We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful family stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Baker's Sunset Bay Resort to your Saves list
Baker's Sunset Bay Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   921 Canyon Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“delightful family stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I recently brought 19 people, including young children, here for a five day stay. We had four units in the Canyon building. Rooms/condos were spacious and well-furnished. Kitchens were terrific. Housekeeping could not have been better, and the people at the front desk were cordial and informative. The grounds were pleasantly quiet, and the beach small but uncluttered and made a great place for the kids to play after a hectic day. Swimming pools were adequate if forgettable. Will definitely recommend and visit again.

Room Tip: The Canyon suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    119
    44
    22
    16
See reviews for
233
73
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were happy with our stay at this property. We room was dated, but was clean & the bed comfortable. The only issue we had was the AC unit being on top of one of the bed's in the 2 queen room. Due to this the AC blew right in your face while you slept. It seems like the room could be rearranged to correct this by moving the table & chairs to that side. The kids enjoyed the pool & the campfire time.

Room Tip: Ask about AC placement in room you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I visit the Dells area quite frequently and this year I came upon a problem of having to find a place to stay with my newly adopted rescue chihuahuas. Before my dogs I stayed at the most luxuious accomodations I could find. I am so relieved to have found this resort and although it is not luxurious it is very clean and comfortable. I no longer have small children so I dont need the big waterparks and I truly enjoy the lake setting the peacefulness & the simpleness of Sunset Bay. I just returned from my 2nd stay in a month, as I sat on the beach I watched kids swim in the lake, build sand castles and paddle kayaks and it occured to me that those kids were happier than any kids I saw waiting miserably in line at the big waterparks. My first stay in June was in a regular hotel room which was suitable as it was just myself, this time my husband and son joined in and we had a 1 bedroom suite. I had no problems at all with either stay but I did notice that the wi-fi works much better in the hotel room than it did in the suite. I hope people will be respectful with their pets and clean up after them so we can continue to enjoy this gem on the lake. The owners are doing a fantastic job with this place, friendly staff and so clean!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here just two nights in standard room w/ 2QBs. Nothing special about our room, but we weren't in it much. Somewhat dated w/ loud AC unit. Liked the location on Lk Delton...out of the way w/ nice paths for walking/running right in front of resort. Lake water a little green due to high temps & little rain. Took two dogs..very pet friendly. Staff quite helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent 4 nights here with 3 generations of our family and found the resort very nice for our purposes. The good: There were ample BBQ grills, the pools were thoroughly enjoyed by our children (8,8,5 yrs), the grounds were very nicely maintained and the beach was great! We stayed in a one bedroom right next to the outside pool. The staff was polite and helpful. It also had a fantastic 'little kids' pool area for younger ones. The not-so good: The room was billed as 'spacious' and truly wasn't, however we could deal with it and we found the sheets to be dirty on the pull out (visible hair) - they did replace them. Several have referred to it as an 'older property' and while this might be true, I feel they have kept it pretty well updated (my understanding is there are some newly renovated rooms, ours was a bit older) and also very well maintained. It is also true that if you do some digging you can find some newer properties around the same price, however it's all in what your vacation 'needs'. We needed something for ages 75-5, the Kalahari type facilities would not have worked for us. We also liked the location; close to what we needed. Overall we would go back again if our needs were the same.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the Sunset Bay Resort and loved it!
Rooms were comfortable, clean; staff was very accommodating; facilities were great!
But mostly we enjoyed the quiet atmosphere after a day of seeing the sites. Our granddaughter loved the beach, water was warm and we were able to relax after a day of siteseeing. Will definitely stay there again on our next trip!

Room Tip: Definitely stay on the beach side where the view is nice and the balconey was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ionia, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We just returned from 3 nights at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, and I was really surprised to see the previous review because they were there at the same time we were. We had no bad experiences here, nor did we the last time we stayed. The upgrades they have done since we were here 4 years ago are really nice. There is a snack bar on the property now, which is really handy, although we cooked all of our meals in our room or on the very nice new grills at the commons area. This new commons building is beautiful, with an outdoor fireplace and tables and chairs and the grills are under shelter and worked very well. We did have trouble connecting to the WiFi at first but as soon as I mentioned it to the manager she was right on it. She offered to help me get connected in case it was an issue with my laptop, but once it was brought to her attention, the service people were there before long and after that our connection was perfect. I would say to the people who wrote the previous review that if you got upgraded to one of the canyon condos for only $70 more than a double queen room, you got a pretty good deal. We have nothing bad to say about this resort. Yes, it is "older" but so are we. Just because it's older doesn't mean there is something wrong with it. I would choose this resort over one of the noisy waterpark resorts anytime. Thank you to Dawn and all of the staff at Baker's.

Room Tip: The new Canyon condos look really beautiful. If we didn't have a pet along, we would have pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baker's Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker's Sunset Bay Resort

Address: 921 Canyon Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#15 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baker's Sunset Bay Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful lakeside resort in Wisconsin Dells. Open year round. Peaceful and relaxing, and just minutes from all the Dells' activities. Family owned and operated, large sandy beach, free Kayaks and rowboats, nightly bonfires with entertainment, indoor SALINE pool with water slides, outdoor pool and activity pool. Brand new Canyon Condo's sleep up to 12 people with full kitchen, fireplace and 3 bedroom and 3 bath! Many packages to choose from. Downhill ski package, Romance package, Waterpark packages are just a few. You'll enjoy your stay at Baker's Sunset Bay Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baker's Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker`s Sunset Bay Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Bakers Sunset Bay Hotel
Hotel Bakers Sunset Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker's Sunset Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.