We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice gathering place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christmas Mountain Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Christmas Mountain Village to your Saves list
Christmas Mountain Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   S944 Christmas Mountain Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #39 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice gathering place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Nicely remodeled units but could use better sound insulation as normal conversation could be heard through neighbors walls. Nice location with fun amenities. Terrific tubing hill. Friendly bar and restaurant staff but service was very slow. Great card magician for bar entertainment.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    106
    49
    28
    34
See reviews for
153
54
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

As a Bluegreen owner, I can say the accommodations are a huge let down! Came 2 months ago and stayed in a 2 room townhouse. They actually had to bring air purifiers w/ ionizers to our room to attempt to get rid of the horrible smell. Dead bugs were on every window ledge and cob webs in every corner. The furnishings were outdated and at the end of their lifespan! We came back in hopes to have a better experience, we were told they have updated "many units". This time we stayed in a 2 room villa and again, it was outdated and by far an "updated" unit. The unit smelled like old cooking grease (brought Lysol this time to mask it) and dead bugs on most window ledges! Carpets were torn, beds are old and lumpy and the ceilings had obvious water damage around the sky lights. Couldn't use the sofa sleeper, there were dead bugs and old food in it when we pulled it out. Rather disgusting! I've stayed at low end hotels that were cleaner! The grounds are fantastic as well as Mulligan's Bar & Grill but the accommodations are lacking any kind of comfort! Very disappointed again!! I'd like to know how I can stay in an "updated" unit, I'm starting to think there aren't any!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed in a 1bed Deluxe Timbers at Christmas Mountain Resort. This was our first stay at Christmas Mountain and was our first experience with the BlueGreen Sampler package we purchased 6 months ago. We stayed for two nights- Thursday and Friday.

The unit was a bit dated, esp. compared to the unit we were shown when we toured (but did not stay) at the premises in July 2012. However, we know that the resort is undergoing renovations. We found the rooms to be very clean upon our arrival. Shampoo, conditioner and bar soap were provided in the bathrooms along with pool towels. A washer/dryer combo was in the large master bedroom. The king bed was comfortable enough, but the cycling of the heater/blower was difficult to sleep through in the night. The TV in the master was an older, small tube style TV.

The living/dining kitchen area was rather small and we had some difficultly moving everything out of the way to use the sleeper sofa. 4 packets of dishwasher detergent were provided, along with hand dishwashing soap and a scrubber sponge. We used the coffee maker, toaster, micro, oven, fridge and dishwasher and all were clean and in good working order. The mid-size flat screen TV was fine and we did not use the DVD player.

The unit is attached to a 2 bedroom Deluxe Timber, which has many more features (porch, fireplace, etc.). We had neighbors during our stay and we could hear them going up and down their stairs and the TV and some conversation from the next unit. However, since we had small children, I think they heard us more than we heard them. It was slightly annoying. Additionally, I found the lighting in all areas of the unit, other than the bathroom to be very dim. One additional lamp in each main room would go a long way.

We used AT&T wifi and had a decent signal. The password is given when you check-in.

The check-in, check-out process went smoothly. A lovely older gentleman at the registration desk was very helpful and efficient. Also, we asked if they had any cookie sheets in the unit an they said they did not, but got one over two us within 15 minutes. I was very impressed with the service aspect of the stay.

I don't think the premises recycles which bothered me.

We very much enjoyed the pool although we didn't stay very long because the water is on the cold side. The pool area was clean, but I was bothered by no one enforcing the no drinks/food rules, esp. since some adults were even holding cans of beer in the water while "supervising" their children.

The resort is a few miles out of the Dells area, which I find to be preferable.

We did not use the ski areas, activities in the activity cabin or eat at Mulligans.

