We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Little Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christmas Mountain Village

Save Saved
You added Christmas Mountain Village to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Christmas Mountain Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   S944 Christmas Mountain Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A Hidden Little Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Just got back from a four day weekend @ Christmas Mountain. If you are expecting some large Colorado Ski resort, you will be disappointed. If you are looking for a nice little ski resort for your family, you will love it. Our kids are 7 & 4 and never ski'd in their lives, so we didn't know what to expect. To say that we were pleasantly surprised would be an understatement.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo not far from the lodge and restaurant, literally 2 minutes away. It was clean and well maintained. The only negative part of the entire trip was the thin walls at the condo. The other half was occupied by a group of women, whom were on a girls weekend and partied pretty good and late into the evening. Fortunately, my kids can sleep through a tornado so it wasn't a big deal.

We ate twice at Mulligan's. The food there is fantastic and the atmosphere was good as well.

Probably the best part of the trip was the skiing. As mentioned earlier, our kids have never stepped foot on a mountain. So, we enrolled them in ski schools. We enrolled the boy (7) in a group lesson. Can't say that I was overly impressed with it, as there was 9 kids in the group and there was more babysitting than actual learning going on. We put the girl (4) into a private lesson. Her instructor was Seth and my wife & I were so impressed by the young man. It happened to be her birthday and Seth just took her by the hand and away they went up the bunny slope. She had so much fun with him for the hour, it was fun to watch. She wasn't ready to go down the mountain by herself when they were finished, but she sure did learn a lot and we were very grateful.

The mountain was nicely groomed. Again, the place isn't huge, but there are a dozen or so runs and they are well maintained.

If you have a young family and are looking at getting the kids out, I can't imagine asking for anything more than Christmas Mountain.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    89
    44
    23
    28
See reviews for
125
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sister Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We had an RCI bonus week about to expire so we traded a week in beautiful Lake Taho (or anywhere else!) for a very disappointing stay at the Christmas Mountain Trailer Park. Driving in we couldn't imagine how these cottages could have 2 bedrooms. Our unit smelled moldy, was old, dingy, tiny (maybe 600 sq. ft.) and the parking spot could not accommodate our SUV without sticking out in the road AND only being able to exit one side of the vehicle. In 10 years of time share we have always stayed at exceptional places. This was like a truck stop motel. We tried to negotiate other accommodations with the front desk but all of the units were similar. RCI will receive similar feedback on this 'rustic" property.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

This place is very tired, dirty and not up to normal RCI Standards. Our unit was filthy and the housekeeping manager was disrespectful when we asked them to just come back and address some basic cleaning issues like actually vacuuming and mopping the floor. The drawer on the stove wouldn’t close and if anyone on the staff had bothered to even check they would have found a dirty pan on the floor under the drawer that was preventing it from closing. The furniture is worn out, the entry rug was horribly stained and the carpets were dirty and worn. The extra pillow in the bedroom had blood stains on it. The smoke detector was hanging from wires 6 inches below the ceiling.

I can’t come up with one positive thing to say about this resort. We checked out after two days and came home.

By far this is the worst RCI resort we have experienced.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

My wife, daughters and I went to Christmas Mountain Village for a weekend that we booked through our Bluegreen Timeshare points. Check in was easy. This trip we had a two bedroom unit close to the Check in building (801B). The room was large and very clean, but a little rough looking. (Chipped paint, worn and stained furniture) The unit had two floors, two bedrooms and two full baths and then a double pull out couch in the living room. It also had a full kitchen as most the Bluegreen units seem to have. There was a fireplace in the living room and another in the master bedroom along with a large jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom.

We took to the kids, aged 4 and 7, snowtubing there, and they loved it. The skiing looked good, but not for an experienced skier. It is Wisconsin, not Aspen. The kids also loved the pool, but it is geared toward smaller kids.

