We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Baker's Sunset Bay Resort to your Saves list
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   921 Canyon Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Algonquin, Illinois
1 review
“Love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

For the past 7 years my husband and I along with 2 other couples have been staying at the Baker's Sunset Bay Resort we always get the 3 room on the beach with the patio. I'm not going to say what week-end since this week-end is always available for us. All I have to say is its fantastic we enjoy the pool, fire pit and being so close to the water. The rooms are always clean and the help is soooooooooooo friendly. Absolutely no complaints from any of us. We'll keep going the same week-end and staying at the same resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    119
    45
    22
    16
See reviews for
234
75
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Husband and I and 2 dogs found a lakeside retreat in Baker's Sunset Bay Resort. Although it did not offer a breakfast, the Dells is packed with places to eat. Off-season was the perfect time to visit on our way up North. We had a room facing the lake, which allowed dogs. We went kayaking for free, and hung out downtown on the Riverwalk for a day. I saw that they offered Kalahari passes, but never received them on check-in. However, we were too busy outside in the beautiful weather to think about swimming inside anyways. Their pool and hot tub did the trick. We will return again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My family stayed here for a week and really enjoyed ourselves. It was wonderful to be able to bring our family dog with us. The room was clean and comfortable and we really appreciated having the kitchen and the two room suite. There was an excellent selection of cooking utensils and great cabinet space.

We used the kayaks several times. The beach and the lake were wonderful. The design of the resort was very nice with all the outdoor picnic and gathering areas.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just stayed with my family which included a 3 and 5 year old. We liked the quieter location, and that we stayed in a "suite" where the sleeping area was a separate room, so the kids could go to bed and we could stay up longer. The beach was nice and clean, although small, I don't know if there are more boats lining the shore in the summer, that would make it hard to swim I think, but they do have the pool right there overlooking the beach that would be open when warmer.

We were disappointed that the Kalahari tickets were to the theme park, NOT the water park, it was a little misleading with all the notes reminding us to bring our own towels to take, when we didn't even need them, but the kids still had fun.

The rooms were ok, the beds looked like they had been made in a hurry, linens not put on straight and everything kind of lumpy, not a huge deal, but not surprised with what happened mid stay. The problem we had was with how uncomfortable the cleaning staff made us feel when we asked them to come back to change our linens. The kids were sleeping when they came by (around 1) and we thought it'd be ok, so I said it was ok just to bring towels for us later. We later decided we needed new linens and when the came we were made to feel like we were really putting them out, and like it was our fault that we were also left with NO soap. Everything had been take out of the bathroom earlier, and just not replaced. I know it was all just a misunderstanding, but the attitude of the staff was really not good. It's unfortunate that this one incident left such a bad taste with us.

We had planned on coming back in June to stay again if this time went well. We'd like to, but as it is that's up in the air right now.

Front desk people were great! Very friendly, helpful. I know this is family owned, and they seem like "good people", they just might want to reconsider their staff.

Room Tip: Know that if you use the dishes available you'll have to wash them before you go or face an addi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Baker's is a great place this is one of many trips there with a large group. They are always accomidating, They know that we like the firepit and since there was a couple large groups also at the resort during the same time, they made an additional firepit for them to use, freeing up the larger one for our group which was nice. The night that we did not have it the staff was accomidating and opened the party room and lit the outdoor gas fireplace. This is definitly a staple for our trips and we will be back in Febuary and next september..... However the towels are still on the small side.

Room Tip: The Main building allows convient access to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We rented a condo for a family reunion. It was the second time we stayed at the condos. It had a few problems. The dishes were adequate but the pots and pans were limited. No pot holders, or cutting board. However, when asked for they were promptly provided. When the hot oven was opened the fire alarms went off. The windows do not open, nor do the blinds work on the outside doors making the rooms dark and stuffy. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. But the beds were uncomfortable. The staff attentive and friendly. Provided with discounts for local attractions was nice.

Room Tip: Bring your own cutting board and cooking pans
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our second trip this summer. Being able to bring my pet was the first attraction. After arriving we were very pleased with the resort. The rooms were nice and fairly priced. We loved having the little beach area out back with the pool, ping pong tables, volleyballs, bonfire pit and grills. Also if we wanted we could have taken out the paddle bouts and canoe for FREE. It was in a great location but with a nice scenic drive off the main road. Staff was courteous and kind. Already planning our 2014 trip again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baker's Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Address: 921 Canyon Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baker's Sunset Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lakeside resort in Wisconsin Dells. Open year round. Peaceful and relaxing, and just minutes from all the Dells' activities. Family owned and operated, large sandy beach, free Kayaks and rowboats, nightly bonfires with entertainment, indoor SALINE pool with water slides, outdoor pool and activity pool. Brand new Canyon Condo's sleep up to 12 people with full kitchen, fireplace and 3 bedroom and 3 bath! Many packages to choose from. Downhill ski package, Romance package, Waterpark packages are just a few. You'll enjoy your stay at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baker's Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker`s Sunset Bay Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Bakers Sunset Bay Hotel
Hotel Bakers Sunset Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.