We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Gasser Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 78 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Pewaukee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Although I have stayed at Wintergreen in the past, and always had a superior experience while there, I had decided to stay elsewhere during a recent trip to the Dells. Big mistake! On Day One I drove to the Wintergreen to ask about a room for the next several nights, and was greeted with the greatest respect and friendly service. Front desk clerk Danielle was outstanding. She found exactly the room I needed, at a great rate, and continued to serve with a smile throughout my stay. The grounds are spotless, the room clean and comfortable, the pools were very well maintained. Housekeeping was a little sloppy in making up the room, but I was able to overlook that, all things considered. I highly recommend the Wintergreen Resort and I will not stay any other place in the Dells.

Room Tip: I had a room near the pool and did not hear any pool noise after the doors were closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. This is exactly what we strive to achieve with our guests as we pride ourselves in our customer service. We have told housekeeping they did not do a satisfactory job and they need to step it up another knotch. We are, although, happy to know our front desk and hotel staff are doing their job making you feel comfortable. We look forward to you staying with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    95
    42
    31
    55
See reviews for
216
56
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Glarus, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just returned from a 1 night stay - wish it could have been more! We wanted a hotel w/ waterpark suited for young children, this couldn't have been more perfect! If you don't like all of the crowds at the bigger waterparks in the Dells, and aren't looking for huge waterslides, you should stay here! The price couldn't have been more reasonable, hotel was clean, room was very nice, loved the private balcony for each room, not crowded at all, and the staff was so friendly (Kittie became a quick friend - especially to my 5 year old son), We spent all day between the indoor and outdoor waterparks, which is totally perfect for families with young children. We could not get my son or daughter off the white slide in the indoor park! The water in both parks was nice and warm - we enjoyed it very much! My son would be disappointed if I didn't mention his new BFF "Shivers" the Polar Bear who greets every guest in the lobby. Nice touch for the kids.
Very kid friendly place, would highly recommend. We'll be back this winter for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
It's so wonderful to hear from such a great guest! We are so pleased you were "Pleasantly Surprised..." with your stay here. We're glad you were able to take advantage of both our inside and outside pool areas with your children.

Shivers is a nice "touch". You've got to get your picture taken with him when you stay at the Wintergreen Resort- he loves being in photos. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and myself just stayed there on August 16, 2013 and I have to say that I really loved it. When we walked in I was immediately greeted by Kittie and she was awesome and she made us feel right at home and she explained the hotel to us and she gave a room right away, we did not have to wait! My room was a Jacuzzi with a King size bed and we were amazed how clean it was and the people there are very attentive and very helpful with questions that you might have. Even though we stayed one night we will be back. We also went to eat the next morning in their restaurant and the food was awesome (we even heard some people say how nice and hot they keep the buffet). Thank you so much for making us feel right at home. Also, Samantha was very nice as well. I definitely recommend this hotel to couples and especially with kids. Thank you Kittie and Samantha. See you guys soon!

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and we could open the patio door and see the Tanger Mall from there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review on the Wintergreen Resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our Superior Whirlpool rooms (one king bed, in-room jacuzzi, and pull out sofa sleeper). We're glad you noticed our employees attentiveness to guests as we try to do whatever we can to help make your stay as enjoyable as we can.

The restaurant on site is an excellent addition and adds to much convenience when stayed. It is open 7am- 2pm and you can get a 10% coupon off your bill from us when checking in. There also is a lounge on-site, which offers "happy hour" specials (buy one drink, get a rail drink FREE from 5pm-7pm).

We appreciate your kind words and cannot wait for you to come visit us again! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My daughter and son in law had the most bueatiful wedding at the wintergreen. The resort was clean and everyone was so friendly and very helpful. From reservations to Shirley the head of all the wedding arangements. The bartender in the lounge was great and lots of fun. They went out of their way to do anything to help us out for the wedding. Absolutely wonderful. I completely recemend this resort even for a one nite stay. the beds were comfortable and rooms were very clean. Enjoyed it very much. Darlene W

Room Tip: We had 1st floor with patio doors toward the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
The staff at the Wintergreen Resort feels privilaged to be a part of your daughter and son in law's special day. It's wedding blocks like yours which make it fun and an honor. The Grand Ballroom is an absolutely stunning location for receptions and,, in fact we have also had many wedding ceremonies held in there as well. We have several other meeting spaces which can be transformed into lovely areas for receptions as well, meetings, or hospitality rooms for reunions and get-to-togethers. The group department can help you find exactly what will work best for you.