SUMMARY: A good, clean resort off the beaten path. Room for improvement in some areas, but outdated decor doesn't bother us. We would stay again if the price is right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Family getaway to celebrate our Jan b-days! 2 adults, 3 children (6,12,12). We had a 2 bedroom unit which was very spacious and felt like home EXCEPT for the dust and dirty blankets, the dishwasher rack was off the track and so was the bottom drawer of the oven. When we asked for new sheets (due to the strands of hair we found on the blankets) for the sofa bed and king in the master suite, it took more than hour to get them. The guy brought the wrong size sheets so he had to make two trips and each time he even asked us if we could put the sheets on ourselves. We politely told him that we would prefer that he did it himself. The pull out had tickets from Mt. Olympus which is about 10 minutes away, crumbs etc. It was not pretty.
Aside from the villa conditions, we had a great time skiing. Loved my 6 year old daughter's instructor Kerry. He was very patient, kind, professional and even gave the rest of us some tips for the rest of the day. No complaints on the staff for renting equipment, buying left tickets etc. They were great. We ate some brats, pretzals, fries etc during our break from skiing which was pretty yummy. Basic break food but not overpriced and pretty good.
We didn't go tubing the next day since it was so cold out but we did use the pool which was very nice for my 6 yr old. It is really geared for the little ones. Kind of wish they had a bigger pool for the big ones. The outdoor hot tub was fabulous.
All in all, great place but needs updates and a new housekeeping crew.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple River, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed here 15 years ago and it was wonderful. I went back with my family for Christmas and wondered if this was the right place. We stayed at a 2 bedroom townhouse. Upon opening the door we were met with the smell of stale butterscotch smell. Not very pleasant but I though you could attribute that to the place being closed up. The place looked clean upon closed inspection you could see that the crease of the stairs leading to the master bedroom had not been swept out or vacuumed in months. In the master bathroom the fiberglass base of the shower was grimy and dusty. The aluminum handle and frame of the shower had mildew and mold and slime buildup that I cleaned off with supplies I brought from home.

The living room rug had old gum stuck to it that had been there for what looked like years And the absolute worst was that a coverlet that was to be used for the pull out sofa had a grey pubic hair in the fibers. When we washed the blanket it actually came out 2 shades lighter. We were supposed to stay 7 days but we could not get comfortable knowing the place was not clean. We left early morning on day 5.

Now the skiining and tubing was nice and the price was reasonable. The staff was helpful and the kids had a good time.

We will not be returning to Christmas mountain. I just can't shake the dirty feeling. Yuck!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

OK so we checked in on New Years Eve and checked out 3 days latter.

We stayed in a 3 bedroom town home. Found a roach in the upstairs unit and lady bugs all over the rest of the unit. Other than that it was clean. However the sleeper sofa was unusable. The mattress was well super flat when the maintenance guy replaced it he addressed the issue about the torn supports. His words I wouldn't sleep on it.

Now on the the lies:
Can we have more trash bags? Yes they are on the way. Reality they never arrived
10% discount on property! Yea right 10% off only at Mulligans and only on lift tickets not on rentals or tubing.

So why do they get a 4 str review? Because we spent 3,375 point to stay at this BlueGreen Resort and when I called to address these issues the resort manager told me he would like to check into this and call me back later that day. Well... He called back and addressed the issues and credited us back 3,000 points in hopes we will try the resort again.

Also FYI the entire resort is undergoing renovations call and ask the resort what the odds of getting an updated unit are.

Room Tip: Town Homes have lots of stairs not handicap friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The cabins have serious design flaws that remodeling alone may not fix. Impossible to keep anywhere close to an even temperature inside. Appliances are old and poorly arranged. The dishwasher cannot be opened without hitting the fridge. The dishwashers in two cabins we had did not even work correctly. There is no clearly marked place to take trash to. Some quests would leave a bag by the driveway only to have racoons spread it around. The WiFi was basically non-existent in both cabins. Only by sitting by the window could you sometimes get a weak signal. The Ski rental setup is seriously flawed as well. Only enough space for a small crowd to navigate. Between Christmas and New Years the lines can easily take more than an hour to get through. Once through the line, you may find out there is no more equipment in your size. We are BlueGreen Platinum owners and have stayed at numerous properties. They said they are spending several million on improvements and refurbishment which I can only hope will fix the issues here. The mountain is a good size for beginners and the setting in the country is nice. But as it stands, Christmas Mountain is not up to par by any means.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Christmas Mountain Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christmas Mountain Village

Address: S944 Christmas Mountain Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christmas Mountain Village 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Christmas Mountain Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christmas Mountain Village Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Christmas Mountain Village Wisconsin Dells
Christmas Mountain Village Wi Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christmas Mountain Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.