We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Camping Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dell Boo Campground

Dell Boo Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dell Boo Campground
Save
You added Dell Boo Campground to your Saves list
E10562 Shady Lane Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Watertown, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“1st Camping Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our first foray into the "wilderness" with two young children couldn't have been better, despite the rainy weather. The site was relatively large - fit our 16' tent, 9' trailer and Explorer with room to move about. A little dismayed at all the sand, but that's what brooms are for! HUGE playground area with volleyball, badmitton, horseshoes, shuffle board, heated pool, bike rental, arcade, concession stand and sandpit with a play fort. The bathrooms almost sparkle and the showers are roomy. Security checks every site around 11pm (park is locked at 10pm). Very kid friendly and very close to the Dells and other attractions nearby.

Room Tip: Plan to bring a push-broom to clean off the site of pinecones. Not a place to stay if you're go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
11
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

A bunch of us got together for a group weekend and "hung" out at the Dell Boo Campground. We loved to see that the owners continue to keep the place in top notch condition. Especially beautiful are the continued addition of lovely wildflowers on all the large sites. It is a beautiful walk through the grounds. The funniest part was my husband, who couldn't get over the bathrooms. He told me, "I dropped a wrapper in there, and felt guilty the place was so clean...! It's just nice to be off the overcommercialized path and feel like we are in Devil's Lake without all the bugs..." Delightful- we simply can't find a better place to stay and the prices are less than Yogi Bear's - which is right on the parking lot or the toll way...we will be back again..and again...we only wish we could get in all year! :) Thank You.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We camped at Dell Boo on Memorial Day weekend. They had a lot for our children, crafts, games, bingo and other games for the whole family. They have a quiet hour at 11:00pm and it was quiet. The whole park was VERY clean the bathrooms are the cleanest I have seen in a privite park. It is truly a family campground. When going to the Dells its the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

When my family attempted to cancel our reservation 7 days in advance, as the website says (it's ambiguous, so we operated under the assumption that we could cancel 7 days in advance), the man on the phone was incredibly rude to me and used vulgarities. For claiming to be a Christian-run campground, I cannot believe that the man on the phone would be speak to me like that. For $150 a night, one should not have to bring all amenities, including bedding! They don't even provide kitchen supplies, like pots and pans, nor is there even a television. I would NEVER recommend this company to anyone! Do NOT stay here!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Our Christian Group meets once a year to commune with nature and share our families - eat and just hang out. We need a place that values families and old fashioned values that keep things in order- with large sites that allow for RV's - so we are not situated right on top of the next site. This is a wonderful place to call home for however long our group members can stay. We like that there are games for adults and kids, crafts and chapel on Sunday. How nice to see that the things that matter in old fashioned America are still alive and well at Dell Boo.

P.S. You will never find a cleaner bathroom in ANY campground. I Guarantee! Don't miss this respite from the chaos of Yogi and the rest of the "chains" that advertise like crazy. (Overkill!)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

If you're looking to get verbally harassed and screamed at, come to Dell Boo Family Campground. My family was looking for a campsite to stay at around the area and stopped by here. As soon as we pulled in and drove around to look at the condition of the campsite, a man who I'm assuming was the owner screamed at us and CHASED US DOWN, yelled at my father and got enraged because we drove around the campsite. Now if he was worried about security purposes, I understand. But it was 12 in the afternoon and he could have been a lot nicer about it. I am disgusted and appalled that the owner would speak to potential renters like that. If that is any clue as to how he runs his business, that is PATHETIC. His extremely poor attitude was all it took for us to look someplace else. We want NOTHING to do with a place like this. This man was nothing less than psycho. I thought his head might spin around.
The campsite itself was basically nestled in pine trees. There is no grass or lush green lands, basically just a pile of pine needles. The campsite quality wasn't the greatest, and the owner needs a lesson on how to treat renters and human beings in general. If this is how we were treated for just stopping by, I don't want to know what would happen if we actually did something wrong!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, MO
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

We and 3 other campers camped at this campground during the week which included July 4, 2008. We tend to camp in state parks and normally avoid private campgrounds due to our less than pleasant experiences with them, but both state parks around the Dells were booked solid several months ahead of time. After driving though both state parks during our visit, I am glad we chose this campground instead. Apparently, Wisconsin state parks are not as well kept as the Missouri state parks we are used to. Dell Boo is far enough away from the state highway that the road noise is very limited. The campground is located off of a low-traffic county paved road which is nice for bicycle riding or walking on. Even at that, the campsites are located a long way from the road. The campground is pretty well sarrounded by wooded land. It appears to border Mirror Lake State Park on the map, but we could not locate any adjoining trails. The best sites are in a pine thicket that are all East of the office, but the rest are ok too. The seasonal campers in the park are all well kept and there seemed to be no "permanent" residences there, just some weekend folks. The staff was very courteous an helpful, and had given a good description of the sites over the phone. The shower houses were some of the best and cleanest I have seen. There was lots of room, and hot water was unlimited. They have quiet time rules and do not allow motorcycles, but they were not overzealoused with them. They just maintained a family atmosphere. There were no bothersome dusk-to-dawn lights in the camping area like you sometimes find in private campgrounds. It was pretty well dark at night in the camping area. They have no problem with campers bringing in wood, as long as it is from the local area. The campground sells wood, but it was expensive. We purchased some wood from someone down the road for a reasonable price. The only cons about the park were that the playground had outdated equipment, and the pool was cold. Although it was large and clean, I'd say the temperature of the water was in the mid 70's. It appeared to have a heater, but I don't believe they had it turned on. We used it anyway and did not complain.

Being from out of state and planning to come back to the area, we drove around to the state parks and some other private parks. We could not find a better place to camp in the area. Beware of some of the other private parks. Their pictures online do not paint a realistic picture.

We plan on returning in the next couple of years and plan on camping here again.

  • Liked — Secluded
  • Disliked — cold pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dell Boo Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dell Boo Campground

Address: E10562 Shady Lane Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 151

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dell Boo Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.