We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful amazing wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Gasser Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 78 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
1 review
“wonderful amazing wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My daughter and son in law had the most bueatiful wedding at the wintergreen. The resort was clean and everyone was so friendly and very helpful. From reservations to Shirley the head of all the wedding arangements. The bartender in the lounge was great and lots of fun. They went out of their way to do anything to help us out for the wedding. Absolutely wonderful. I completely recemend this resort even for a one nite stay. the beds were comfortable and rooms were very clean. Enjoyed it very much. Darlene W

Room Tip: We had 1st floor with patio doors toward the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
The staff at the Wintergreen Resort feels privilaged to be a part of your daughter and son in law's special day. It's wedding blocks like yours which make it fun and an honor. The Grand Ballroom is an absolutely stunning location for receptions and,, in fact we have also had many wedding ceremonies held in there as well. We have several other meeting spaces which can be transformed into lovely areas for receptions as well, meetings, or hospitality rooms for reunions and get-to-togethers. The group department can help you find exactly what will work best for you.

We are so happy everything turned out so perfectly and cannot wait for you to come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    95
    42
    31
    55
See reviews for
216
56
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Beloit, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We decided on Wintergreen Resort after many hours of price checking and size of the resorts. It's not a fancy upscale hotel but exactly what we hoped for. Very clean and comfortable. The microwave and frig was a plus. We didn't want to go to a large resort as we wanted to do the other Dells attractions, but wanted a nice hotel at a moderate price. Wintergreen totally fit for us. I needed a room for 6 and the room we requested was 2 queens and a sofabed. Perfect! When I called the very patient woman at reservations didn't rush me and gave me so much information on the hotel. I wish I would have gotten her name to thank her. You get many coupons for the attractions and the front desk clerk was very helpful and smiled when we walked in. The kids are 7, 9 & 11 and they loved the inside pool with the slide as it was shallow as they don't swim much. They didn't go into the other inside pool much as that started at 3 feet deep and the adults didn't go swimming. They enjoyed the pools outside too but it was a bit cool in the evening. We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on that. I'm sure we will go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you call the hotel and don't book online as they have even better prices. Our 2nd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It's always helpful to know how we're doing and it sounds like (to you) we're doing alright! We're so happy the reservationist was able to find a room to accomodate your needs so perfectly. We do have several different room types (i.e. two room suites which hold four and six, whirlpool suites, standard queen and king rooms, etc) so there are many options to choose from. We're glad you let us know exactly what you were looking for so we could help make you as comfortable as possible.

The pool areas are perfect for kids around 10 and under. Inside there's a 50 ft slide with play area, regular sized pool with basket ball hoop, and jacuzzi. Outside there's a 100 ft slide, 7 areas to swim, waterfalls, playground and another water play area for the smaller of our guests.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to have you back. We have some excellent deals/specials, so make sure you ask!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here recently on a 2-day stay in the Dells. Surrounded by some mega-waterpark resorts, the Wintergreen can seem small and a little dated by comparison. The price was very good, especially for those that can get a military/government rate. Reservations upgraded us to a whirlpool king-bed room on the first floor, facing the pool. We were originally going to stay at the Best Western, which gives you free passes to Chula Vista waterpark, but after reading the reviews and checking out the website, this hotel seemed better suited for our 2-year old. We didn't have to worry about nap times and parking and the indoor splashpark and waterslide were perfect for her.

The room was nice and clean with a door that led to a small playground and the outdoor pool. We slept well enough and noise was never an issue. The interior is more budget than luxury with some aging going on, but I thought it added more to the hotel's character, and I wasn't expecting luxury for the price I was paying. Nor were my expectations very high.

The staff and reservations were both friendly. We got a complimentary 2-for-1 Dells Splash Pass and numerous coupons, but we didn't eat at the hotel's restaurant or bar. It is within easy walking distance of a number of restuarants and the outlet mall, though there aren't any immediate sidewalks or crosswalks to get to any of these. It's only a couple miles from Noah's Ark, Mt. Olympus, and Kalahari resorts as well as downtown Dells.

The hotel, its location, and its pools were perfect for our small children, but if I was to visit the Dells again, especially with older children, I'd look at the bigger resorts like Wilderness or Great Wolf Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our resort to let us know how we're doing. We do have and indoor pool perfectly suited to your two year old. Although it's not always an option, we do have first floor rooms with patios facing the outdoor pool area and playground.

The hotel does have a Victorian theme which then does give it more of a "vintage feel". Much of the wallpaper and carpet is specially ordered to try to really grasp this theme.

During this summer, we did give a Splashpass and Fun Card to our guests. These are two-for-one cards for area attractions, restaurants, and stores. We also offer many other coupons for specific attractions as well. We also offered discounted tickets to several of the area waterparks, so make sure you ask! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for our vacation in the Dells, and found that this was great for our 2 toddlers. The pool has good hours, and they have an inside and outside park for whatever weather conditions. Nice facility, friendly, helpful staff. Lots of coupons were presented to us when we checked in, and we were really able to make the most out of our Dells experience. If you have young kids up to kindergarten age, this is a great resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on the Wintergreen Resort. The waterpark area was built for children under the age of 10; However, there is a full-size pool with jacuzzi as well so also is enjoyable for other age groups. We're glad your toddlers enjoyed the pools.

