We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to spend the day relaxing with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sundara Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sundara Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Sundara Inn and Spa
920 Canyon Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great place to spend the day relaxing with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Spent the day with girlfriends and really enjoyed the experience. The outside pool was the best. Great Sangrias! Even though the services are a bit pricey, you can spend the whole day here relaxing and enjoying their indoor therapeutic and outdoor pools. This made the price worthwhile. There was a mixup with my pedicure. The technician had to leave unexpectedly but the manager was apologetic and sent me a coupon for any service at my next visit. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaraSpa920, Guest Relations Manager at Sundara Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Glad to know you see the value in a stay or visit including unlimited access to the entire spa facility. We feel that's something that sets Sundara apart from other resort spas and day spas. We apologize for the interruption in your service but we do look forward to having you back. Stay energized!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    79
    36
    32
    21
See reviews for
19
140
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is the perfect place to spend with the one you love! My husband and I have been here many times and will be back again. The rooms are wonderful and very relaxing! The bed is amazing and so very comfy! We have stayed in several different suites and our favorite is the Plush Suite. The only thing we didn't like is too many people stay around and use the hot tub and relaxation lounge for hours after their treatment so that does not leave much room for people just getting there. That is why we enjoy the plush suite with the whirlpool. There is however plenty of room outside and very cozy on a cool summer night. Even better on a cold snowy winter night! You can order food, wine, beer while in the lounge area or they have a bar outside. It was nice to sit in front of the fire out by the pool with a glass of wine waiting for our massage. Very romantic place for two people in love!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaraSpa920, Guest Relations Manager at Sundara Inn and Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We might be biased but we do agree with you on more than one account. So delighted to know you enjoyed your visit. We'll be certain to share your specific comments with our staff - they'll be thrilled to here it. Come again soon and stay energized! PS - we did take note of your experience around the bath ritual and relaxation lounge and are looking into solutions on that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have stayed here many times since they opened. I still love it here. Updated pool chairs, fence, hammocks walking path. Last visit the hotel was starting to show some wear, I was so happy to see improvements in property. Check in great and very accommodating staff. Pool and hot tub outside so wonderful, made better by the outdoor bar, thanks to Brittany for the fun service. Rooms quiet and peaceful. One jet in tower shower did not work....I would like to say breakfast was great with bacon for hubby and yogurt and fruit for me. Lounge by the pool for a while before checkout. I did not have a massage or facial this trip but highly recommend the spa services.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaraSpa920, Guest Relations Manager at Sundara Inn and Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
So delighted you enjoyed some of the new amenities we introduced this summer, and also that you noticed some of the improvements around the property. We still have a list that we are working on, but new carpet, paint, and pool furniture sure brighten things up. So glad to know you enjoyed the breakfast too. We've passed along a work order for the shower in your suite - thanks for letting us know about that. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Stay energized!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

You would think that a tiny little spa located in the waterpark capital of the world wouldnt have good food. On the contrary... My friend and I had a chance to stop up for the day recently after the kids were out of school. We sat by the pool and were attended to by the staff at the cabana, they were all younger college age kids which I assume were working here for the summer. They were all very courteous and were very informative about what to do in the dells.

We ordered a few appetizers and I must say "they were fantastic" We ordered the scallop ceviche, it was out of this world, the chorizo quesadilla was a little too spicy for my taste, but still very good. We later added on a chesse plate that was made up of Wisconsin Cheeses and we split a mint cheesecake with watermelon salsa, strange but oh so delicious. I have eaten in alot of Madison's restaurants and their chef has got it going on...

Overall our experience at Sundara was fantastic, the services were awesome and relaxing as well as rejuvinating after a long school year.

Green Features: We thought it was awesome that they have planted a garden right next to the front door, you have to walk past it to get into the building.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaraSpa920, Guest Relations Manager at Sundara Inn and Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Our culinary team has been working diligently on our menu and the service levels at the pool, so we are truly delighted to know that you had a great experience and enjoyed the food. I'll be sure to share this with the Chef and his team. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day 4 night stay at Sundara and am counting down the days until I can return! Every aspect of our stay was exceptional! Check in was a breeze and very welcoming even though we arrived an hour early.Our suite was ready so we headed up to the suite to head right down to the pool. Our suite was immaculate as always.

The pool area is still my favorite spot to relax when on vacation. It is very well maintained and so picturesque. Nothing beats hanging on the edge of the pool overlooking the pines and listening to the water flow over the edge. The resort is surrounded by pines and sitting in the pool you feel you"re in your little private wooded retreat.

We had drinks and dined at the cabana by the pool each day. The cabana staff was always professional and made us feel welcomed. Each member of the Sundara staff that we encountered at the cabana was great! The food was very good as always. The turkey burger and steak sandwich are phenomenal!

The free town car service was always available and handy when we needed it to be.

Management and staff are all friendly and warm. Any issues that arise are taken care of immediately.


