We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not optimal.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Motel & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingo Motel & Suites
Save
You added Flamingo Motel & Suites to your Saves list
1220 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Mentor, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not optimal.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

My husband, and two of our friends stayed at the Flamingo for one night during our trip to the Wisconsin Dells. We had spent all day at a nearby attraction, went to dinner and out for the evening. Upon returning to the room around 11pm, we settled in for the night, and the problems began. There were LIVE BUGS in our beds (both of them). When we called the front desk to complain, we quickly realized that the front office closes for the night before 11. Nobody was able to help us. Outside of the bed situation, the motel itself is badly outdated, and in need of some fixing up. We got a great deal on this room and waterslide passes, otherwise it would have been a total loss. I would recommend finding somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    35
    25
    136
See reviews for
135
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014 via mobile

Me and my family stayed at The Octagon House (it was 13 of us). It was amazing, the rooms were clean, the lady at the front desk was nice. The location was perfect, not to far from local restaurants and about a 5-10 min drive to the downtown strip. By it being alot of us, we ran out of towels very quickly and the staff had no problem replacing them. The plus to everything was the water park passes to Noahs Ark for each day we stayed there. Overall it was a good visit and im pretty sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

My dad and I stayed at this hotel after the Car show. As we went to check in, we had no idea what the lady daid, because she didn't speak english. When we finally figured out where the room was, we entered and it smelled like urine. It was disgusting. Them the people outside were very sketchy. It made me afraid for my safety. Don't stay here!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCrosse, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

It was old and needed a lot of work. There was mold on the shower curtain, the handles on the sink and toilet were loose, the screen door on the sliding door couldn't be locked so we couldn't open it for the night. The air conditioner was disgusting, there were water marks and dust in the room, and just overall not a good experience. The only saving grace was the sheets were clean otherwise we would not have stayed.

Room Tip: Complain at the front desk if you get a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Good location rooms are a dated but clean and spacious. We stayed here to take advantage of the free Noah's Ark passes. Motel is located within walking distance to Noah's Ark. Will definitely return next summer.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

My family and I stayed in one of the rooms that had a second room attached to the back. This was so nice considering our two younger kids stayed in that room. The price was a steal for what we got. If your used to upper scale hotels, then you won't like this place. But if your used to the motel atmosphere that the Dells is was famous for 20 years ago, then this place is the place to go.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

First off it smelled like mildew. The carpet was so dirty that my socks and feet were black after being there for less than an hour. When I opened the door the hinges came completely out of the wall. It took 1 1/2 hours to get a maintenance guy to fix it and all he did was put the same inch screws back in. The indoor pool had a foul smell, the bathrooms inside we disgusting with feces smeared on the wall and no toilet paper.Used to go here a lot when I was younger but it has changed for the worse over the last 10 years. Not worth the money. Will never stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Motel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel & Suites

Address: 1220 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 158
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Flamingo Motel Wisconsin Dells
Wisconsin Dells Flamingo Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Motel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.