We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, but very quiet and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Trail Motel

Save Saved
You added Indian Trail Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Indian Trail Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1013 E. Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Noah's Ark Passes!
Ranked #17 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Tomahawk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dated, but very quiet and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here due to the positive ratings we found on this site. We were not disappointed. The motel was very close to downtown, but in a very quiet location. The rooms were dated, but extremely clean and quiet. We didn't hear another neighbor all night. The staff was friendly. I appreciated the fact that we could just back up to our door and take our items out of our cooler and keep cold in the mini fridge provided in the room. We didn't try out the pools or wi-fi (couldn't get on with my chromebook), so I cannot comment on them. We have stayed in other big name hotels in the Dells and had horrible luck with noise and rude staff. We will definitely go back to Indian Trails.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    53
    12
    10
    7
See reviews for
63
48
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent two nights recently at the Indian Trail Motel. My Mom booked three rooms for our party of nine (family reunion). We got a package deal where four tickets to Noah's Ark were included with each room; considering tickets to Noah's cost $40 each I felt like it was a good deal.

The motel is in a great location: an easy walk to downtown (four or five blocks), a good restaurant next door, a convenience store across the street, and woods behind the motel that gives it a country feel. The motel rooms are arranged in three or four different strips; and our strip was set back a ways from the road, which was nice. We could pull right up outside our room door and park. There were two chairs sitting outside each room; many guests seemed to enjoy sitting outside on these (a few of them were smoking).

The room was very basic, with extremely dated decor.....like out of the 1970s. But the room was absolutely spotless, and much cleaner than some other chain hotels we've stayed in. Our room had two queen sized beds, cable TV, microwave, dorm fridge. a small table with chairs, a nightstand, and desk. The room was good sized; we had plenty of space (two adults and three kids in one room). The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was tiny, as was the shower. It's apparent (and sad) that we as Americans have gotten much bigger in size since the motel was first built. The sink is outside the bathroom. The air conditioner was a window unit, but worked great for cooling the room down quickly.

The motel's lobby is hooked on to a large house (the owner's, I'd imagine). When we first checked in, we had to ring a doorbell on the desk since no one was in the lobby. The manager (owner?) came immediately to check us in. She was very friendly and helpful during our stay. She's the only one I ever saw manning the desk.

There's an outdoor pool (heated), indoor pool, hot tub (perfect temperature), and sauna. We enjoyed both pools and the hot tub. We also enjoyed the ping pong table outside, and the shuffleboard. You can get gear for both games in the lobby. I also saw a volleyball net in the back yard. There was a swing set out front, and picnic tables and grills in the back.

A big surprise were the nature trails on the property. There were two or three short trails behind the motel, going into the woods. They're short; walking on all trails equals maybe 1/4 to 1/2 mile. It was so nice though being able to go on a stroll through the woods.

I would absolutely stay again at Indian Trail.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel because we were given two nights as a gift from my aunt for a thank you for taking care of her. The motel is just that. A motel. It has outdated décor and the room was clean. The swimming pool was nice as well as the hot tub. It was in close proximity to downtown but not close enough to walk. There was a restaurant right next door and we had good food there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We just stayed there on the 21st of this month and I was very pleased with how clean the room and pools were. Yes, the rooms are dated but who cares your only there mainly to sleep. Anna the owner was very friendly and accommodating. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We choose this place because of its location close to Downtown and the price. We had a jacuzzi room, which was huge! The decor was a little dated but it was very clean and spacious. We even had our own deck. The Tv was a newer flat screen. The channel choice was adequate for the amount we watch TV on vacay. The only downside to the room was the pillows. They were pretty flat and we forgot to bring out own but it didn't wreck out stay.

The hotel itself it a lot bigger than I anticipated. It feels like you are in the Country but you are only a dr blocks from town. Very quaint!

We only used the outdoor pool. It was the perfect temp for cooling off. They also have ping pong, bags, and some other games you can enjoy.

I would totally stay here again. I felt we got a lot for our money and the staff was very nice and quite helpful. We enjoyed the coupons and fun card we received as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We picked the Indian Trail Motel from other reviews and also the price. I do agree that the rooms are clean, but they do need updating very badly! The bed was horribly hard, paint chipping off the walls in the bathroom, older tv with not a very good selection of channels. The room itself was very small. We chose a room with a king bed. Maybe there are bigger rooms, but this is what we got. Never did get connected to the wifi. Called the front desk more than once and no one ever seemed to be there to answer. I guess all in all we won't be staying here again. Sounds like a lot of complaining, but when your through shopping and doing the attractions you want a nice room to be able to go back and relax in and this is not what we got. I guess if your looking to save money on a room and have more for spending in the Dells this would be the place for you. Will try another motel next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice management, clean rooms, close to "downtown". Outdoor and indoor pools maintained well, games, grills, nature and they also make bonfire on Saturdays! I suggest calling them when you want to reserve the room they might have a better price than the online websites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Indian Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Trail Motel

Address: 1013 E. Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Indian Trail Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Indian Trail Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Trail Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Indian Trail Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Trail Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.