The outdoor waterpark has seven additional pools, with a 100 foot slide, a playground, and several areas to sun bathe. We're glad you noticed the friendliness of the staff and the additional coupons offered at check-in. Those are (as you stated) to help to "make the most of [your] Dells experience." We hope you will come see us again when you're in the Dells next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Every year we do a family trip to the Dells,my daughter,grand-daughter,sister and her family which includes 2 daughters,son-in-laws, and 3 grand-daughters. My daughter and I have stayed at the Wintergreen for many years mainly for the location,close to my sister's condo, to the x-pressway,and to restaurants we like (Monks,Marleys) and also for the hotel's accomodations. We were pleasantly surprised this year to find they had done some renovations and the room we stayed in was one that matched one of a 4 star hotel with bedding,furniture and a flat screen TV!!! We have enjoyed the indoor pool especially this year when the weather didn't cooperate and we had a cold spell at the end of July ! We enjoyed the cozy bar having my extended family come over and play Catch Phrase there, being the only ones there til closing. I also give kudos to the manager,Kittie, who was willing to work with me, as a returning guest,to give me pricing comparable to other hotels in the area, it was greatly appreciated! I also give kudos to the housekeeping staff for our honoring our requests quickly. Thanks to everyone at the Wintergreen. See you next year!!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello!
It's so wonderful to hear from our returning guests and we must say "thank you" for coming back year after year. You are correct we recently have done some major renovations to our rooms funishings. Of these include: flat screen tvs, desks, dressers, head boards, etc. The lounge is an excellent place to relax and unwind. We're glad you noticed the staffs efforts to make your stay enjoyable with us. We can't wait to see you next year (hopefully the weather will cooperate for you!). Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Wintergreen Resort. We were just passing through the Dells and this place was jsut fine for us. Unfortunately, we came during an unusually cold week in July so we couldn't enjoy the outdoor water park. But my kids did enjoy the indoor water park. It seemed ok. It needs a little bit of work to freshen it up some. There are areas that were showing lots of wear and had rusty spots. Our room was very nice. We had a 1st floor double room and it was really nice to be able to park right outside our room and load everything in through the sliding door. The room was neat and clean. It had typical furnishing and linens for a budget hotel. Nothing luxurious but I didn't expect that at this hotel. The bathroom was very small and I could hardly turn around in it. The sink was located outside the bathroom. Our toilet was not secured very well and moved when you went to sit down on it. My kids want to come back to the Dells and stay at this place again. I personally would like to go to one of the bigger resorts as this one mostly caters to the younger crowd. Children older than 7 would most likely not have as much fun at this place. But if you have young children, then this is the perfect place for you.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on the Wintergreen Resort. We also appreciate you bringing to our attention some of the items you noticed in our indoor kids area. These have been noted and the maintenance department has been notified of these. Thank you also for letting us know of the toilet issue, these are issues we cannot fix if we do not know of them, so thank you again. The Wintergreen is catered more towards children 10 and under if you're looking for the "waterpark fun". Make sure to check out the coupons we have for area waterparks and attractions (this could definitely benefit you). Thank you for your feedback; we hope you chose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, IL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family stayed at the Wintergreen on the advice of a friend who travels to the Dells frequently. We were looking for a low-cost option that did not include water park tickets and this fit the bill. The hotel itself was 2 1/2 stars, but clean and well-maintained. We got a very reasonable rate off the hotel's web site (under $100 per night)... much better than what I found at the Holiday Inn Express. While this hotel does not include breakfast in the room rate, they give you a coupon for kids to eat free in the hotel restaurant for each paying adult. When I added up the low room added breakfast cost against the nightly room rate at the Holiday Inn, this was a no brainer. We may have found more upgraded facilities elsewhere, but for our needs on this trip (just a place to crash), it was the perfect fit.

The kids did enjoy the small indoor play area (kiddie slides, small pool and a hot tub) in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are so glad you chose to stay with us at the Wintergreen Resort. We do try to work around the competion in Wisconsin Dells with our prices. Although, we do not have a continental breakfast, our full-service sit down restaurant has a wonderful selection of off the menu items (every day) and breakfast buffet (Saturday and Sunday). The indoor pool area with places for small kids to swim along with a 50ft slide, are ideal for kids under 10; however, there is a whirlpool and full-sized pool (with basketball hoop) as well. Thank you for your feedback. We hope you choose to come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center

Address: 60 Gasser Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#25 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wintergreen Resort is perfect for your next meeting, group function, or family vacation. Relax and enjoy our indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, and children's water facilities. Our convenient onsite restaurant and lounge are sure to please any appetite.  If  searching for a romantic getaway, our whirlpool rooms will accommodate every couple with room service and special packages. Centrally located just off I90 makes it a perfect location for all to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wintergreen Resort And Conference Center
Wintergreen Wisconsin Dells
Wintergreen Resort Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.