We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Baker's Sunset Bay Resort to your Saves list
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   921 Canyon Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My buddies and I stayed here when we went snowboarding in WI. The overall place is great. The entire complex is roomy and welcoming. We opted for a double queen mini suite and really enjoyed having our own fridge, range, microwave and kitchen.

The rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable. The appliances and such aren't modern but for a family resort, I wasn't expecting too much. The idea wasn't to stay indoors much anyway.

The location is good and off the main busy streets adding to the quietness of the place. However, w/in a very short drive (less than 5 mins), there are restaurants, a movie theater and family fun centers. It was super convenient for our needs.

Room Tip: If you want a kitchen, fridge, microwave and range, opt for the "mini suite" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    119
    45
    22
    16
See reviews for
234
75
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CAMPBELLSPORT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in order to go to the kalahari without having to pay the overwhelming expenses. This place saved us money on waterpark tickets as they cheaper than the kalahari. Received free tickets to the indoor amusement park which was actually worth it and very fun for my 2 year old niece. I would stay again especially in the summer as the outside looked fun. Inside pool was good too as my niece did go down the slides and had fun! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a valentine's day trip because it came with passes to the Kalahari. My husband and I were very impressed. The rooms were nice, well equipped, and clean. The staff was very friendly with recommendations for a good local place for a fish fry. I would love to come back and stay here in the summer. Seemed like a great place to get away with the family and you can't beat the value

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have stayed at Bakers many times since 2006. They are alway very accomidating to our large group that comes for a car club meet. They always offer a conference room or even there new large party room to us. They also have a great deck with fire pit that is well stocked with wood and keeps it coming if more is needed. The downsides are the towels are very small and they use to have a continental breakfast which has become non-existent since the construction on the new condos began. Overall though is a great place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnBaker, Owner at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We love having your group stay with us! And now you come 2 times a year! That's great and we appreciate that you are so loyal to Sunset Bay.
I am going to look into the towel issue. We've not changed the size, they are the same size as we've always used but I've seen other complaints recently.
See you in June!
Thanks again for your review!
Dawn Baker
Owner / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Joe MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here in June 2012 and had a wonderul time. The staff was very helpful and nice. They certainly helped us enjoy our time by helping us make better choices based on their comments. We loved being on the water (our room was one of the king suites with a balcony facing the lake). The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the view lovely. Even with a large church teen group there, it was very quite and peacful-not what I expect with a group of teens! We enjoyed the area-it was nice to be able to get away from the hustle and bustle of the main areas of the Dells and still just be a 5 minute drive away! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnBaker, Owner at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate your comments. Being a smaller, family owned resort and not a chain hotel, your comments mean the world to us. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Dawn Baker
Owner / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We arrived at the resort at 10:00PM on Friday night and we planned to stay for the weekend. The woman who greeted us was very friendly and assured us that we would love the area, since this was our first time visiting the dells area. She further stated that she would be leaving soon, however, someone would be taking her place that we could speak to, if we had questions.

About three hours later, my boyfriend and I, take the dog outside for a walk and to play in the snow. We exited our room through the backdoor and somehow, the wood prop fell and we were locked out of the room.Long story short, we go upstairs in the lobby area, only to find that it is completely locked and boarded up. We search for the security guard and after about 10 minutes realize that he must have left too. We see on the door, there are a couple numbers to call in case of an emergency. The first number, no answer. The second number, was to the security company and they told us that a security guard would come open the room door for us. We sit on the damp carpet in front of our room, which is located next to a side entrance to the building (not safe at all with the door being unlocked and no staff or security on-site) and wait, wait, wait and 40 minutes later there is a security guard.

I did not feel safe the whole night, mainly because I knew the front desk would once again be unattended, and who knows what could happen. I woke up at 8:00AM, eager to go speak with someone at the front desk. The woman was preoccupied in trying to defend the security guard (saying he must have been there the whole time) and the establishment and did not show any consideration towards me. I cancelled my reservation for saturday night and stated that in all fairness, there should be a discount for Friday night (10 hours we stayed) because of all the inconvenience and the overall terrible experience. She did not discount the night and even had the audacity to say that we should have had a key on us to prevent that from happening. Our conversation ended with the woman saying "well this has worked for us for years" referring to not having the front desk staffed at night or security personnel on site. I commented that customers expect for a resort to have front desk staff and security- its not a camp site, its a resort. The woman said verbatim "well everyone knows that we are like this here" and my next comment " well if they don't, I promise that they will now, after my review".

I am so glad that we left because if we didn't, that would have been the worst birthday weekend for me. It was absolutely awful there, and unless you want to be treated terrible, then please don't waste your time or your money on this place. More importantly, this place is not safe at all, secluded area, no security guards, minimal cell phone reception and multiple open acess points to the building- talk about a recipe for disaster.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnBaker, Owner at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
February 15, 2013

I am very sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel. It is true that we do not have a 24 hour desk. Many smaller resort properties do this. We do have a security team that we use. Most of the time, they are on site after our desk closes. It was a very slow weekend when you stayed, so on weekends like that, we share an officer with another hotel in our area. This system works well for us and we have not had any problems.
When you called the first number, I did answer your call. I immediately called our security company. I then called you back to tell you they were on their way. They were on site in 6 minutes.
I can imagine that at a stressful time, 6 minutes may seem like 40, but it was documented that it only took them 6 minutes to arrive since they were just down the road.
Again, I sincerely apologize.
Dawn Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Yes Im going to return
This trip was for the grandkids. We had a geat time. Everything was clean and in place. We enjoyed ourselves. Been here several times. This is like home comfortable and safe. Love the price, fits my budget.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baker's Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Address: 921 Canyon Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#14 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baker's Sunset Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lakeside resort in Wisconsin Dells. Open year round. Peaceful and relaxing, and just minutes from all the Dells' activities. Family owned and operated, large sandy beach, free Kayaks and rowboats, nightly bonfires with entertainment, indoor SALINE pool with water slides, outdoor pool and activity pool. Brand new Canyon Condo's sleep up to 12 people with full kitchen, fireplace and 3 bedroom and 3 bath! Many packages to choose from. Downhill ski package, Romance package, Waterpark packages are just a few. You'll enjoy your stay at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baker's Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker`s Sunset Bay Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Bakers Sunset Bay Hotel
Hotel Bakers Sunset Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.