We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once a year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Gasser Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 78 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Bolingbrook, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Once a year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Every year we do a family trip to the Dells,my daughter,grand-daughter,sister and her family which includes 2 daughters,son-in-laws, and 3 grand-daughters. My daughter and I have stayed at the Wintergreen for many years mainly for the location,close to my sister's condo, to the x-pressway,and to restaurants we like (Monks,Marleys) and also for the hotel's accomodations. We were pleasantly surprised this year to find they had done some renovations and the room we stayed in was one that matched one of a 4 star hotel with bedding,furniture and a flat screen TV!!! We have enjoyed the indoor pool especially this year when the weather didn't cooperate and we had a cold spell at the end of July ! We enjoyed the cozy bar having my extended family come over and play Catch Phrase there, being the only ones there til closing. I also give kudos to the manager,Kittie, who was willing to work with me, as a returning guest,to give me pricing comparable to other hotels in the area, it was greatly appreciated! I also give kudos to the housekeeping staff for our honoring our requests quickly. Thanks to everyone at the Wintergreen. See you next year!!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello!
It's so wonderful to hear from our returning guests and we must say "thank you" for coming back year after year. You are correct we recently have done some major renovations to our rooms funishings. Of these include: flat screen tvs, desks, dressers, head boards, etc. The lounge is an excellent place to relax and unwind. We're glad you noticed the staffs efforts to make your stay enjoyable with us. We can't wait to see you next year (hopefully the weather will cooperate for you!). Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    93
    40
    31
    55
See reviews for
209
56
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Wintergreen Resort. We were just passing through the Dells and this place was jsut fine for us. Unfortunately, we came during an unusually cold week in July so we couldn't enjoy the outdoor water park. But my kids did enjoy the indoor water park. It seemed ok. It needs a little bit of work to freshen it up some. There are areas that were showing lots of wear and had rusty spots. Our room was very nice. We had a 1st floor double room and it was really nice to be able to park right outside our room and load everything in through the sliding door. The room was neat and clean. It had typical furnishing and linens for a budget hotel. Nothing luxurious but I didn't expect that at this hotel. The bathroom was very small and I could hardly turn around in it. The sink was located outside the bathroom. Our toilet was not secured very well and moved when you went to sit down on it. My kids want to come back to the Dells and stay at this place again. I personally would like to go to one of the bigger resorts as this one mostly caters to the younger crowd. Children older than 7 would most likely not have as much fun at this place. But if you have young children, then this is the perfect place for you.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on the Wintergreen Resort. We also appreciate you bringing to our attention some of the items you noticed in our indoor kids area. These have been noted and the maintenance department has been notified of these. Thank you also for letting us know of the toilet issue, these are issues we cannot fix if we do not know of them, so thank you again. The Wintergreen is catered more towards children 10 and under if you're looking for the "waterpark fun". Make sure to check out the coupons we have for area waterparks and attractions (this could definitely benefit you). Thank you for your feedback; we hope you chose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, IL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family stayed at the Wintergreen on the advice of a friend who travels to the Dells frequently. We were looking for a low-cost option that did not include water park tickets and this fit the bill. The hotel itself was 2 1/2 stars, but clean and well-maintained. We got a very reasonable rate off the hotel's web site (under $100 per night)... much better than what I found at the Holiday Inn Express. While this hotel does not include breakfast in the room rate, they give you a coupon for kids to eat free in the hotel restaurant for each paying adult. When I added up the low room added breakfast cost against the nightly room rate at the Holiday Inn, this was a no brainer. We may have found more upgraded facilities elsewhere, but for our needs on this trip (just a place to crash), it was the perfect fit.

