We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Oriented Resort with Lots to Do!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christmas Mountain Village

Save Saved
You added Christmas Mountain Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Christmas Mountain Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   S944 Christmas Mountain Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Family Oriented Resort with Lots to Do!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We spent 4 nights at Christmas Mountain's Bluegreen resort last week. We'd never been to a truly family-oriented resort so this was a new experience. We enjoyed it. We had a 2 bdrm./2 bath cottage near the clubhouse so we were close to a nice sized pool and small hot tub there. Inside the clubhouse they held LOTS of activities from crafts to candy bingo. They had a pool table, air hockey, big screen TV, a number of arcade games, and a jukebox. There is a small lake within the resort for paddleboating, canoeing, and fishing. The little miniature golf course isn't like an adventure golf, but it's free and right there- our 7 year old enjoyed playing it. They have a nice casual restaurant onsite (Mulligan's), an indoor pool with some waterpark features (seemed aimed at young kids) at the registration building and a larger hot tub there as well. My husband played golf on the course there and said it was nice and scenic. The units looked freshly painted and like all Bluegreen resorts, it had all the things you needed in the kitchen. The unit was very clean and as comfortable as you would expect something labeled as a cottage to be (nothing elaborate, but comfortable). There isn't a washer/dryer in the unit, which is a bummer, but there were token operated ones at the clubhouse and a nearby laundry facility (they gave you all the free tokens you needed at check in). It was very quiet there so we slept well. They had wi-fi available for a fee. They had a movie night at the pool where everyone could either float around or sit on a lounge chair and watch a movie on a screen strung up behind the pool- our son enjoyed that. The clubhouse pool needs some flowers in pots to make it look cozier, but that's about the worst I could say. They had a campfire over by the ski hill on night where a guy brought his guitar and marshmellows to hold a sing-a-long and marshmellow roast. That was cute and the kids seemed to love it. We had a maintenance issue and they were there in 10 minutes and got it fixed (again, typical of a Bluegreen resort). The one bdrm. cottages were pretty close together and I don't think I would enjoy that experience, but the 2 bdrm./2 baths weren't so close. LOTS of different choices on units at this large resort. We were about 10 minutes from the Dells and all that craziness, so we could get there easily when we wanted to, but had a nice, quiet place to be at the rest of the time. There was a Wal-mart, Kohl's and Mc Donald's close by, as well as an outlet mall.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    89
    44
    23
    28
See reviews for
125
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed in Unit 506 in July 2010 and were very disappointed with the appointment furnishing of the room. The bed was absolutely the worse bed we've ever slept on at a place we paid to stay! After our first night, the resort did put a different mattress in our room and that one was fine. The living room only had seating for 4 (1 couch and 1 chair) though the unit would sleep 6. The couch was so uncomfortable that we had to put a bed pillow on our back in order to sit on the couch to watch tv. The furniture was old and uncomfortable. Unlike our other experiences at Bluegreen Resorts. We drove 10 hours and were ready to move to a hotel after our first night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

My parents and brothers and sisters and their families and my family all stayed in the townhome units this july-it was wonderful. The rooms and homes were clean and so peaceful and quiet and the kitchens were supplied with every pan and dish you would ever need-along with vacume cleaners, etc for cleaning if any spills from kids. All family members had wonderful time. Only concern was the restaurant, bar, Mulligans that we all went to several times which had wonderful food-but the service staff there was poor. After discussion amongst our familys each one had poor waitstaff-very slow with taking orders or bringing drinks and not very friendly. If that was the only problem in our week stay I would say it overall was one of the most fantastic getaways I have had. Our kids all had great time at waterparks and amusement parks and the casino was a hit for the adults. What a great place to stay and highly recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Six girlfriends from the neighborhood and 16 children used 3 townhomes for a Mon-Fri trip and what a hoot! This is a great idea for a chick trip WITH kids that we dubbed, "Belles at the Dells." I've stayed at these before and knew the layout was perfect with 3 bedrooms, 3 baths, 2 laundry, 2 kitchens, 2 living rooms and 2 pull outs. The only drawback is the distance between townhouses because you can't reserve them close to each other, and the hills make walking between them difficult, so we learned to drive the kids between the condos. First night, Mulligans, where the food is so so but you can't beat the location. Just don't expect great food and you'll have a good time. The inside pool is terrific with a hot tub outside, but the "lake" and activities by the lake are way far away and really inconvenient, you likely won't use them. Who cares? Really, you are at the Dells which is about a 5 minute drive away. See reviews on our top adventures but kids loved in order, a) Noah's Ark, b)CaptainRon's Jet Boat tour and c) Mount Olympus. But at the top of their list, singing and dancing at the end of the day at the condos. You can't do that in a hotel or even in the 2 bedrooms at the Deluxe timbers. The townhouses were the way to go for a large group. They are clean, well stocked, but yes, a woodsy resort, not a chic get away. They are not rustic, they are up to date with jet tubs and cable. Missing free wireless, the lobby wireless is free yet slow and on property, you pay. On the otherhand, something freeing about the kids NOT being able to get on facebook. I would not want to stay in a hotel in the actual Dells because pricey and crowded, so Christmas Mountain Village the way to go.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We had a very short stay of 2 nights here,but it was so relaxing. My husband, 2 small daughters, mother, sister, and I used some friends' Bluegreen points for the weekend. Check in was a breeze, the people at the front desk were very polite and helpful. the rooms were clean and orderly and we had everything we needed, never once needing to contact the front desk. the fireplace was a nice touch at night...so calming Walmart was not too far away, which is great if you plan on doing any cooking in the room, which we did cook breakfast and one night had pizza from walmart and salad for dinner. there was a cute little playground for small children, we have a 5 and 3 yr old so they liked it. there was a basketball court and I think volleyball. they had a game room, but it was kinda dead. That was ok, we had it to ourselves except the air hockey game was out of order...not funny. the indoor pool is ideal for little ones. it was a party in there for them, they loved it! There was a hot tub but I decided not to even go in there since there was so many teens walking in and out of there. the age requirement was 16 and up. There was a sauna too,but they were working on it. Also a fitness room. I saw it, didn't go in. We ventured to Wisconsin Dells which of course is great. we tried a fab restaurant, Taste of New Orleans. So good. the restaurant on site of the resort Mulligans, was pretty good too. We all ordered appetizers to go because Wisconsin is not a Non Smoking state. We are from Illinois and we have no smoking in all establishments, so walking into the restaurant was like walking into a cloud of cigarette smoke. The views were great, with all the hills and forests, even in this time of year where the trees are still bare it was very serene. the kids were able to run around and jump and frolic, and we could just relax. very close to the Dells, but tucked away so it feels like 2 vacations in one. Overall, I loved it, just wish we could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crandon, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

