We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not visit again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Baker's Sunset Bay Resort to your Saves list
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   921 Canyon Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will not visit again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I made reservations based on reviews on TripAdvisor, and it was a mistake. First, I should point out that a) I am actually making this review while in the room and b) the young brunette lady working the desk this evening (6/13) has been a wonderful example of politeness and helpfulness.

When we arrived, the room we were given was entirely in disarray from the previous guests; it had not been cleaned at all. No need to even walk all the way in it to see, it had dirty linens and towels tossed around...yuck! However, mistakes in communication between staff happen so we found humor in it and returned immediately to the desk where the nice lady found us a new room.

This one is clean but you can readily tell someone has been smoking in it, the screen door to the patio is torn so we can't open the sliding doors unless we want a gazillion mosquitoes in here, the bedside lights do not work and neither does the alarm clock...it's not on at all. My husband suggested it may be a cord needing plugged in but we aren't sure if the table between beds is movable to find out, and...okay, it is obviously a loose plug issue because I just sat on a bed and the lamps and clock turn on and off depending on if we move at all. Hopefully it's not a fire hazard to have a bad electrical connection behind the bed. I wish I could attach a video; the lights flashing everytime we adjust our weight sitting here is rather amusing. We are considering seeing if we can get it to flicker in morse code....

Nope. Darn. That would have brightened up an otherwise disappointing stay. Overall the place doesn't seem too bad, and judging from the one lady the staff is great. Just not impressed with multiple room issues after a 7.5 hour drive to get here. :(

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    119
    45
    22
    16
See reviews for
234
75
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We are still at the resort. Everyone is very polite and considerate. Rooms have been updated in the hotel and are very clean. Upgraded us to a lakeview room the next day. Beautiful view. Only regret is mother nature is not cooperating with sunshine. They have specials with noahs arc if you have kids with you, but they have a beach, 2 pools, hot tub, sauna, and a waterpark playground for toddlers. Perfect get a way for those of you that want peace and quiet and need to watch your pennies.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed for three nights at one of the beach front one bedroom suites. We have a family of 5 and the room and location was very accomodating. We were most impressed with the cleanliness considering how close the room is to the sand. Our 7, 5, an 2 year olds stayed very busy in the sand, in the indoor pool, outdoor pool, and kiddie pool. Even if the weather would have been tough, the would have just stayed at the indoor pool. Resort location is great as it is tucked in a bay, very close to all the attractions, and on a bike/running path for excercising. Staff was always very friendly and helpful when needed. Our room was 20 steps from the beach and maybe 15 steps from the outdoor pool. We could sit in the area just outside our room and watch the kids play in the sand. They also have free passes to the Kalihari Indoor Theme Park, but other than mini golf, the kids had more fun being at the resort. We will go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Nothing special about the rooms but how long do you really want to just sit in your room? The rooms were a little outdated but very clean. Very nice outdoor pool. The family really enjoyed the private beach. I even talked the wife into going out for a little paddle in the free canoes. Small indoor pool was also nice for one last late night dip before bed. For me being away from the main strip is a bonus. Its only a five minute drive to all the attractions. Would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I just called today to inquire about staying here in July. I wanted to find out more information about their great packages and how much everything would cost for our possible stay. The desk answered my call and I told them I just had a few questions. The woman said that she was checking in some customers, so took my name and number and said she would call back once everything had been calmed down checking in. I thought to myself, are they really going to call back in a timely manner, or let alone at all? OF COURSE they did!! Called back in a matter of 20 minutes. This was a surprise and it only got better. Sue (woman who called back), was very nice and helpful. She personally calculated how much we would pay with their great packages included. She even calculated each different scenario with different packages and rooms.

The whole conversation probably lasted 15-20 minutes. I can't thank Sue and the resort enough for their help! My friends and I are definitely looking forward to staying here in July and couldn't be more confident that our stay will be great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Everytime we go to lake delton we stay at sunset bay resort Very friendly clean and all around family oriented. There are all different types of rooms with little kitchenettes which is good for us since we always have atleast 7 people with us and we usually cook breakfast and dinner there Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

My mother and i checked in for a relaxing birthday/mothers day weekend. And thats exactly what we got. The view was absolutely beautiful! The rooms were nice. The girls at the desk were so friendly and sweet! The location was perfect! The only issue i have is the staff leaves at 10pm. But we did not have any issues. Thank you for a much needed getaway. I can't wait to return in a few months with the whole family!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baker's Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Address: 921 Canyon Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baker's Sunset Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lakeside resort in Wisconsin Dells. Open year round. Peaceful and relaxing, and just minutes from all the Dells' activities. Family owned and operated, large sandy beach, free Kayaks and rowboats, nightly bonfires with entertainment, indoor SALINE pool with water slides, outdoor pool and activity pool. Brand new Canyon Condo's sleep up to 12 people with full kitchen, fireplace and 3 bedroom and 3 bath! Many packages to choose from. Downhill ski package, Romance package, Waterpark packages are just a few. You'll enjoy your stay at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baker's Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker`s Sunset Bay Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Bakers Sunset Bay Hotel
Hotel Bakers Sunset Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.