The room was in need of a little updating, and I was a little disappointed in the quality of the room, considering the amount of Bluegreen points needed to stay there. We will be staying in a different type of unit in a few more weeks when we return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We exchanged a 4-5 Star, first rate Massanutten week for a substandard, well-below average, accommodations (a cabin) with no washer or dryer; no foyer (no clean, convenient place to remove our snow boots and winter coats - exterior door opened into the kitchen); very cramped living space; a miniature stove/oven; no kitchen counter space; absolutely no view whatsoever except the back of another cabin or the access road (In fact, we kept the blinds shut the entire time); no cabin insulation so thermostat stayed between 76-80 degrees the entire time; it took us 2 days to figure out what heat vents to keep open and/or closed to stay reasonably comfortable at night without being too cold or hot, but there was no humidifier (creating an unpleasantly dry environment). Thank goodness we only stayed for 4 days and left before Christmas. On the other hand, we were close to the slopes; the ski lift ticket employers were kind; my child's ski instructor was "great". His name was Seth. Mulligans was a nice bar/restaurant offering a variety of food and drinks at a reasonable price, but don't wait for the waitress, order throught the bartender for much faster service (not unusual for vacation resorts). Check in/out was quick and easy. My son enjoyed the indoor pool for an evening. One additional concern; the resort does not hand out written comment cards, they only accept them on-line at their computer terminals in their lobbby (supposedly because they are going "green". Of course, one terminal was broken and the other was ALWAYS in use by other vacationers. I suspect that the real reason that there are no written comment cards is to cut down on the number of complaints received.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da UP of Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We exchanged an RCI Timeshare week to stay here. Fairly close to home, 240 miles or so, close to some aging relatives, etc. We arrived on a Friday, and check in was fast and friendly. Very pleasant smiling staff greeted us, w/no typical timeshare sales hassles. Our unit was 159, in the "Cabins" part of the resort property. The Cabin was small, but very comfortable for just us two. Very clean, and the best equipped timeshare we've stayed at, with the exception of no washer/dryer in the Cabin units. The laundry unit was located just 50 feet from out unit, so that was not a major inconvienence. The lobby staff gave us a generous amount of tokens to be used in the laundry unit, which in itself was very nicely fitted w/ 3 dryers, and 3 washers, tables for folding clothes, and plenty of chairs, and recent magazines for reading while doing the wash. Our Cabin area was very quite at nite, w/some occasional heavy resort vehicle traffic during the day. Plenty of outdoor pools,and a very beautiful indooe pool and fitness center at the main resort.
An awesome looking ski hill and lift is within the resort as well! We highly recommend this resort, and will be returning in summer of 2011

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

My husband and I own with RCI at a Gold Crown Resort in FL. We were placed in a two bedroom 2 bath cabin at Christmas Mountain Timbers with not much assistance on what we were getting into. Our adult children arrived on Saturday and spent a couple of days with their friends. We did not arrive until Wednesday after they had already left. Upon our arrival we were very dissappointed with the room and the cleanliness (not anything that they left). I asked if we could change rooms as our friends were coming up the following day with a young child. They said there was nothing else available but to try back the next day. We went back to the room and I started to fix a snack. When I opened the kitchen drawers there was mice droppings in the utinsel drawer. Not one or two it would have filled a tablespoon. I was so upset I took pictures and started looking more thoroughly. The unit was very out of date with red carpet in the living room. Rusty register covers. Dirt filled air duct covers, etc. It was not condusive to a one year old running around and crawling on the floors.

I took my camera and went to the front desk and told them my findings and stated that we could not accept this kind of condition. They checked and at first said nothing was available. I was not going to accept that response. I stood my grounds and they said that one was available for the length of time that we needed but it was not cleaned from the last guest. I said not a problem let us go look at it first. We did and it was very nice and alot newer and cleaner.

We were able to transfer over to the other room but would have been very embarrased if our friends would have had to stay there for even and hour.

I think Bluegreen needs to do some more thorough checking on these units and get them updated and cleaned by professionals.

This is on the verge of a Health Department issue. If at all possible you need to look at the units before renting.

The villas are very nice and a good option. We would not recommend the cabins unless it is a group of hunters or snowmobilers needing lodging for a nite or t wo.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Christmas Mountain Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christmas Mountain Village

Address: S944 Christmas Mountain Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christmas Mountain Village 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Christmas Mountain Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christmas Mountain Village Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Christmas Mountain Village Wisconsin Dells
Christmas Mountain Village Wi Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christmas Mountain Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;