The kids did enjoy the small indoor play area (kiddie slides, small pool and a hot tub) in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are so glad you chose to stay with us at the Wintergreen Resort. We do try to work around the competion in Wisconsin Dells with our prices. Although, we do not have a continental breakfast, our full-service sit down restaurant has a wonderful selection of off the menu items (every day) and breakfast buffet (Saturday and Sunday). The indoor pool area with places for small kids to swim along with a 50ft slide, are ideal for kids under 10; however, there is a whirlpool and full-sized pool (with basketball hoop) as well. Thank you for your feedback. We hope you choose to come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhinelander
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here 10 yrs ago. Came back. First night the water areas were freezing cold. Blew it off went sightseeing etc. next day waterpark still freezing. Not cold. Freezing. Like ice water mentioned to lady who said "oh our heaters went out sat" we checked in sunday-no courtesy call to arriving guests? We then went into the indoor pool area-which was FLOODED to the point you couldnt tell where stairs were even to pool or hot tub. Same ladys response "oh its happened before maintenance should fix it not my fault" ok at $170 a night we now cant use any of their water parks in the "waterpark capitol" so said lady tells me shes the manager as im saying im checking out with my kids and wanted a refund for 2nd night whilst the REAL manager comes up to ask whats going on. Hmmm so yes i got a refund still paid for first night tho and found an AMAZING hotel with 100% more to do for $40 less per night. Bottom line-they dont take care of their hotel and waterparks dont care about guest safety (flooded area) and desk clerks pass themselves off as mgt to avoid real mgt finding out about their screwups. Oh dont forget their "sister" hotel carousel inn which is scary dirty and has drunks lingering by all entrances. No thank you. And yes i work in the hotel industry.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Guest Relations Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Mary R,

We regret that your stay with us was so disappointing. Unfortunately things do go wrong sometimes, and you know the saying, "when it rains it pours". But we do regret the lack of professionalism from our staff that you are describing. That is absolutely not acceptable, and we are grateful that the manager was able to come and assist you. We do thank you for taking to time to give us your valuable feedback and we wish you happy travels where ever you go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I wanted to get a room with a hot tub in the room. We found one at the Wintergreen for $129 in peek season, with a king bed. The room was very nice, we had a problem with the sink and they quickly gave us a new room. It was only my husband and I so we didn't go to the pool, but it looked quite large, but it was pretty full with small children I was happy to have the hot tub to enjoy without all the children around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Wintergreen Resort. We appreciate you letting us know how the staff is taking care of the guests here. The whirlpool suites you were able to take advantage of are beautiful rooms with a king bed, in-room whirlpool and pull out sofa sleeper. The privacy of the whirlpool can make for a very romantic weekend getaway. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just went on a 5 night stay at Wintergreen and enjoyed it this year as well as last. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Pools and slides were great fun for our daughter and outside hot tub was great for us! We all enjoyed the clean outdoor swimming areas, even though the weather was a tad colder than normal. Had the breakfast buffet and the pecan French toast is delicious! Really like the location of this hotel and is close to so many other restaurants and yet far away from the hustle and bustle of the busy downtown areas. The best thing is that it is across from Knuckleheads (a great game room w/4D movie theater) and Buffalo Phil's (Exquisite Log Style Restaurant w/prime food and train delivered to kids)...really something to experience if you haven't before!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Great to hear from you again! We're glad you took the time to review our resort. With being a smaller resort, all rooms have an advantage of some sort. Some are nearer to the indoor pool, some are nearer to the outdoor pool, specific meeting rooms, etc. We try to fill the requests of all our guests with whatever we have availability for. We're so glad you were happy with our service to you. We're excited to have you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I went to wintergreen resort about 8 years ago it was fantastic. Changes have occured but not for the good. Decor is pleasant but the bedding was stinky like ol sweaty people. Appeared as if they just flipped the sheets upside down and called it done. The carpeting was thick but mud spots not washed out by the patio door. Very noisy on weekends no quiet time. We had breakfast buffet at the restaurant. Very good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for coming back to visit us at the Wintergreen Resort. The service and cleanliness of our rooms is important to us. We will pass all of your concerns onto our staff and management. The Wintergreen did purchase all new bedspreads this spring as well as new mattress, sheets, pillows, and new furniture. We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet in the restaurant. The Wintergreen has security in place on busy evenings to keep the noise under control. We are always working on improving. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Sincerely;
Shirley Lewandowski
Sales Manager
Wintergreen Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center

Address: 60 Gasser Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#24 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wintergreen Resort is perfect for your next meeting, group function, or family vacation. Relax and enjoy our indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, and children's water facilities. Our convenient onsite restaurant and lounge are sure to please any appetite.  If  searching for a romantic getaway, our whirlpool rooms will accommodate every couple with room service and special packages. Centrally located just off I90 makes it a perfect location for all to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wintergreen Resort And Conference Center
Wintergreen Wisconsin Dells
Wintergreen Resort Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.