We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business with a splash of fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS!
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford IL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Business with a splash of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed July 23th in budget room 61on a short business trip. The room was newly remodeled, clean and very comfortable. The free wifi is fantastic un like most hotels I've stayed at. Got some down time to hang out and play some pinball at the arcade and enjoy swimming in the out door pool. The free Chula Vista pass were great, very nice water park. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Budget rooms are clean and the wifi works great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and for finding yourself some fun time while staying with us on your business trip. We offer a great alternative to the business traveler, especially during the off season months during the spring and fall. Rooms during to the week can be found starting for $44 before any discounts, and these include all the amenties and FREE water park passes and reserved parking right outside your door. It's great to hear that the Wi Fi worked well for you during your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you next time in the area, rather it be for business or fun....or BOTH! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    186
    32
    9
    2
See reviews for
601
299
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from staying at the Black Hawk Motel from July 21-27. We stayed in room 69 which is a 2 bedroom cottage. The size is great for a small family (4 in ours) and the room has a small fridge and microwave. There is a TV in each bedroom and one out in the sitting room and an air conditioner in each room as well. The rooms are very clean which is important to us as I am sure most people!
It is close to downtown, we walked one night and it took us no time at all. We also went to the outdoor pool one afternoon and it is quite nice as well. All in all, we enjoyed out stay there and it was great to have the 2 separate bedrooms--made it feel like it was our "little house"! And lastly, the owners are very friendly and whenever we had a request for anything they were more than happy to help.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and post photos of your recent stay with us. Our two bedroom cottage w/ front room (#69) is one of our most requested room types and we wish that we had a few more room types like this one. Thanks for explaining the layout to a tee. When we remodeled it a couple of years ago, we we're moving walls and everything and wanted to get AC and TV in each bedroom, plus the front room. We have plans to hopefully soon be adding flat screen tv's as well. Cottage 69 is actually an old tobacco barn which my grandpa moved here from Beloit, Wisconsin back in the early 40's and my parents added 8 feet on the back of it in 1988 when they moved it to it's current location. This ole tobacco barn is one popular unit. Thanks again and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

In May, after shopping all the websites for a room for July, I called the motel directly and was helped by a very friendly woman. The rate she gave me was better than any I had found online for the Black Hawk. I was using tripadvisor as my guide.
Our family (two adults & one pre-teen) stayed three nights in July. Our room was super clean and smelled clean, too. We had a two queen room with frig and microwave. We were in a nice quiet corner of the property.
The Black Hawk Motel is perfectly located, close enough to downtown, yet far enough out of the crazy busy-ness. We did not use their pools, but they looked very well kept and clean. The office made decaf coffee for us every morning we were there, which endeared them to my husband.
We certainly recommend The Black Hawk Motel and will return when we re-visit the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us this past July! The best room rates can usually be found by booking with us directly via phone, so we're glad you called. It was my pleasure to make your husband decaf every morning.....and we happily make it on request to go with our leaded coffee. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. It is very much appreciated and Thank you for choosing Black Hawk Motel. If we can accommodate you again, we'll see if we can get you in the same room if possible. Thanks again and have a great rest of the summer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel was absolutely great! The location was convenient, the rooms are super clean, the amenities and customer service was excellent and the beds were so comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be returning next year for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thanks so much for writing us a review and for choosing Black Hawk Motel. It's great to hear that you were pleased with your recent stay with us. We have had many compliments on our Sealy Encore Plush Beds and we have them in every room. Glad to hear you also found our location to be ideal. We are just a short walk to downtown and most of our property is actually located on a quite residential street. We look forward to accommodating you next year! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed in the Black Hawk motel for 2 nights. Here's what we thought:

positives:
-clean and spacious
-people in office were always kind and courteous
-lots of things to do on the grounds - pools, arcade, etc.
-close to downtown Wisconsin Dells.
-parking directly in front of our room
-free wifi
-we received free Chula Vista water park passes for the length of our stay

