We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffside Resort & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliffside Resort & Suites
Save
You added Cliffside Resort & Suites to your Saves list
351 Canyon Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Would stay again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This place has good value for the price. I had to go to the Dells at the last minute and called the night before. I remembered the hotel from driving by on my way to another place nearby. It isn't the most modern place...the curtains and bedspread looked like my grandma's house about 1984. Still it was great to have a fridge, a microwave and a flat-screen TV. My room was small but it was immaculately clean which matters the most. The bed was comfy.

What really sells the place is the setting. The view is stunning and it was fun to go out and watch the water-ski show (for free). I didn't use the pool but the area looked well-maintained. There was a family gathering going on while I was there and they seemed to really enjoy themselves...kind of taking over the place.

I would stay here again. The family who owns it clearly takes a lot of pride in this place. I love that it's not in the middle of the Dells' craziness. It's quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    33
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
33
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

After becoming accustomed to vacationing on the river....we had to find a new place that offered a pool, whirlpool and a great view....since believe it or not, we do NOT want to go to Mt. Oympus....so after a thorough search, I found the Cliffside Resort....it was perfect....specatular view...docks for fishing and boat....great deck...indoor pool and outdoor pool with slide for guests to enjoy....even had an elevator.....very friendly staff....we shall return!

Room Tip: Balcony with a view is the only way to travel....you might even get to watch the Tommy Bartlet Ski S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We just returned from a couple of days at the Cliffside and found it to be a really nice older hotel with very clean comfortable rooms with nice amenities. The indoor pool and spa was nice as was the in room jacuzzi. During the season you could see the Tommy Bartlett ski show across the lake for free. Nice peolple, nice value. Close enough to everything and anything else you'd want to do in the Dells .

Room Tip: Always choose lakeside as the view is really cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

my boyfriend and i stayed at cliffside for a weekend getaway this winter. we had a jacuzzi lake view room, which was nice (i'm sure would be a wonderful view in the summer/fall) but as mentioned could use some updating. the room itself was well maintained though - clean. we didn't go in the indoor pool or hot tub, but they we'd felt the water and they were at very comfortable temperatures. we did enjoy the value card(s) that were included with our stay. we took advantage or discount bowling, food, and theme park tickets. we went up during a snow storm, so we needed the indoor activities to occupy our time - and there was plenty to do with the card they supplied / saved us some money.

the rooms were what we thought they would be - the bed was very comfortable (i like a soft bed though), the bathroom was also clean and supplied with plenty of towels for the shower/bath and jacuzzi. there was also a microfridge (dorm style - microwave on top and mini refrigerator on the bottom) and a flat screen TV.

location was nice - just behind the wilderness and over looking where they'd do the tommy bartlett show. nice location, but quiet as not in the middle of the downtown area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is a cute little resort. It reminds me more of a camp-y type place then an actual resort. It is a little on the older side, and could use some updating. The access to the lake is nice, plus there is a campfire set up down by the water. The outdoor pool was closed when we went, and we never tested out the indoor one.

Room Tip: The room with the whirlpool has a nice balcony with a nice view, and the whirlpool is a nice added a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Its not right downtown which is nice. Its on the lake and the views from the patio in your room are beautiful. The pool area was wonderful, our 12 yr.old son really liked it. We had a great campfire beside the lake and overall can't wait to come back here. Very easy to get to wherever you want to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room, you will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Management was wonderful..so friendly and helpful, as our nephew and his new bride were married here..and every moment was great! Our family/group occupied about half of the rooms in the resort, and we were all pleased with the accomodations; my husband and I enjoyed our room, as it had a balcony over the lake..wonderful! The rooms may be a bit dated, but they are comfortable and very clean.
There are so many great areas to utilize for a family reunion or event, while still leaving plenty of room for other guests to enjoy this resort. We had a pontoon boat/jet-ski day (rentals are near-by), lunch on the patio, and the next night, a small dinner and get-together to enjoy each other's company after the wedding rehersal. The kids all Loved the pool, swimming in the lake, and just being able to come and go in the different resort areas, safely. We adults ate dinner in town, and enjoyed a few hours at the Ho-Chuk casino.
The manager's son (and I am sorry I didn't get his name!) did SO much to help us with each part of this event; he was there for us day and night! The wedding was on the side patio in the afternoon, and the decorations were lovely (the bride and groom brought everything with them, and everyone helped decorate)..the ceremony was perfect, and later, after dinner in town, we came back to dance and enjoy our time together, as we celebrated the wedding with family and friends...every moment was wonderful, and the management was all for whatever would make this a happy event...thank you!
We found we were minutes, by car, away from restaurants, a huge WalMart, and everything we might need. The microwaves and room fridges were really convenient, and we fell happily into our rooms each night, adults and kids alike, having enjoyed great days on the lake at the Cliffside Resort!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffside Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Resort & Suites

Address: 351 Canyon Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#25 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking beautiful Lake Delton, Cliffside Resort has been a relaxing getaway for over 30 years. All pools, indoor or outdoor, have panoramic views of the lake and the Tommy Bartlett Waterski Show. Our outdoor pool has a 60 foot water slide and floating polar bear. Suntan on our decks, fish off our docks, or enjoy an evening bonfire on the lake. Registered guests can also utilize our soothing sauna, workout in the exercise room, and play a game of billiards in the game room near the outdoor pool. The resort also offers picnic areas by the pool and on the lake for small and large group gatherings. Our rooms have balconies and standard amenities, including: 32 inch flat panel TVs, free WIFI, micro-fridges, hair dryer, coffee-maker, iron/board, and telephone. The room sizes range from 2 person Jacuzzi suites to 8 person family suites with handicap accessibility throughout the resort except for the lake front. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliffside Resort And Suites
Cliffside Resort Wisconsin Dells
Cliffside Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Cliffside Resort Suites Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffside Resort & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.