We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a GREAT dinner!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilbourn Broadway Grill

Kilbourn Broadway Grill
701 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1555
608-253-0364
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 167 restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Wrenshall, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We had a GREAT dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Our motel was near here so we ate dinner here. My wife and 8 & 10 year old daughters all enjoyed our food. I had a taco salad which was great, my daughters had kid menue items and both were great, my wife had a sandwich and I wish I remembered its name, but it was one of the best meals she had while at the Dells! It was so thick and piled full of slices of meat and everything else that we joked that she needed to sit on it to flatten it enough to fit it into her mouth. I had some of her sandwhich and thought it was great as well. Our waitress was very very nice. In fact we asked her opinion about Noah's water park vs Chula Vista (as we had free passes to that). She talked with us for a good amount of time answering our questions. We were very happy with the entire experience. The only odd thing was that there was never anyone in this place. We were here in a slower time of the season and were the only ones there and every time we walked past it looked almost empty but for maybe one or two tables. But, we would definitely eat here again without hesitation. The place was clean, service was good, and the food we received was very good. So if your motel is near here and your hungry I suggest trying it out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    12
    12
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, low prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Only two blocks from our really nice motel - Black Hawk Motel - the restaurant serves a delicious breakfast - plenty to eat and drink and good service too! The prices were better than many other restaurants, This was a homey, friendly place - not a formal white tablecloth experience. My wife and I really liked it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good food, worth the wait.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Have been here 4 times now, twice for breakfast and twice for dinner. The food has been consistently good although the service has been consistently slow. The German potato pancakes are amazing, the cheeseburgers are the best I've had in a restaurant in a long time. So if you have some time and patience give them a try for an enjoyable decently priced meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have been here quite a few times already, even though the service is a little slow and you do wait a little longer than you would like, the food is ALWAYS delicious and the staff is very friendly. We ate there this morning for breakfast. Wasnt too long today, but again, the food is great!! The prices are good and the the portions are perfect.. not too big, not too small!! Definitley recommend!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
“Go somewhere else - just awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were there for breakfast. First, the table (covered with a vinyl cloth) was filthy/covered in stains. Second, the coffee is bad. Third, they use some kind of liquid egg product instead of real eggs, which looks very unnatural and tastes a little odd. On an order of two scrambled eggs (really - how hard is that?), the server brought this tiny little pile of something resembling pale, wispy eggs. Completely honestly, it was about 3 bites' worth. We all know what 2 scrambled whole eggs would look like. The server agreed this looked wrong and went back to the kitchen - she brought back an even smaller pile as the "2nd" egg, and she actually said she was embarrassed to bring that out but that it's what they gave her! The omelettes are supposed to be "3-egg", and they were flat, thin, small and with almost no filling. As far as the hash browns, they were mostly burnt, and there was about 4 bites on the plate. It's not easy to mess up cheap diner breakfast like this, but they did it. We complained to the cashier/manager on the way out, and she (honestly!) said, "Yeah, I know" and offered no apology or any reconciliation on the bill ($60 for 2 adults & 3 kids - but luckily, the kids enjoyed their pancakes). Besides all of this, since we were seated at a slightly large table, another server used the vacant end as a place to park trays to serve other tables instead of bringing out a rack. That's just weird. If you're looking for breakfast in the Dells, go to McDonald's for more decent food and a better price, or at least just don't go here. Yuck.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilbourn Broadway Grill also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Kilbourn Broadway Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilbourn Broadway Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.