We stayed in a 1 Bedroom/1 Bath Deluxe Timber over New Years Weekend. Check-in took over an hour there were so many people in line, but it was a holiday weekend. We were very disappointed in our accommodations, it did not live up to what we have come to expect from Blue Green accommodations. The walk up/down the stairs (tons of stairs) was not lighted, the lights along the walk had malfunctioned or burned out, it was icy and we all were slipping and falling, very dangerous. The living area had a worn couch, a too big table for the space, full refrigerator (nice!), small dishwasher and a sink. It was equipped with enough kitchen essentials for a family of 4. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. The king bed was nice, comfy. The walls are VERY, VERY thin. We could hear every word from our neighbors, even heard their TV and what they were watching at night after we turned our TV off to sleep. The table in the living area is nice but it is far too big. We pulled out the sofa sleeper for our kids to sleep on and in order to do this we had to move the large table in front of the door as there was nowhere else for it to go. If there was ever a fire we would be in trouble, we would have to move the 4 chairs and table out of the way to get out...not safe! The washer/dryer in the closet was convenient. Cleaning crew needs to pay more attention, there were personal items of previous occupants still in the room, socks by the patio doors and a personal article of clothing left in the dryer. The pool area is very nice, geared towards younger children. It has a zero depth area with water gysers, a teeter-toter, a frog slide and swings/jumpers. There is also a short waterslide for older kids and adults. The other side of the pool had water basketball. Even though they were at Max capacity at the resort there were plenty of tables in the pool area. Towel exchange is a bit of a hassle. You are given towel tickets at check-in that you must bring to the front desk to check towels out and then bring the towels back after you are finished swimming to get your tickets back, waiting in line for this with anxious small children wanting to swim is NOT fun, they should figure out a better way of doing this. We ordered Pizza from Firehouse Pizza (I think that is the name) which is almost on resort grounds, they deliver, it was magnificent, I recommend it! We also had Mulligans delivered, awesome Cheesy Brat Soup! My husband and 3 year old daughter went skiing, they said it was not too bad but not much fun for an experienced skiier, slopes were almost empty when they went in the early afternoon. Overall it was a good weekend but we will not be staying in a Deluxe Timber again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

My wife, daughters and I went to Christmas Mountain Village for a weekend that we booked through our Bluegreen Timeshare points. Check was easy, even though we arrived at almost 10:00pm. When we got to the room (we had a one bedroom townhouse) everything looked good, except there was no remote control for the TV in the bedroom. Call the front desk and they ran another one out in under 5 minutes. The unit had one bedroom and one full bath and then a double pull out couch in the living room. It also had a full kitchen as most the Bluegreen units seem to have. The place was very clean and looked great, as we have quickly grown to expect from Bluegreen properties.

We took to the kids, aged 3 and 6, snowtubing there, and they loved it. The skiing looked good, but not for an experienced skier. It is Wisconsin, not Aspen. The kids also loved the pool, but it is geared toward smaller kids.

We really enjoyed our short stay there and I'm sure we will return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Christmas Mountain Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christmas Mountain Village

Address: S944 Christmas Mountain Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christmas Mountain Village 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Christmas Mountain Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christmas Mountain Village Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Christmas Mountain Village Wisconsin Dells
Christmas Mountain Village Wi Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christmas Mountain Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.