We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best economy resort in the dells.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delton Oaks Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Delton Oaks Resort
Save
You added Delton Oaks Resort to your Saves list
730 E Hiawatha Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
1 review
“Best economy resort in the dells.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We just got back from a two day stay. This was the best value we could find to accommodate 8 people. The lake view is gorgeous. We had a great campfire that was set for us. Kids swam and played on playground. We came without bug spray and kate in the office just handed it over. We took advantage of the mt olympus and pirates cove tickets. Rooms are dated but we were hardly in ours. And we loved having a kitchen so we could make our own meals. Overall, a great value, family friendly, and excellent customer service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    6
    1
    7
See reviews for
20
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cudahy, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

we only stayed a couple days but was a wonderful stay!!! My dogs got to come with and they loved it! owners are very sweat people!!! It isn't the fancy water park hotels but who wants that when you can wake up to a beautiful lake view ...ducks swimming and birds signing. Hope it doesn't change to much when its sold. Ended up me and the dogs but was a great place for some me time.

Room Tip: cabin was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

my husband and I went to wis dells with our granddaughter -- all the first visit. we decided to stay at delton oaks resort. with so many and I do mean, SO MANY places to stay -- DO NOT STAY HERE!! we were here two nights. no maids, no soap, towels so thin you could see thru them, sand all over the rug, sand all over the back porch (don't think it has ever been cleaned or swept), no tissues -- really??? not even a thin box of cheap tissues, noisy, noisy, noisy. dated, dated, tired, dated. all this for $180/night!! for sale signs all over the place and we were told the owners were tired of the place (it shows) and they were retiring. did they ever care and did they ever put a cent into this place??? it is a dump! good luck with wifi. we had to practically stand in the water. what a huge disappointment. I had already paid in full one night so did not want to loose that kind of $$ so we stayed. if I had known it would be this tired and bad, I would have gone to one of the very many other places.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delton22, Owner at Delton Oaks Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We're sorry that these guests were uphappy. If they has mentioned it while they were here, perhaps we would have been able to help. A couple of things--our resort is on a lake with a huge, sandy beach. If you don't like sand, please don't choose to stay at a lake resort. We don't do daily housekeeping because we welcome pets and don't want to enter a room with a dog in it--for the safety of our staff and of the animal. We make this as clear as we can, both on our website and on our confirmations. And, last, we have two for sale signs on the property--one on the road and one on the lake. We are not "tired" of running our resort. In fact, we love it as much as we did on day one. We are, however, of retirement age, and are looking for another family to take over and love it as much as we do. We're sorry that we can't please every guest every time, but we do the best we can, and we have many, many families return year after year for their vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were relieved to find lodging that would accept our dog, making our weekend get away enjoyable. I would definitely stay again, what is advertised on Delton Oaks webiste is representative of what to expect. Our room was clean, the bedding clean, kitchenette for our convenience and WI-FI access. Okay see comments about no ice machine, daily housekeeping etc ......... who cares! Buying bagged ice is not the end of the world! I did bring along sheets/blankets to put on furniture so our dog would not shed on the furniture, nothing I don't do at home! We loved the bon fire in the evenings, pleasant surroundings and being relaxed. If you're looking for room service and 5 star amenities, well then open up your wallet alot wider! Delton Oaks is very casual, relaxed and in a great location. Was it equal to staying at the Marriott? No - but I had no intention of it being that, I think they are very honest in advertising their resort and look forward to returning in the future! Thank you Delton Oaks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We decided on Monday last week to travel to the Dells on Wednesday. We found a room that could accommodate all six of us (two adults, four kids) in the value building at Delton Oaks. The hotel is very centrally located, being only a few blocks off of the main strip and a short drive from downtown Wisconsin Dells. Those few blocks make a big difference in ambience - it really felt like we were out in the country at a pleasant lakefront hotel and not in the middle of a tourist trap.

The owners were very friendly and helpful. They allowed us to extend our stay an extra night without any hassle and we didn't even have to change rooms. Our reservation included access to the indoor & outdoor water parks at the Chula Vista resort and passes for a free round of miniature golf at Pirate's Cove. Chula Vista is not very conveniently located; it's a couple of miles north of downtown Wisconsin Dells, away from the main drag. It does have a wide variety of water slides but on our last day in the Dells the kids elected to stay at Delton Oaks and swim in the lake instead of going back to Chula Vista. We all enjoyed the round of golf. We were also given a packet of area info and coupons when we checked in and we used several of them at attractions and restaurants during our stay.

The room is a basic hotel room with the addition of a kitchen (stove, oven, microwave, fridge, toaster, coffee maker). There is a separate bedroom with two queen-size beds and a full-size pull-out sleeper sofa in the living room. The beds in the bedroom were fine, the sleeper sofa was as comfortable as you would expect a sleeper to be, which is to say not very. The bathroom is very small with a coffin-like shower and no tub, but with good water pressure and plenty of hot water. We had two minor bathroom complaints. One, there is no flat surface in the bathroom to set things on other than the toilet tank; the sink is a pedestal with no good place to set toothbrushes. Two, there are very few places to hang wet swimsuits or towels for a room that is meant for up to six people. Most of the hooks that are there are directly above the toilet tank, so anything that you set on the tank is going to get lake/pool water dripped on it. On another visit we might try to stay in one of the larger rooms that is meant for eight people; the owners let us take a look at one of those rooms that wasn't occupied and it seemed like a better fit for us than the smaller, six-person room.

