We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Twi-Lite Motel

Save Saved
You added Twi-Lite Motel to your Saves list
Twi-Lite Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Twi-Lite Motel
111 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy. S., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
WI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Ok place for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed here to save money so we could just do some attractions--didn't want a water park this year... anyway, we had printed up a coupon from the internet stay 2 nights get the 3rd for half off---well, the owner wouldn't take it--said that it was supposed to be 3 nights 4th for half off and that they messed up on the internet... didn't believe her but oh well... the pool was fun for the kids and we really only needed it to sleep... it was clean but the one room had a weird smell. We had adjoining rooms---the bathrooms were clean just showers no bath... the airconditioning units had tape on them and the fridges in both rooms worked but not real well.. Overall it did what we needed and that was just a place to sleep but probably wouldn't stay here again.. We saw a bunch of other motels and hotels that looked better...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The motel is old and pretty run down. It is in major need of updating and the rooms have a funny smell. The price is pretty cheap and discounted attraction tickets are available which is the only good thing about the motel. My family and I stayed 2 nights and both nights we were kept awake until all hours of the morning with loud banging, running, and pounding above our room. The first night we mentioned the noise problem to the owner and she said she would take care of the problem. The second night was worse. I guess what we paid to stay for 2 nights was not important enough to recify the problem with the people above us since they were paying to live there!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My friends and I just recently stayed at Twi-Lite Motel and we loved it. Yeah it's not as fancy as the other hotels around the Dells, but Twi-Lite is super cheap and you get great discounts on water park tickets. We got discounted tickets for at Noah's Ark and she also has discounted tickets for Mt. Olympus too. And for us going to a water park all day, it didn't really matter if the room was fancy or not. We are definitely coming back here next year for our next Noah's Ark trip!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

Hello, I have stayed here at this motel for 2 -3 days. Once in 2007 and now in 2009. I always enjoyed the stay here. It is really inexpensive and near the most attractions. They also gave 2 free Mt olympus passes for 2 days which we enjoyed as well. The lady manager was very friendly and very attentive. People who come to stay here are peaceful. It is also near highway so not much driving to do.

The rooms were clean and room service was provided each day. This year the rates of the rooms were way higher at this place like $60/day while we had stayed here at $40 /day in may 2007. Anyways wwe got free passes this year.

Parking is right infront of your room so no issues. some black leaves from trees tend to fall on your car bumper every night which is strange.. :( you will need to clean it ;)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
176 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

Wow, the reviews here are nothing what we experienced. We LOVE old motels across the country, but this place is nasty. Upon check-in, we had a reservation, we were given a key to an upstairs room verlooking the parking lot - OK no problem... except after we had to park in the rear of the motel and walk around then past some scary looking men and women (residents of some of the rooms) hanging out BBQing outside their doors - you could tell they were "living" there and they just stared at us as we went up the stairs... not to mention the loud music playing from a boombox on the patio, we got to the room... went in and walked out - filthy, disgusting and just plain not taken care of. We went immediatley back to the office, expressed our concerns of all of the above and the owner refused to give us our 130.00 some dollars back and said that it was reservation cancellation policy to cancel three days before... EVEN though we were completely unsatisfied and never touched the room. She was VERY rude and the owner! We left unhappy, out the money, but felt that we were safer and healthier away from this place. and We have stayed and hundreds of motels across the country (mom and pops) and this is one of the worst! NEVER AGAIN - there are literally tons of beautiful mom-and-pop motels in the Dells - try somewhere else!!! BEWARE!!!!!!

  • Liked — NOTHING!
  • Disliked — EVERTHING!
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherneyben
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

We stayed four week nights during the peak season and it only cost $193. The staff was friendly and rooms were clean. The building decor is out of date, but if your someone looking for a cheap, safe place to stay while enjoying all the dells has to offer this is it. I don't know why people waste money on an expensive room when so little time will be spent in it. This place is was just fine as far as I'm concerned.

  • Liked — The service and price.
  • Disliked — They decor is out dated, but thts no biggy.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2006

My partner and I planned a three-night stay in the Dells (which we had been to many times before) and wanted a cheaper hotel as we had a limited budget for this trip up. Of several motels that my partner looked at as really cheap, she decided on the Twi-Lite as our destination of choice. All in all, for the amount we paid per night, I can't complain too much. I didn't expect a lot and my expectations were (for the most part) met.

The room was clean throughout our stay and, although we thought it might be too small upon first glance, the room size didn't bother us much since we only spent time in the room to sleep anyway. There was a functional fridge and microwave and a TV with a rather robust channel lineup. Lighting in the room was good and the only real complaint I had with the room was the bathroom. There was very little shelf space to put toiletries in the bathroom and the sink was all-or-nothing on the strength of the water flow. Additionally, and this was one thing that really hurt my opinion of the Twi-Lite, was that part-way through our stay, we ran out of toilet paper and there were no spares in the motel room at all! I had to go to the office in the early morning and get a fresh roll. I think that if the staff could replace the bedsheets and towels in the bathroom, they could have checked if we had enough toilet paper as well. Additionally, and this is a more minor point, there was no shampoo supplied by the motel either, but they did put out two little soaps for our use.

The location is rather nice, right on Parkway across from the Moosejaw Pizza and Brewing Co. It is the Dells, and it is right on Parkway, so if you want a quiet, out-of-the-way stay, this may not be right for you. However, my partner and I love the sounds of traffic going by and had no problem sleeping at all.

Additionally, when we stayed we received a free Wisconsin Dells Fun Card (worth $10!) that we got a lot of use out of and saved a fair bit of money with the buy-one-get-one-free offers on it. There were many brochures and coupons inside the office for attractions and restaurants as well.

It wouldn't be my first choice for a place to stay in the Dells, but if I were on a tight budget I wouldn't be uncomfortable choosing or recommending the Twi-Lite in the future.

  • Liked — Very cheap motel
  • Disliked — Noticable lack of toilet paper
  • Tips/Secrets — Pretty good motel for the price, but bring a spare roll of TP.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twi-Lite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twi-Lite Motel

Address: 111 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy. S., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Twi-Lite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twi-Lite Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Twi Lite Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twi-Lite Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.