We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy bed ,awesome location,beachside, all for a little more then $100.00 yes please!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Baker's Sunset Bay Resort to your Saves list
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   921 Canyon Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfy bed ,awesome location,beachside, all for a little more then $100.00 yes please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival of the resort,my fiancé and I stayed at another hotel the day before, and needless to say the 10 dollars more it cost to stay at bakers made it feel like we went from camping to a 5 star hotel.
The hotel staff were very friendly and were actually how hotel receptionist should be. By this I mean asking them what's a good place to eat or any recommendations on what to do they were filled with options and seemed knowledgeable, unlike these other hotel chains that hire foreigners who haven't don't have a clue. The staff also let us check in 3 hrs early so that was a big +. When we got to our room it was very clean and the bed was amazing compared to the one from last night , sheets are soft and smelled fresh .the rooms also are very very quiet well constructed that's for sure. The resort itself has 2 heated pools one outdoor and indoor also a sauna and hottub. It also has a kids pool as well. The resort is beachside and offers kayaks and rowboats at NO CHARGE which to rent from one of the boat shops down the road it's a hefty charge for a kayak for a few hrs . All in all bakers is the best place I've stayed at in the dells and with there amazing deals and offers I recommend it to anyone, you will be glad you did, this I promise.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    119
    45
    22
    16
See reviews for
234
75
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I would have rated the room very good if the following accommodations existed. Complimentary breakfast. Faster internet. Clean room, I literally wiped dust from the headboards in the room and the patio was disgusting. I didn't feel comfortable going out. Also I was there for three nights and only received service to my room once (1). Not good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our second year staying at Baker's. We have 3 daughters, ages 11, 8, and 5, and they thoroughly enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools, and the enormous sand beach. It's only a 5 to 10 minute drive to almost any attraction in the Dells. There's a nice loop to run around the lake, which is about 5 miles. There are walking paths along Canyon Road, where our family took walks each day. Next time we come to the Dells, we'll almost certainly stay here again!

We ordered pizza (and their own grape and orange pop) from Moose Jaw (our family's favorite so far), and dined outside on one of their patio areas, which was a nice change from the various restaurants.

We spent 2 nights listening to Campfire Kevin play guitar and sing around the campfire. My daughter's highlight was being able to play the tambourine along with the music, I think that's the biggest reason she wants to come back!

My only gripe is that most of the outlets in our room were completely worn out, and would not hold a plug. We had to plug our phones, ipods, etc into the two outlets we found that actually worked. Hopefully they'll get that fixed up!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baxter, Minnesota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was our first time in the Dells, and while I knew it was a tourist destination, I had no idea to what magnitude. The best way I can explain it is as a family version of Las Vegas. On the strip, you'll find tourist trap after tourist trap. Baker's, while conveniently located close to the action, is a quaint family resort the gets you away from the hustle and bustle.

Traveling with our two Yorkies limited where we could stay, and this resort was very pet friendly. There is a $10 charge per dog for each night, but I am sure we would pay that for boarding at home.

Our room was comfortable and clean. There was a bit of an unusual odor, but this may be because we were staying in a designated dog room. Our room was furnished with two queen beds, a refrigerator, microwave and deck. The resort sits in beautiful Lake Delton and offers a nice sand beach, but there are also two pools, one inside and one outside. There is also a great walking/running trail right out front where you can get some exercise for you and the dogs.

If you're looking for a reasonably priced, quiet, pet friendly place in the Dells, this would be a great place. Now that we've done the Dells, I don't know if there's a need to go back, but if we did, we'd definitely stay at Baker's again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our second stay at Baker's Sunset Bay. Our first stay in the summer 2012 was fantastic. This year was good, although the weather and ground floor room made this trip a little less enjoyable. Some may like the ground floor room with a patio and quick access to the beach, but we didn't like the fact that our screen patio door did not latch and the lack of privacy.

