We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean + Great Value -- Would do it again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS!
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very Clean + Great Value -- Would do it again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here over labor day weekend in a budget king for $90 a night. It has a soft motel bed, mini-fridge, and mini microwave and parking right outside our door. A trip to walmart for breakfast foods, and we were set. We easily walked downtown and enjoyed tourist-central. We also drove 5-10 minutes to all the attractions.

Room Tip: The budget room we stayed in was farther away from the pool/game area and seemed quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and post a few photos in regards to your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that you thought we provided a clean room at a great value. Looks like you stayed in room #6,which is close to the busy road which runs thru downtown. We're glad you found it to be quiet. We feel at $90 for peak time that this is a great rate and if you can ever get away in the offseason, our king budget rooms start at $49 for Sunday - Thursday or $55 on the weekend. Still included are the free Water Park Passes to Chula Vista, Free Dells Fun Card, Free Par 3 Golf and other savings coupons. Have a great fall season and we hope to see you on your next trip to the Wisconsin Dells area! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    174
    30
    9
    2
See reviews for
558
281
18
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights over labour day weekend in a double queen bed based on Tripadvisor recommendations. The Motel is clean and centrally located just down from the centre of W. Dells. Service is great and efficient. Has a small pool and Game Arcade which kept our son happy. The beds were a bit too soft for our liking but we woild definetely recommend the Black Hawk Motel for future stays.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Traveling to the Dells from Singapore is quite a distance and we are glad you trusted Trip Advisor for your accommodation plans! We realize that everyone is different and everyone prefers a certain type of bed. Great to hear that you found our service to be efficient and our property clean. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and if you ever make a return trip to Wisconsin Dells, we hope to see you then! Have a great day! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for a few days in early August with our one year old. The hotel was great. We loved the 1950s style of everything. Sometimes with the vintage style things can be worn or dirty. The hotel was very clean and well maintained. The rooms were a good size and the mattress was comfortable. You could park right by your room. The playground and pools were great. We liked the indoor pool the best. It was really warm and the slide was lots of fun. It was nice to be in a quieter location and it was nice to take a short walk to downtown.

The few things that we would change:
1. We wished the pool opened earlier than 9 am. Our toddler was bouncing off the walls and wanted the pool. We were ready to go to the pool around 8am.

2. Cigarette smoke -- I understand that this is a motel, but it seemed like everyone in the rooms around us were outside smoking. We couldn't smell it in our rooms, but I walked with my kid in the road instead of the sidewalk area to avoid all the smoke. Maybe try to keep a block of rooms with no smoking inside or outside so people can avoid the smoke.

3. chula vista -- we did not like the waterpark. We thought it was a bonus to get tickets to the park, but we would rather pay less money than receive these tickets. The waterpark was dirty (like there was trash left on the side of the pool overnight), there were no tubes for rides, and there were very few staff members to help control the chaos. We preferred the hotel pool.

Overall, we liked this place and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
It's always nice to hear from a past and present guest that they feel our vintage 50's era motel is clean and well maintained. Having a well maintained business is like having a well maintained house in that you never get done with the upkeep. Great to hear you enjoyed our playgrounds and heated pools. Our cleaning staff does clean the pool and common areas as well as vacuum the pools and mop the floors, so this is the primary reason our pools open at 9 am. We have opened them early several times though and if you return next time, just ask me and I would be happy to open them earlier as our staff can usually work around early swimmers. We agree w/ the cigarette smoke and have had suggestions from other guests about "non smoking" wings and we'll look into the idea. Sorry to hear you didn't have the best experience at Chula Vista Water Parks. We have had good reports from our guests visiting there, however we don't have anything to do with the way they run their business. We signed up w/ their program due to our guests and potential guests requests, mean while keeping our room rates the same for 90% of our different room types. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again next summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our family has been going to the Blackhawk motel for years and we stay there for our family reunion every year. It is a great hotel. It is very affordable for everyone the indoor/outdoor pools are great for the kids. It is so close to everything and you can walk to all the stores on the strip. And the playgrounds are great for the kids too they love it. It is very family and kid friendly and we all love it there.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hello Nick, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! It's always great to see everyone every Labor Day weekend, especially seeing how much all the kids have grown. It seems that your reunion keeps growing every year and we like how you took it to the next level this year and reserved a tent. I have one twice the size (20 X 40) reserved for your family next year. We also feel that we are just a short easy walk to the downtown and we are also only two blocks from Bowman park which offers more playground fun. Thanks again and have a great fall and holiday season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

It's a motel, as in "motor hotel" of days gone by. Your car is parked right outside your door and your door opens to the outdoors. I love it! Right down to the two (clean and new) plastic chairs and matching table where you can sit and sip your New Glarus brew, this delightful accommodation will make you feel like you are back in time, without losing your wi-fi or A/C.