The grounds are so beautiful and well maintained. There's something magical about turning onto the drive and heading up the hill to Sundara. All worries fade and relaxation begins, do yourself a favor and experience it yourself!

My wife and I have been going for 8 years and look forward to our getaways at Sundara every year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaraSpa920, Guest Relations Manager at Sundara Inn and Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We can't thank you enough for returning to Sundara each year - your loyalty means so much. And we are so very grateful to you for sharing your experience with others too! Stay energized and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I just celebrated our anniversary at Sundara. What a wonderful place. A secluded romantic getaway! It was like being transported. We enjoyed a rest that we didn't even realize that we needed. We only stayed one night, but will definitely be back only a longer visit next time, with spa services. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaraSpa920, Guest Relations Manager at Sundara Inn and Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
You are so kind and we are so delighted you enjoyed your anniversary getaway. Our goal is to tranport guests - mind, body and spirit - beginning with the long winding driveway leading to the entrance. It's really special to read this kind of comment. We'll be sure to share it with our staff - they'll be thrilled! Stay energized!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I went for our anniversary after the recommendation of a couple friends. We weren't sure what to expect and we completely enjoyed ourselves, soaking up as much R&R as humanly possible! We were surprised that people not staying overnight could also use 100% of the facilities (those who had booked appointments-only for the spa). The resort was beautiful, but the fountain wasn't working as you drive-up (also the one that the infinity edge of the pool overlooks). The staff was incredibly kind, knowledgeable, and professional. We did a package and loved every piece it included (sparkling wine, assortment of appetizers that were delicious, and a slice of the flourless chocolate cake). We also did a massage the second day and both felt it was a bit of over-kill (for us at least). I do think that one (1) overnight is plenty, so we'll do that next time, rather than staying two (2), as you can arrive as early (and leave as late) as you'd like to utilize the spa ritual (AMAZING!) and pool area. Upon checking out we were disappointed to see a $0.75 fee for making a call to order pizza, a recommendation from the front desk due to the kitchen already being closed (10PM) and a $15.00/day resort fee, which we were never told about. We've done a lot of massages and the therapists at Sundara were by and large the most professional and experienced that we've encountered. They even spun-dry and heated our wet bathing suits, so they were dry and toasty when we put them back on post-massage!

Room Tip: We had a premier room (the regular room) and it was sufficient for the two (2) of us. We even got t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaraSpa920, Guest Relations Manager at Sundara Inn and Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
A getaway to Sundara does have so much to offer. Our goal is to be as thorough as possible when making reservations. We believe it's those small details that set us apart from other destinations. Our staff is trained to communicate clearly regarding our policies and fees at the time of reservation, including; $15 nightly resort fee, taxes and our gratuity policy. It appears we may have missed a couple points in this case, and for that we are truly sorry. We also apologize that the phone call fee was a surprise, there is a card next to the phone indicating the fee schedule. Our maintenance staff is double checking that those are in all of the suites. We want you to know that we've added your concerns to our list of items to re-visit during our staff meetings and new hire training. We do our absolute best to review every detail of every reservation and communicate our policies and fees clearly to avoid any surprises like these. Regarding use of the facility, detailed information is included on our website - all guests have unlimited access to the entire facility. We feel this is something that creates value in an experience at Sundara as opposed to visiting a day spa or hotel spa. A resort fee allows us to provide the following amenities at no additional charge or implementing a facility use fee; wireless internet access throughout the entire resort, ample-free parking, daily newspaper delivery, nightly turndown service, in-suite coffee and tea, a spa breakfast buffet, chauffeur service, and unlimited use of the entire facility including Purifying Bath Ritual. We're so sorry some of these things took you by surprise. We are glad, however, to hear that overall you had an enjoyable anniversary stay. We do look forward to celebrating with you again next year, or when your travel plans bring you back to the area. Stay energized.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundara Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundara Inn and Spa

Address: 920 Canyon Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#24 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 26-acre parcel is lush with sky-high pine trees and natural Wisconsin stone outcroppings. Respect for the natural resources is at the soul of Sundara's green practices. Our heated outdoor infinity edge pool, sculpted fireplace, waterfalls and curving deck connect seamlessly with the tranquil environment. The main building is representative of some of the most striking Organic-style architecture in the Midwest. Inside, the principles of Feng Shui contribute to a soothing environment. Our spa treatments incorporate the finest organic products from around the world. The Sundara Spa signature collection even draws ingredients indigenous to the area for an authentic experience. Our spa cuisine features the fruits of labor of fresh, local, seasonal ingredients. Sundara is drawn from the Sanskrit word for "beautiful." We interpret that as beauty flowing from wellness. Our carefully selected and highly trained service providers are healers at heart and passionate about their work, putting customer satisfaction at the center of all they do. Whether you choose to stay in one of our 26 elegant suites, or perhaps just linger for the day, we hope it will be a transforming experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Sundara Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundara Spa Wisconsin Dells
Sundara Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundara Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.