We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clean, we'll return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE WATERPARK INCLUDED
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great clean, we'll return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Spent 4 nights here, clean rooms, grounds and friendly helpful staff. Owners are on premises and very helpful in answering your questions. Both pools and hot tubs clean. Children play areas clean and several things for them to do.
Easy walk to downtown, and family restaurants very near by. We all enjoyed and will return. Great Value, and micro, and fridge were a big benefit. Mattresses are better than home.

Room Tip: Rms near entrance would be noiser as all coming into drive and checking in must pass this spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    172
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
552
281
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This was our second stay at the Back Hawk Motel, a 1-night stop-over on our drive to Minneapolis. Very pleased with the room, facilities, and staff. A nice, clean, comfortable place to stay. Would also be nice for families with kids, having a nice playground and both an indoor and outdoor pool. Both stays, we had a room with a fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

My Canadian friend and I toured Wisconsin over Labor Day weekend and we very pleased with the service we received at Black Hawk Motel. We were greeted with friendly staff and shown on a map where everything was around the motel and even Wisconsin Dells. Our parking spot was about three feet from the door of our room which was extremely convenient (some motels had made us walk quite some distance with all of our stuff). The location is perfect--right off of Broadway Street (the main strip). They were even nice enough to let us keep our car there for a few hours while we explored downtown AFTER we checked out. The room are a bit dated--but not bad in any way--retro at worst. The owners obviously care very much about the experience that customers have--I even saw an employee sweeping the areas around the motel. Very nice bed. Free ice. Sauna, whirlpool, hot tubs, indoor/outdoor pools, playground, this place has it all. We even received a Dells Fun Card (buy one get one deals) and saved $25 off an Upper Dells Boat Tour! If you are looking for a superior service, accommodation, and a wonderful family-run business, I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We used the
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Iowa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed at the Black Hawk Motel one night, Sept. 7, 2011. We have stayed here several times over the years, even before TripAdvisor, so we knew what to expect. The Black Hawk is an older property, very well maintained, and very clean. It is another of what I call classic Dells motels, like the Indian Trail, or Monaco out on the strip.

We stayed in room #30, a handicapped room with a king size bed. (We didn't ask for a handicapped room but was given one anyway.) The room was good sized, with a large bathroom with lots of handles to accommodate handicapped individuals. There was a refrigerator and microwave oven in the room. There was a newer widescreen TV, but no HD programming provided, so why bother? The free Wi-Fi worked fine. The bed was comfortable, and the room was spotlessly clean.

The property has indoor and outdoor pools, with several hot tubs, a game room, and a nice playground for children. At check in, we were given a Dell Fun Card, which has lots of discounts for area attractions and restaurants.

The Black Hawk is in a residential area away from the strip and downtown. The location is quiet, but you will have to drive to all attractions and restaurants. The owners are attentive and helpful, and live onsite. To sum up, the Black Hawk is a well run, clean older property, and a good value if you are not looking to stay at a waterpark resort.

Room Tip: Check the Black Hawk website for room descriptions and property map, lots of options avialable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to stay at Black Hawk Motel & loved it. It is very clean and clearly well cared for. The whole property is welcoming and we had the best visit. Our room was spotless, the balcony very nice. We would recommend this to anyone going to Wisconsin Dells. There may be larger motels but none will be this clean and wholesome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This was a wonderful place to stay in the Dells. Basic motel without all the water park bells and whistles, but very comfortable and affordable. A couple of blocks from downtown, so away from all the lights and noise. People were friendly, room was spotless and smelled clean (no musty damp smells), beds were extremely comfortable. Had a refrig and MW and extra "bar" sink. Park right in front of the door. Chairs outside of your room to sit and relax. Highly recommend this motel to everyone. When we go back, we'll stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The Black Hawk provided my wife and I a fantastic value for an overnight stay in the dells. We rented a whirlpool room with a queen bed. I chose this motel because of the price and how close it is to the shops. When we checke in, the clerk was extremely friendly and explained where everything was located. After reading some of the other reviews, I expected the room to be extremely dated. Surprisingly, the room did not have that feel at all. The decor was basic, but tasteful. Everything was neat, clean, and organized. I have minor complaints about the room, including the TV, which I found to be small and far away from the bed, and the smallish bathroom.

Neither my wife nor myself used the pools or hottub, but we did go take a look at both. They appeared to be well maintained. The arcade was an amusing throwback to 1980's videogames.

Overall, I found the Black Hawk to provide exeptional value. If you are seeing the Dells on a budget, or if the frills that come with big budget water park resorts aren't that important, the Black Hawk is a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.