We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect. Overall Great Stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Baker's Sunset Bay Resort to your Saves list
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   921 Canyon Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Kalahari Theme Park
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Jordan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect. Overall Great Stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have stayed here several times in the past, but this was our first stay in 3 years. Customer Service is still top notch, friendly & helpful front desk. I love the addition of the security on foot at night--on that note this is one my only 'complaints' there are simply too many unattended, running, loud children. Is this their fault, of course not. But as a mother of two, I was appalled that sand throwing, (malicious not playful) shoving people into pools, running on slick tile was allowed. The presence of foot patrol did seem to taper this behavior.
The rooms are spacious, clean, and the beds are very comfortable. The rate was excellent, especially for including the theme park tickets to Kalahari. They are a bit outdated, but I will take that any day over a rate increase.
I like the new saline pool. That is a nice change. As usual the beach was clean, loaded with fun & free activities and the views of Lake Delton at Sunset are phenomenal.
Overall the stay was great. The beach felt a bit crowded/unpleasant, but this was due to a very small number of rude guests--not the resort itself. I'm not sure what can remedy that.
Thank you for the wonderful memories and quiet relaxing stay!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    131
    49
    24
    20
See reviews for
272
84
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Booked our weekend here after pricing other locations online. Upon arrival we were very pleased with the location and the property's appearance. Front desk staff was awesome. Very friendly and helpful. We had a mini suite overlooking Lake Del ton and were treated to several beautiful sunsets. Both indoor and outdoor pools were a nice way to relax. The nightly bonfire and weekend visit by a local musician was a wonderful touch. The only downside to the trip, as minor as it was, the WiFi did not work. All in all we had a wonderful stay while we celebrated our one year wedding anniversary and are already discussing when we will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We started on a not-so-good note with a clogged sink and electrical outlets that didn't work. The maintenance guy came up and was unable to unclog the sink without taking it apart. The front desk graciously offered us another room, which happened to be an upgrade. The facility is older but clean, maintained fairly well. Indoor and outdoor pools, dry sauna, large whirlpool. Free use of row boats and kayaks (including life jackets). Fire pit near lake. Nice looking beach. Very nice amount of grills and picnic tables. Poolside tables/chairs and lounge chairs looked new. We saw staff walking around regularly checking on things, including watering plants, checking that there was enough firewood, cleaning out grills, straightening tables and doing general maintenance. There is a snack bar/game room on site as well as a conference room and laundry facilities. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful when approached with concerns or questions. There is also a dock area if you bring a boat or jet ski (as some guests did). Although this is off the beaten path, the location is very convenient for all the Dells area attractions. We spent 8 days here and would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed on a Thursday night and we had the beach to ourselves. Enjoyed free kayaking as part of the reservation. Balcony room was right on the beach so was very peaceful. Indoor pool and hot tub were clean and the sauna was great. The only downside was the air condition which was located right next to one of the beds and the air flow was out to the side inside of up so you had to sleep facing one way.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach side balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband and I spent this past weekend at Bakers Sunset Bay We wanted to stay on the lake but more important, we could bring our dog. We have been coming to the Dells area for over 30 years and have stayed at many of the motels and large waterpark hotels/condos. Over the course of the 30 years, when we have brought our dogs, all the dog friendly locations were absolute dumps!! We were a little apprehensive as to what we would find at Baker's. We were delighted to find that our room was very clean and up to date. Our room was facing the lake, with our own private picnic table and grill. I loved just sitting with my dog at my feet at our picnic table reading my book facing the lake. Perfect. Mackenzie, our housekeeper, was very friendly and stopped by to say hello and pet the dog. We will be back, with our dog Boomer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Let me just say this place is great if your looking to get away from it all. My wife and I went just before the start of the regular season and loved it. The staff is very friendly. Its very peaceful and quiet, because its nestled off the beaten path. Its not very far from everything which is kinda of a unique set up and very rare. We also stayed a night at Mt. Olympus and we both said we should have booked another night at Bakers Sunset Bay.
Of course there are a couple of things that are a little bad.
1. The passes for the Kalahari are only good for one day not your entire stay.
2. The bed must have been an extra-firm model (my wife and I sleep on a pillow top).
3. The Jacuzzi in the room was very loud while it drained.
4. If you smoke you cant walk out on to your patio you or walk from your patio to the parking lot. You have to walk all the way around. A minor inconvenience.
That is it. My wife and I stayed here for the ultimate romance package, which meant we were in the Jacuzzi suite.
All in all the next time we visit the Dells we will definitely return to Bakers Sunset Bay Resort!!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Was looking for a last minute getaway for our one year anniversary. For the two night stay and gift cards, etc for the romantic package was well worth it. We had a Jacuzzi, dined on awesome Italian food with the gift card. Had dinner with another gift card at Marleys. Laughed at drunk people in the club. Went to Kalahari waterpark which was also included and saw a show at the theater. It was a great romantic weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#6 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#29 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#17 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#23 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
2.5 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#56 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
1.7 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#21 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baker's Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Address: 921 Canyon Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#15 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baker's Sunset Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lakeside resort in Wisconsin Dells. Open year round. Peaceful and relaxing, and just minutes from all the Dells' activities. Family owned and operated, large sandy beach, free Kayaks and rowboats, nightly bonfires with entertainment, indoor SALINE pool with water slides, outdoor pool and activity pool. Brand new Canyon Condo's sleep up to 12 people with full kitchen, fireplace and 3 bedroom and 3 bath! Many packages to choose from. Downhill ski package, Romance package, Waterpark packages are just a few. You'll enjoy your stay at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Baker's Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker`s Sunset Bay Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Bakers Sunset Bay Hotel
Hotel Bakers Sunset Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.