We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day gift” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundara Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sundara Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Sundara Inn and Spa
920 Canyon Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
“Mother's Day gift”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our first time visiting Sundara. My wife brought me to Sundara for Mother's Day for a little R&R time. We stayed two nights in the Luxury Suite and had a blast ;-} We had food and drinks at the pool, and another highlight of our trip was doing the bath ritual. We are planning on visiting Sundara again next Mother's Day and bring my mother-in-law and her sister! Thanks T

Room Tip: We had the Luxury Suite. Great view of the pool and very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaraSpa920, Guest Relations Manager at Sundara Inn and Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
So happy to hear your Mother's Day getaway was relaxing. Hope to see you next year...or sooner perhaps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    79
    36
    32
    21
See reviews for
19
140
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I went with 5 girlfriends for a 2 night stay and we stayed in a private villa. We had some problems with the price being changed from when it was booked 6 months ago to when we got there and that is the reason for 4 stars rather than 5. I really had to argue with the manager to get the price adjusted to what I was originally quoted. I also got charged extra for a service ($12 more than the 20% gratuit) but they fixed it once I noticed it. Other then that the stay was awesome. The services we all received were good to great (depending on which one of my friends you would ask) and the villa was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaraSpa920, Guest Relations Manager at Sundara Inn and Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent experience. We are so very sorry for the billing trouble you experienced but delighted to hear it was worked out, we do apologize for the trouble. We're revisiting our protocols to make sure everything is in order and that errors like this don't happen. Glad to hear the rest of your stay was enjoyable. We do hope you'll think of Sundara again when you're travel plans bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first trip to Sundara. We had considered it before, but chose Kohler instead based on a friends recommendation. Sundara beats Kohler in many areas but not all. We really enjoyed the room at Sundara.

We stayed in the mid level room on the third floor. The major thing that bothered me that we have come across before in other top resorts is no door for the toilet. We are not very fond of this trend and not sure why it is done. The bathroom is incredibly spacious and my wife loved the separate sit down vanity area. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet, so we both slept very well.

The free breakfast is basically a high quality continental breakfast. There were a couple hot dishes and then the typical fruit, yogurt, cereal, etc. The only real difference was the quality and healthiness of the food.

The spa area and experience is amazing. All the areas are coed except the locker rooms. The "ritual" was fun and we did it at least once every day we were there. The infinity pool was cool and looked like you could swim into the woods. I would definitely agree with some of the reviewers who complained about the noise. The indoor hot tub and outdoor pool and hot tub can get loud. As far as I could tell they don't enforce the quiet in any way. Other times the areas were empty and it was like having your own private sanctuary. It just depended who and how many people were in each area. My only other complaint is the shower in the locker room. There are all these amazing water features in the spa area and in the rooms and then it is like they ran out of money and just through the cheapest shower they could in the locker room. It really looks out of place and is like a sore thumb in an otherwise amazing place.

Room Tip: The whole area is quiet, so pick a room class based on what amenities you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaraSpa920, Guest Relations Manager at Sundara Inn and Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We’re always pleased when guests provide specific feedback as you did. It helps us improve. We continue to put emphasis on maintaining a “tranquil” environment, with our conversation-free Tranquility Garden patio and soon-to-debut woodland Meditation Trail both perfect examples. I have already shared your comments regarding noise with our spa staff, as our “peace and quiet” philosophy is so very important for the enjoyment of all guests. And the showers in the men’s locker room have been added to our facility list to review. Glad to know you enjoyed many aspects of your visit. Hope your journeys will bring you back to Sundara soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights here over new year's eve. We thoroughly enjoyed our peace, tranquil and solitude. We shared a couples massage. My husband went for full body and I chose the head/factial. It was relaxing laying together in a private room with a fireplace. Our food was healthy and super fresh. We ventured out to the outdoor hot tub in the freezing cold. It was a special moment to remember with the dark crisp air and steam rising from the hot tub. A filted light in the sky. Very pleasurable. We love the sand scrub, the smell is fabulous. Always take some home with us just to keep the memories alive. We return often to the spa. Highly recommend it. And while there, try Fields for a nice dinner.

