. We typically would stay in a larger hotel than this but the positive reviews about the motel made us decide to stay here, and those reviews were accurate. It was extremely clean and quiet. It is family owned and operated and the owner who checked us in to our room was friendly and helpful. When we went to our room the TV did not work, which the owner came to check immediately after we told him about it and promptly fixed the problem. We stayed in a room with two queen beds that had been updated last winter, and the bed was very comfortable. The motel is within walking distance of downtown Wisconsin Dells. We would strongly recommend the Black Hawk Motel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hello Cathy, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review in regards to your recent stay with us! We appreciate all of our reviews and love hearing when we have met our guests expectations. Our Two Queen Superior (which you stayed in) has been one of our most popular room types for many years and we've had countless compliments on our Sealy Plush Beds. Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and supporting our family owned business. We are family owned and operated since 1945 and my wife Tena and I are the Black Hawk's 3rd generation. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the near future! Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    172
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
552
281
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here and were pleasantly surprised the rooms have been updated/remodeled. We stayed in their two bedroom house and it was perfect. Had all of the amenities and was just a short walk away from the office area. Indoor pool and games for the cold season and outdoor area for the summer. The employees were very friendly. Also, the motel was about a mile away from the downtown area. We walked over a few times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for visiting us for a second time and joining our many repeat guests! At over 1300 sq. ft. our two bedroom house is one of our most requested room types. It has it's own fully equipped kitchen w/ fridge, freezer, ice maker, washer and dryer, and centeral air. Also included is a 16 x 24 deck w/ private charcoal grill. We are located on the east end of downtown, just a short 10 minute walk to the center of downtown. No matter spring, summer, or fall we offer plenty to do with our heated indoor and outdoor pools w/ slides and diving board, our retro arcade w/ billiard and pinball games, mulitple playgrounds for the kids. We are also just two blocks from Bowman Park and the public tennis courts are a 1/2 block from us. If families want to venture offsite, all of the great Wisconsin Dells attractions are just within a 5 mile radius of us and we include free water park passes to Chula Vista Water Parks for all registered guests. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again for the 2013 season. Have a great winter and holiday season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My children and I enjoyed four nights at the Black Hawk late this summer. Not wanting to stay in a huge, expensive, impersonal mall of a hotel, I chose this motel as it was reasonably priced, walking distance to the Dells downtown area, and family owed and operated. We were not disappointed. The owners were wonderful! This is what the Dells use to be when I was kid. The place was clean and well maintained. There were plenty of activities for the kids as well. They preferred the small pool at the motel to the large impersonal waterslide disneyland craziness as they found it easy to meet and play with other children. Before I was out of bed - they were swimming in the pool! We will return next summer. Regards, K Milwaukee, WIsconsin.

Room Tip: Go with the rooms with kitchenettes. Why go out to a crowded expensive restaurant for a bowl of cer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are family owned and operated since 1945, Tena and I are 3rd generation and perhaps our young boys will want to continue on making us 4th generation? Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write us a review! Sounds like the kids really enjoyed our heated indoor and outdoor pools, along with our slides and diving board, and we also brought back memories for you when you were a kid. Our indoor pool is open until 11:30 pm each night and because of our guest reguests, we'll have earlier pool hours starting in 2013. We do have limited kitchenette units, however we offer 30 different room types to choose from. Thanks again and we look forward to accommodating you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clintonville, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I can not say enough good things about the Black Hawk! Just as the other reviews say the outside is a bit worry some, however as soon as you open the door to your room you will be very pleasantly surprised!
We stayed in a ground level whirlpool suite. The room was very clean and modern. We had a refrigerator & microwave in the room. There were even mirrors above the bed.
We only had a small problem on the first night. For some reason there was not enough hot water to fill the whirlpool and have the water be at a comfortable temperature. I called the front desk the next morning and the owner was very appoligitic. We immediately had someone come out to look at the water heater. By the following night we had more than enough hot water. At the end of our stay the owner again appologized for the water situation and refunded us more than generously for the inconvience.
This is a definate must stay while you are in the Dells. You get free tickets to the Chula Vista water park and will save a great deal of money.
Thank you Black Hawk!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hello Tina, It sounds like you had an enjoyable stay with us this fall! We're glad that we diagnosed the problem we were having w/ our hot water heaters in the section you stayed in. Thank you so much for bringing it to our attention and for being so understanding, things are so much easier when a guest is easy to work with. We've have learned that maintenance issues will arise, sometimes w/o warning and our guests are an extension of our staff when they alert us of maintenace issues, and we really appreciate the help. We glad you enjoyed your whirlpool room on the ground floor and we do have plans to spruce up our curb appeal, however we feel the interior of the rooms is more important at this time. We hope you can stay with us again, perhaps in one of our king whirlpool balcony suites, these rooms are brand new and an upgrade from our ground floor whirlpool rooms. They still have mirrors above the bed and a semi private 11 x 14 sundeck, custom tiled shower, 37" flat screen tv and just as all our rooms...reserved parking. Thanks so much for taking time to write us a review and we hope to see you during the 2013 season! Kind regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed October 27, 2012 just days before the end of the season & it was great. We got what I think they called a "Kitchenette". It had a living room, decent sized bathroom, vanity outside of bathroom with microwave & mini fridge & then 2 seperate bedrooms with queen beds. The room had 3 TVs, 3 DVD players, 3 ACs & 3 heaters. The carpet was a little stained up & a spot on the ottoman (room 69) but it was fine being end of season & assuming a deep clean may happen in the off-season. We didn't have time to use the pool but it looked fun. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Jennifer, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We were glad that we could accommodate you on our final Saturday of an outstanding 2012 season. The room you rented was our last available and it sounds like it worked out great. It's room #69 which is known as our two bedroom cottage w/ front room. It's one of our most popular of our 30 different room types. We hope that you'll be able to visit us next summer when our heated outdoor pool is open and the Dells is in full operation. We'll also have Free Water Park passes for the 2013 season as well. Thanks again and have a great winter! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Although small, the rooms are in great shape and VERY clean. Bathroom had new, high-end cabinets, counters, and fixtures. Pool and arcade are very clean as well. Noise from adjacent rooms tended to be excessive, but what-the-heck, you just cannot beat the price! Overall a great place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing to stay with us. We have 30 different room types to choose from and they vary from small budget rooms to family units over 1300 sq. ft and sleep anywhere from 2 to 10 guests. It sounds like you had a budget room because your room was small. We are happy to hear we provided you a VERY clean, well maintained room at an unbeatable price. Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the near future! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Blackhawk on our way to Chicago on the recommendation of friends who were also staying there. We loved it ! Very quiet, very clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. We sat by the indoor pool on a cold night and watched our kids swim. We also enjoyed the game room that had some fun retro games. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thanks for choosing the Black Hawk as your stop over spot on your recent trip to Chicago. Our indoor pool and retro arcade is open until 11:30 pm (or later) each night. We appreciate all our reviews and hearing that we provided our guests with a quiet, clean, comfortable and reasonable place to stay. Thank for taking the time to write us a review and we hope you'll join us again in the near future..rather it be a one night stopover, or a two week stay with us...we sincerely appreciate accommodating our guests on any room nights. Have a great fall season and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.