negatives:
-We were confused by the pricing. I don't think this is the fault of Black Hawk Motel, but more of the website we booked through. $144/night seems steep to me for a family of 4. If you look at black hawk motel's website, our room (two queen beds, Peak Summer (Sun-Thurs) is $95. Why the almost $50 difference a night is confusing to me. However, on the door of our hotel room, there was a different price. This one was more in line with what we paid. Perhaps they have to factor in the water park tickets? I would have asked the people a the front desk, but we had to leave early due to a family emergency. I would suggest calling the motel yourself to get a better idea of their pricing.
-We did not find the free Wisconsin Fun Card we were given useful at all.
-the smoking maids with the cleaning carts were a bit of a turn off.

I think for me, what sets this place apart from the rest of the places I've stayed is the friendly customer service we received at the office.

Room Tip: Call the motel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your detailed review as it's very much appreciated. We're glad you and your family found our property to be clean with plenty to do and close to town. We strive to give the best customer service possible. We feel it's easy to do because we have the simple philosophy...treat our guests the way we would want to be treated if we were on vacation, life is to short so why make our guests day and our day an unpleasant one? In reference to what you paid for your room when booking throught the online travel sites. The online sites set the rates for what they want to charge, and when a guest books with them, we receive a fax for what we collect (which is minus their commission), we then pay our vendor 10%. Some sites have started a loyalty program where you get the 11th night free after booking 10 with them, because they know that sometimes the best deals may be found by booking directily with a hotel. The rate card on the back of your door is the maximum rate before we added water park tickets and we'll be updating those rates this offseason. A few of our housekeepers do smoke and they are only suppose to have limited smoke breaks which tie into their break for the day, and in designated areas. I admit that we have one housekeeper (who has been with us for years) that smokes to much and I will use your review to put a clamp on her bad habit while at work. I appreciate your help with this. So sorry that you had to check out early because of family matters and hope that everything works out for the best. Be sure and check our web site for rates and our 30 different room types if you plan to visit the Dells again. We hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Having never been to the Dells before, I did my research. Booked a room at the Black Hawk for 3 nights near the end of our 2 week long road trip. We were in 2 different rooms having arrived a day ahead of schedule. The first room had a musty smell which was coming from the a/c unit but the room was very clean. We moved to a Deluxe King suite the next day and it was amazing. Hot tub, kitchen, very roomy and comfy. Beds were a little soft. Front desk staff was very helpful, very friendly. Wi-fi was very slow, that was a little frustrating. We asked about it and were given a 1-800 number to call (their ISP?) which we did not do. Pool area was great, very clean & laundry facilities were also very good. I'd recommend staying here if you're looking for a clean, affordable place to stay while in the Dells.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thanks so much for your review as it's greatly appreciated. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have some older Fedder's AC units which have been known to give off a musty smell if a drain hole becomes clogged and water sits in it. I am able to change out any AC in a few minutes as we have many new ones waiting in storage. We have done a significant upgrade w/ our AC units in the last couple of years with a focus on getting less customer complaints, running more energy efficient units and cooling a room like an ice box. I'll be sure and let our wi fi server know about your slow internet service as they are always doing upgrades to the access points. We pay a montly fee for tech support and it's a nice option for our guests that they can talk with a live person with any issues they may be having while using our wi fi. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My family has stayed here 3 times in the past 4 years and we love it! Awesome location and value. The amenities were great and just what my family needed. Close to downtown, great pools both indoor and out. Kids loved it. Can't wait to come back next year! The only negative was that the wifi connection was very slow...but who really needs that on vacation anyways??

Room Tip: We stayed in room 71, which had two queen beds a full kitchen, dining table and love seat. Plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for your patronage over the last 4 years! Room #71 is our two queen kitchen and a VERY popular unit. It makes our day when we here the good reports on this unit because we did alot a planning and thought about different ways to lay out the kitchen when we remodeled it a couple of years ago. We hope to accommodate you again next summer or perhaps during a fall getaway? Thanks again and have a great rest of the summmer! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.