We must have had the same room as the person who reviewed on June 14 since we had the same problem with the alarm clock/lights flickering when one sat on the bed. I found the outlet cover broken behind the bed so the mattress was directly touching the electric outlet, which didn't make me feel too safe. We would have switched to the other bed but we remembered that the AC unit on the outside wall blows directly on the bed, which was annoying due to noise and drafts. We reported the broken outlet cover and lack of latch on the sliding door within an hour of check-in. They fixed the outlet cover right away but did nothing about the door latch. Even after the outlet cover was replaced, the clock radio kept clicking on and off so we finally unplugged it. We also experienced a power outage in the room when all we had on was one light. They quickly remedied that problem as we just tripped a breaker, but it made us wonder if it was related to the outlet problem.

We loved the free kayaks, the outdoor pool, hot tub and campfire Kevin. Our weekend was quite cold so we appreciated the indoor park pass to the Kalahari. The beach setting, kayaks and access to the lake will keep us coming back since we normally just need the room to sleep and shower.

We will return and refer to others looking for an alternative to the big waterparks, but will certainly request an upper floor room with a balcony. I would love to see them reconfigure the rooms so the small table is next to the AC unit, and perhaps that would alleviate the issue of the electric outlets being directly behind the mattresses.

Room Tip: If you want a lakeside room, choose an upper floor with private balcony unless you like the not-so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a nice stay there, spending 5 nights there.
They have a nice beach area with boats and kayaks to use, sand volleyball, fire pit, charcoal grills to use, and three pools: an outdoor, an indoor pool and an outdoor kiddie pool. The indoor pool has a kids' slide and a larger slide, whirlpool and sauna. The indoor pool is a saline pool not a chlorine pool, which is a nice change from the rest of the Dells we felt. Our kids (2 and 3 years old) were plenty entertained on site which helped us save money.
The staff is friendly, helpful and if problems come up they are accommodating.
The rooms were clean and staff cleaned them every day. They looked recently renovated and in good repair. The showers had plenty of hot water and nice shower heads. Everything in the room worked. The TVs were nice and even included hookups if people wanted to bring game systems or other peripherals. The WiFi is free and decent. With some issues, we were actually able to watch Netflix, but when everyone returned for the night the network ground to a halt. Not much you can do there.
The place is pet friendly and there were a lot of dogs there when we stayed, mostly small ones. One guest's dog barked for several hours but calmed down by quiet time which starts at 11pm. The hotel staff assured me that if there were noise complaints after 11 we could call security.
We stayed on the parking lot side of the hotel, so we weren't bothered by any noise from the beach.
We liked the location, a little off of Dells Parkway and back in the neighborhood along Lake Delton so you didn't deal with a lot of traffic or noise.
The layout of the facility is nice with one main building with some typical hotel sized rooms, and three other buildings with suites.
A great place for our family of small kids to stay. Or a great jumping off point for a Dells adventure.

Room Tip: Parking lot side rooms may not have as much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My son and I very much enjoyed our 4 night stay in August. I highly recommend Sunset Bay resort, excellent cleanliness in the rooms and throughout the property, and a peaceful quiet atmosphere. Very satisfied and will return !!!

Room Tip: My son and I very much enjoyed our 4 night stay in August. I highly recommend Sunset Bay resort, exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baker's Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Address: 921 Canyon Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baker's Sunset Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lakeside resort in Wisconsin Dells. Open year round. Peaceful and relaxing, and just minutes from all the Dells' activities. Family owned and operated, large sandy beach, free Kayaks and rowboats, nightly bonfires with entertainment, indoor SALINE pool with water slides, outdoor pool and activity pool. Brand new Canyon Condo's sleep up to 12 people with full kitchen, fireplace and 3 bedroom and 3 bath! Many packages to choose from. Downhill ski package, Romance package, Waterpark packages are just a few. You'll enjoy your stay at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baker's Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker`s Sunset Bay Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Bakers Sunset Bay Hotel
Hotel Bakers Sunset Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.