Air conditioning is provided by an in-wall unit in the living room; if the bedroom door is closed then the only ventilation in the bedroom is from the two small windows. This was fine for us; the outside temperature never got much above 80 during our stay.

We used the oven and stove to cook a meal while we were there and ate at the nicely shaded picnic table just outside the building. We also used our own charcoal at the provided charcoal grills to cook a meal.

The lake is steps away from the value building and has a nice sandy beach with several lounges and chairs provided. There is a raft and a slide in the lake for hotel guests. Our kids (9, 9, 5, 6)loved swimming in the lake and jumping off of the raft. They also enjoyed waving to the riders on the Dells Army Ducks that cruise by the beach every 20 minutes or so. There is a firepit near the beach with benches around it; the owners build a wood fire each evening that guests can light and feed with the provided firewood. There are skewers provided near the fire but bring your own marshmallows, hot dogs, etc.

The heated pool is very pleasant and also just steps from all of the rooms. There are plenty of chairs and pool toys provided.

Many other guests had dogs with them; there was almost always at least one family with a dog at the beach while we were swimming. Some dogs swam, some didn't. It was never a problem - we were never disturbed by barking and never saw any dog waste anywhere on the property.

Overall we had a great stay and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: The value building saved us some money over the lakefront building but was perfectly fine for us sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

You're giving up a lot to travel with your dog and stay at this hotel. High point is they let your dog stay in the room alone. Delton Oaks is one of the only pet friendly spots. Another tripadvisor review described hotel as "one notch above camping" which we thought helpful in deciding to stay here and now completely concur. Other advice was to stay in the lake building. This is absolutely true!

We stayed in 2 bedroom with kitchenette on upper level. There is a futon couch. Very grateful we brought our own bedding and highly recommend doing so. There is no cleaning service during stay and no ice machine. You have to bring your towels to office for replacement. Our room had 2 sliding doors which didn't close easy nor lock without struggle. Owner description about returning guests year over year is well seen as most guests looked very settled. Owners are on site and active in the hotel (note property is for sale so this is subject to change).

For $200/night we had a downgraded hotel and a destination with a lot of activities that our dog couldn't participate. If you're ok with having your dog in the room all day as the perk, this is a good option for you. When visiting the Dells consider mid-week travel. This hotel was very quiet up until Thurs night. Then a big group arrived having 4 of the rooms in lakeside building. After complaint made at 12:30 am, the owner told them to be quiet. Keep in mind families with young kids and dogs can still party down. Owners discourage this on their site but it happens. You get Chula Vista and Paradise Cove mini golf free as part of stay along with a nice big coupon book.

Dog traveler tip: Some pet friendly things to do include renting a pontoon. Of course we had to get the dog friendly boat with no upholstery but our dog didn't care! We also went to the drive in movie theater which allows dogs.

Room Tip: Reconsider travel dates and/or hotel if the lakeside rooms are not available. Do not recommend this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delton22, Owner at Delton Oaks Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
This guest had both good and not-so-good things to say about our pet-friendly resort, so I'll let you take from her comments what you like. I would only like to respond to her comment about no daily housekeeping and exchanging towels in the office. The reason that we do not do daily housekeeping is because we have so many people staying with us who bring their pets along. Since guests are allowed to leave their pet in their room unattended, we will not take the chance of entering a room that may have a dog in it--both for the protection of our staff and of the dog, who may bolt out of an open door and be lost. Our pet-owning guests understand this policy, and, in fact, many ask us never to enter their room. We welcome all dogs, along with their owners, and hope to add you to our "friends list" soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We just got home from spending 2 nights here, and now I can't wait to go back! This was our first time staying at Delton Oaks, and we traveled with our 2 corgis.

We stayed in the lakeside building in a room with a kitchenette. It was extremely clean and was much larger than expected! We especially loved the view from our balcony; I took some beautiful photos of the sunrise, sunset, and even caught a rainbow over Lake Delton.

All of the other guests (both 2 and 4-legged) were extremely friendly. We had dinner on the grill the first night and conversed with other guests on their patios; all were very neighborly. One guest even volunteered to let us borrow a cookie sheet when we realized we had forgotten an oven-safe dish for part of our meal.

Our dogs are very social and love to meet new friends, and we found this to be the perfect place for that. Lots of other guests approached our dogs by name and encouraged their kisses : ) Our male corgi even went swimming in the lake which was a HUGE shock for us; he's always been so timid around water! We thoroughly appreciated the fact that we could allow them off-leash to swim without having to worry about "non-dog" people lurking around. That being said, I would not recommend this resort to anyone that doesn't love being around dogs; pretty much every guest that we saw had one! We felt like the resort's expectations of the 4-legged guests were very realistic. They seemed to understand that dogs bark, run, jump, go to the bathroom outside, want to swim, etc....a concept that I think other "pet-friendly" establishments have yet to grasp.

The grounds were very nice, and I didn't ONCE see a pile of dog poop laying around (I can't even say that about my apartment complex).

The fact that we could WALK to Noah's Ark was also a huge perk. We also received a large coupon book upon check-in that we used for multiple attractions. The location of the resort in general is great; very central to most of the large attractions.

Thank you Delton Oaks for truly being "pet-friendly!"

Room Tip: If possible, spend the extra $$ for a room in the lakeside building. The views are gorgeous. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delton Oaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delton Oaks Resort

Address: 730 E Hiawatha Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Delton Oaks Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delton Oaks Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.