We've been coming to the Black Hawk for twenty years, and have enjoyed every stay. The location is near the attractions you want to see in Delton/Dells but out of the noise. Once you learn to take the back street to the motel you can skip the main drag as soon as you cross the river and sneak in the back way. You will feel like you've got a little secret that the people staying at the big resorts and chain hotels will never learn.

The bed was comfortable. The room was clean and in a great state of maintenance. We enjoyed playing pool in the arcade room. There are indoor and outdoor pools if the kids aren't completely tuckered out after dinner. It's an easy walk to the Dells shopping main drag, and many restaurants.

One quibble about our stay was that the hot tubs were WAY too hot to lounge in. We couldn't stay in for more than a couple minutes, so we had to make a new plan for our evening wind-down.

The staff is friendly (a thank-you note on our bed for the tip we left?!) and we felt they were there for any needs we had. We really didn't have much...new batteries for the TV remote took one minute. And the brew a good cup of coffee for your morning wake up.

We enjoyed this place when the kids were little and we/they still pick Black Hawk to meet for a weekend now that they've grown. That says a lot.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the second floor rooms on Race street. It's away from the pool and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hello Steve, Thank you for taking the time to tells others about your recent stay with us and also for all your patronage for the past twenty years! We really appreciate your comments, your patronage and the fact that you love our old school feel. Rooms 8 and 9 which you and your family stayed in are close to the oldest part of the motel and we're happy to hear that you found your room to be clean and in a great state of maintenance. Our billard table is probably the most popular game that we have in our game room, which w/ our indoor pool is always open until 11:30 pm each night. Apologizes for both hot tubs being way to hot. I always keep the one by the office in the 103-104 degree range as recommended by the CPO manual, I have however since turned our hot tub by the indoor pool down a few degrees. Housekeeping that cleaned your room is fairly new with us and I can guarantee that they appreciate all tips they receive, and I agree they could of left a simple "thank you" note. I do know that many of our housekeeping staff do leave a "thank you" note after receiving a tip. Many of our repeat guests and seasoned Dells travelers, like yourself; know the short cut thru downtown...thanks for letting out the secret and thank you again for your review! Perhaps you sipped on a New Glarus brew while writing it? Definitely a great choice! We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future and if you would like the same rooms, just let us know. Have a great fall and holiday season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you're looking for an affordable, quiet, clean, fun, family friendly, and family run place to stay in the Dells, look no further than the Black Hawk Motel. Several years ago we were looking for a place to stay away from the "energy" of Lake Delton and downtown Wisconsin Dells, fortunately we came across the Black Hawk. We've now made staying at the Black Hawk an annual tradition (four years+), with members of our extended family joining as well. The kids absolutely love the pools (with a diving board!), the playgrounds, and the game room. I have great memories of family vacations, as a kid, where we stayed at Motel's like this all across the country. I'm glad that the Black Hawk lets me share that experience with my family today.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hi Jeff, Thank you for your review! It makes us feel great that we can help relive memories that you had as a kid and now share those same experiences with your kids by staying with us in our family owned and operated motel. Thanks for your years of patronage and helping us preserve a piece of True Americana! Interesting that you found us by wanting to get out of the energy of the strip in Lake Delton and the busy downtown. Less than a decade ago,...the so called "place to be" was on the strip close to Noah's Ark and all the action. Now, with the formation of the BID (Business Interest District) and the youth sporting events and all the Mt. Olympus properties, we're glad we're on the east end of downtown. Have a great fall and holiday season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked due to reviews here. Friendly staff, easy check in and reservation. Adorable set up, very 1950's, Aluminum chairs, astroturf. The entire motel is immaculate, from the rooms to the indoor and outdoor pools and both saunas and whirlpools. The old school arcade is great! Our room was upgraded on arrival at no extra charge. Our daughter left her fave toy horse at the room when we checked out, when we returned the housekeeper was waiting for us with horse in hand! SO close to everything. The parking spot is right in front of your patio/door. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We're happy to hear that you found our Retro property to be fun, as we are family owned and operated since 1945 which makes us true Retro, but with some modern touches. Our classic arcade is a big hit w/ our guests who want to relive the playing of the classics of 30 years ago, as well as letting their kids play the classics as well. So glad that we discovered your daughter's favorite toy horse before you returned home. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Dells! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.