We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grat spring weekend get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Rockford IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A grat spring weekend get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We really enjoyed a nice weekend get away. The room was clean, off room parking and newly remodeled. Staff was really helpful when looking for attractions and good food near by. We will be back again during the summer with family and friends for sure. Great value for the price!

Room Tip: If traveling with kids request a room near the indoor pool and arcade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Sounds like you took advantage at the chance to get away and thanks for choosing Black Hawk Motel. We look forward to accommodating you and your family and friends this summer. Be sure and check our website to view our 30 different room types. Our Retro 80's video pinball arcade will be getting a new pinball this summer so be sure and check it out while also enjoying the other classics like Donkey Kong, Ms. Pac Man, Centipede, Joust and the ultimate classic, a game of billiards.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    173
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
553
281
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

My family and I have been staying here for the past 17+ years and love everything about it! The staff is always so nice and treats you like family! They always keep the rooms and motel grounds clean and there is a parking spot right infront of your motel room. They have a very nice outdoor pool with a slide and diving board, have a kids pool, indoor pool and 2 hot tubs. They also have an arcade with a pool table. They offer a variety of room choices at the best prices around! It is within walking distance of restaurants and downtown dells, and also offer special pricing for different attractions. My family comes here every summer and always looks forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and more importantly for you and your families 17+ years of continued patronage! All of the great people that we have met over the years, the familiar faces, and new ones as well is the biggest reason why we love our job. Being is business is a tough challenge, but the wonderful guests that we have met and see year after year makes it all worth it. Thank you again and and we look forward to seeing you and your family again this summer. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The Black Hawk is one of those places that takes a step back in time... in the best way possible! Clean. Comfortable. Retro but completely hip. The pool area was always spotless and the water was warm. The staff is friendly and low-key. Parking is perfect. And the rates can't be beat.

I'll be back with the family this summer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Great to hear that we provided the "Perfect Girls Weekend" while still keeping that Retro feeling.
Sounds like you had time to enjoy our warm pools. We believe in spending the extra $ and keeping our pool water warm to increase guest satisfaction as oposed to a lower heating bill and a more uncomfortable swim for our guests. Glad to hear you like our RESERVED parking for all our rooms...this was my Dad's idea back in the late 80's and we have had many compliments on it since. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again soon! Remember to check our website for our now 30 different room types where you'll find detailed room descriptions, photos and reasonable rates. Thanks again!
Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We visited this with our 2 young kids and it was a perfect stay! Without the price and crowds of a big waterpark, this place worked very well for us. Our kids loved the indoor and outdoor pools. There was also a game room to play in. The room itself was clean and cozy. And you can't beat the price. It was also an easy walk to the shops and restaurants. We would stay here again for sure. An excellent choice if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're happy to hear that we provided a perfect stay for you and your family. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our indoor and outdoor pools and vintage arcade as well. We are just a short walk to the downtown Dells shopping district where's there's plenty of shops, attractions and restaurants and our heated indoor pool is open late until 11:30 pm each night so there's always time for the little ones, as well as adults to take a swim after a night of strolling the downtown. We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

a few girl friends and i spent a weekend getaway at the black hawk. we'd picked it based on reviews and we were glad we did. everything we'd read was true, down to the comfort of the wonderful mattresses for great sleeping. the hotel is located a short walk to the 'old' downtown dells, and located conviently near a diner (we'd enjoyed their breakfast). black hawk is a very clean motel. yes, it is somewhat dated, but it is a motel - not a fancy hotel. so if you're looking for a comfortable place to stay, with a good location and attentive staff, this is a great place to visit.

Room Tip: they have different rooms and units offered; number of beds, adjoining rooms, small housing unit for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We're glad that we provided the ideal base camp for your "girls weekend". We are just 4 blocks for downtown Wisconsin Dells, yet still only within about 4 miles of all the major attractions that the Wisconsin Dells area offers. We hope to accommodate you again during 2012 and thanks for recommending the Trip Advisor community to check our website where guests can view our room rates for our 30 different room types, along with detailed descriptions and photos. If anyone wants to plan a spring or fall couples getaway, be sure to consider our jacuzzi blowout special which will get you a jacuzzi room with queen or king bed, Sunday thru Thursday for just $69 plus tax! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Yes it's old but the service is great and staff friendly. I love sitting outside and talking to all the other guests. It's also a very short walk to the downtown area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
We're glad to hear that you love the Black Hawk! We love our job and one of the reasons is because we love meeting new guests and building friendships with them. Yes, we are old...as we are family owned and operated since 1945....being one of the longest (along with Chula Vista), family owned lodging properties in the Dells area. We are definitely an "old school" property,....drive up and park in your own reserved parking space right by your door. However, we have always lived by the simple family rule of putting money back into the family business. Many of our rooms are new remodels (in fact 10 more in the winter of 2012), great beds w/ many amenities. Check out our website for detailed room descriptions on our 30 different room types along with room photos. Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

There is something to say about the old motels where you can park your car in front of your room and sit outside and enjoy the simple life.. .You dont have to climbs stairs or wait for elevators or long lines to register...No hassle,no crowds,no loud music,just great fun..Friendly great service,very clean rooms,reasonable rates,its like going back in time..Forget the massive hotels,this is a place to relax and its still near everything..I spent my vacation there in 1978 and was back this year and its still great...Its nice to see something preserved and still kept up to date without spoiling the history...Hope that it stays that way forever..we need to keep these kind of places alive..Its part of life as we seen it when times were less complicated..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you are one of our many repeat guests. It's a battle in today's tough ecomony to compete with all the mega resorts and chains...however as my Mother always said..."if we provide a clean room at a reasonable price with a few pools, we'll be ok". We have always done business by these rules and have treated our guests how we would want to be treated, while always putting money back into the business. Thank you again and we hope to see accommodate you in the future and have a great 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.