Room Tip: We loved the rooms that face the woods. Wildlife to watch out there in the snow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaraSpa920, Guest Relations Manager at Sundara Inn and Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
So delighted you enjoyed your New Years getaway - it sounds like it provided a nice start to the new year. We love the descriptive words you used in your review; tranquil, peace, relaxing, healthy and super fresh, dark crisp air, pleasurable - you could write advertisements for us, and that's the experience we wish each and every guest to experience! Glad also, to hear you did venture out to the outdoor hot tub in the cold - it's truly one of our favorite winter Sundara experiences. We too, love our woodland view suites and were glad to learn you recommend them - they do offer wonderful views of the woods and wildlife. Looking forward to making more memories with you, come back and see us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Been going for years, but our past visit was disappointing. They no longer seem to focus on the quiet atmosphere. Even in the relaxation/reading room people were laughing loudly. At one point the noise level in the indoor hot tub was so loud we almost left. The tranquility garden area is a great idea, but again the noise just traveled over since people were talking so loudly. My biggest disappointment was when I filled out the survey asking for feeback, we never got a response. Apparently they only want the glowing reviews and ignore the rest. As I said we have been there frequently but something seems to have changed in their philosophy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaraSpa920, Guest Relations Manager at Sundara Inn and Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
First, allow me to sincerely apologize that you did not receive follow-up after submitting a guest survey. We do take all comments very seriously - good and bad - and view challenges as opportunities to improve our overall experience. If you would still like someone to follow-up with you please contact me offline at cscheel@sundaraspa.com.

In celebrating our 10 year anniversary, things have absolutely changed. Many positive changes have been implemented over the years to improve the overall experience, which is always our main focus. It sounds like we may have missed the mark during your visit. Our guest services staff has been trained to monitor the quiet spa spaces more frequently reinforcing peace and quiet - at times they do get resistant guests. The Tranquility Garden, an outdoor space adjacent to the pool open during warmer months, offers additional seating, and as importantly, the space was designed for peace and quiet and a place for quiet meditation and reflection. Guests visit Sundara for many different reasons - some celebrating special occasions - we do our best to monitor all spaces respectfully in order for everyone to have an enjoyable experience.

Our philosophy remains the same as it always has; to provide a world class spa experience in the Midwest. Our mission is wellness in all we do; our therapists are healers at heart. We offer organic cuisine, organic spa and salon services, and a silent sports throughout our 26-acre campus. We do hope you'll give us an opportunity to review the changes we've implemented recently when your travel plans bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I love Sundara! I have been there several times, but every singld one has been special! When I visited this year I noticed some new services and new products....I was very pleased with both! I highly recommend "Ocean Essence"-it was incredibly relaxing, and my therapist ( Velina) was just lovely.....
Thank you, Sundara!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaraSpa920, Manager at Sundara Inn and Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind words and it means the world to us. We'll be sure to share your comments with our staff as well, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

After caring for my Mom through her death, I let Sundara care for me and care they did. .The spa services were wonderful and there can't be anything better than the outdoor hot tub in the snow. The food was excellent and I stood in my window the first night and watched a deer just at the edge of the woods. It was so peaceful and relaxing. As a solo woman, I felt very comfortable and the quiet zones here are appreciated. You can truly relax with no small talk obligations. Yoga, a fire, relaxing bath rituals, feather beds, massages, great food, a good book & soothing music ..........I don't know if I can wait until October when I'm scheduled again.

Room Tip: No tips really. My window looked out on the woods edge, but there can't be a bad view. Thermost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundaraSpa920, Manager at Sundara Inn and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I am so moved by your experience, and honored you chose Sundara to care for you during your time of loss. I sincerely hope your stay provided a bit of peace and calm to your healing heart. Be well and be good to yourself. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you for sharing your story!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundara Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundara Inn and Spa

Address: 920 Canyon Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#24 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 26-acre parcel is lush with sky-high pine trees and natural Wisconsin stone outcroppings. Respect for the natural resources is at the soul of Sundara's green practices. Our heated outdoor infinity edge pool, sculpted fireplace, waterfalls and curving deck connect seamlessly with the tranquil environment. The main building is representative of some of the most striking Organic-style architecture in the Midwest. Inside, the principles of Feng Shui contribute to a soothing environment. Our spa treatments incorporate the finest organic products from around the world. The Sundara Spa signature collection even draws ingredients indigenous to the area for an authentic experience. Our spa cuisine features the fruits of labor of fresh, local, seasonal ingredients. Sundara is drawn from the Sanskrit word for "beautiful." We interpret that as beauty flowing from wellness. Our carefully selected and highly trained service providers are healers at heart and passionate about their work, putting customer satisfaction at the center of all they do. Whether you choose to stay in one of our 26 elegant suites, or perhaps just linger for the day, we hope it will be a transforming experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Sundara Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundara Spa Wisconsin Dells
Sundara Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundara Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.