We are so happy everything turned out so perfectly and cannot wait for you to come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Beloit, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We decided on Wintergreen Resort after many hours of price checking and size of the resorts. It's not a fancy upscale hotel but exactly what we hoped for. Very clean and comfortable. The microwave and frig was a plus. We didn't want to go to a large resort as we wanted to do the other Dells attractions, but wanted a nice hotel at a moderate price. Wintergreen totally fit for us. I needed a room for 6 and the room we requested was 2 queens and a sofabed. Perfect! When I called the very patient woman at reservations didn't rush me and gave me so much information on the hotel. I wish I would have gotten her name to thank her. You get many coupons for the attractions and the front desk clerk was very helpful and smiled when we walked in. The kids are 7, 9 & 11 and they loved the inside pool with the slide as it was shallow as they don't swim much. They didn't go into the other inside pool much as that started at 3 feet deep and the adults didn't go swimming. They enjoyed the pools outside too but it was a bit cool in the evening. We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on that. I'm sure we will go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you call the hotel and don't book online as they have even better prices. Our 2nd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It's always helpful to know how we're doing and it sounds like (to you) we're doing alright! We're so happy the reservationist was able to find a room to accomodate your needs so perfectly. We do have several different room types (i.e. two room suites which hold four and six, whirlpool suites, standard queen and king rooms, etc) so there are many options to choose from. We're glad you let us know exactly what you were looking for so we could help make you as comfortable as possible.

The pool areas are perfect for kids around 10 and under. Inside there's a 50 ft slide with play area, regular sized pool with basket ball hoop, and jacuzzi. Outside there's a 100 ft slide, 7 areas to swim, waterfalls, playground and another water play area for the smaller of our guests.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to have you back. We have some excellent deals/specials, so make sure you ask!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here recently on a 2-day stay in the Dells. Surrounded by some mega-waterpark resorts, the Wintergreen can seem small and a little dated by comparison. The price was very good, especially for those that can get a military/government rate. Reservations upgraded us to a whirlpool king-bed room on the first floor, facing the pool. We were originally going to stay at the Best Western, which gives you free passes to Chula Vista waterpark, but after reading the reviews and checking out the website, this hotel seemed better suited for our 2-year old. We didn't have to worry about nap times and parking and the indoor splashpark and waterslide were perfect for her.

The room was nice and clean with a door that led to a small playground and the outdoor pool. We slept well enough and noise was never an issue. The interior is more budget than luxury with some aging going on, but I thought it added more to the hotel's character, and I wasn't expecting luxury for the price I was paying. Nor were my expectations very high.

The staff and reservations were both friendly. We got a complimentary 2-for-1 Dells Splash Pass and numerous coupons, but we didn't eat at the hotel's restaurant or bar. It is within easy walking distance of a number of restuarants and the outlet mall, though there aren't any immediate sidewalks or crosswalks to get to any of these. It's only a couple miles from Noah's Ark, Mt. Olympus, and Kalahari resorts as well as downtown Dells.

The hotel, its location, and its pools were perfect for our small children, but if I was to visit the Dells again, especially with older children, I'd look at the bigger resorts like Wilderness or Great Wolf Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our resort to let us know how we're doing. We do have and indoor pool perfectly suited to your two year old. Although it's not always an option, we do have first floor rooms with patios facing the outdoor pool area and playground.

The hotel does have a Victorian theme which then does give it more of a "vintage feel". Much of the wallpaper and carpet is specially ordered to try to really grasp this theme.

During this summer, we did give a Splashpass and Fun Card to our guests. These are two-for-one cards for area attractions, restaurants, and stores. We also offer many other coupons for specific attractions as well. We also offered discounted tickets to several of the area waterparks, so make sure you ask! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for our vacation in the Dells, and found that this was great for our 2 toddlers. The pool has good hours, and they have an inside and outside park for whatever weather conditions. Nice facility, friendly, helpful staff. Lots of coupons were presented to us when we checked in, and we were really able to make the most out of our Dells experience. If you have young kids up to kindergarten age, this is a great resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on the Wintergreen Resort. The waterpark area was built for children under the age of 10; However, there is a full-size pool with jacuzzi as well so also is enjoyable for other age groups. We're glad your toddlers enjoyed the pools.

The outdoor waterpark has seven additional pools, with a 100 foot slide, a playground, and several areas to sun bathe. We're glad you noticed the friendliness of the staff and the additional coupons offered at check-in. Those are (as you stated) to help to "make the most of [your] Dells experience." We hope you will come see us again when you're in the Dells next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center

Address: 60 Gasser Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#25 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wintergreen Resort is perfect for your next meeting, group function, or family vacation. Relax and enjoy our indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, and children's water facilities. Our convenient onsite restaurant and lounge are sure to please any appetite.  If  searching for a romantic getaway, our whirlpool rooms will accommodate every couple with room service and special packages. Centrally located just off I90 makes it a perfect location for all to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wintergreen Resort And Conference Center
Wintergreen Wisconsin Dells
Wintergreen Resort Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.