We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a "Fall" Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Gasser Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 78 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just a "Fall" Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our accommondations at the Wintergreen were wonderful. The resort staff was great from the minute we arrived, to the morning that we checked out. We even stayed an extra night. Our stay was amazing and we really enjoyed the indoor pool and poolside bar. The staff was awesome and made great drinks in the bar. We ate breakfast in the restaurant and it was very good as well. The services was great, the resort was very clean, the room was very nice, and a great place to stay. We really loved it and will definitely come back to the Wintergreen again. Thanks again to all of the staff, especially Ashley, who was very helpful !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a few words about your stay at our resort. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities within the the building as well including our lounge and restauant on site. We're glad our employees were able to help make your trip enjoyable as well. We can't wait to have you come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    93
    40
    31
    55
See reviews for
209
56
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a lovely time. I took my husband there for three days and it was lovely. Are last two nights was at the resort. When we first got there my husband did not no anything about this resort so he thought that it would be boring. The day of our anniversary we check in and I found that they had a romantic package that was cheat enough to afford. So I was trying to get it but my husband was been noise as usually. So to make a long story short the lady at the desk slip it into the room when I took him out to dinner. To say that the people were very friendly. Will take care of any problem that you might have. Good place to enjoy your self. Had eight kids it was a joy to get a way from them. Also had a heart jazzcuzi in the room to relax. Then when he came back home he was ready to come against the team again. Over all it is a nice place and I would do it again and again. This year he has to top me will he I don't think so !!!!!!!!!!!!!! To be continued.

Room Tip: Choose the romantic room and enjoy don't for the romanace package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We are so happy that we were able to be a part of your special day. The romance package is a wonderful deal and for $50 you not only get a rose in the room, but you also get to enjoy breakfast/lunch at the restaurant the next day! The whirlpools suites are a great way to make trips away just a little more romantic as well. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

In Aug 2012 my family had our Family Reunion at the Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center. The Service was over the top we had a great time during our stay there. We had such a great time we are coming back next year for our 2013 Family Reunion. If we had any questions all we had to do is go or call the front desk and they had no problem helping us out. Down to the clean accommodations, the indoor and outside pools, friendly staff and good food it was a wonderful experience.

Thanks again Wintergreen Staff, we will see you next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are so glad your family chose to have their family reunion at our resort. We always have such a good time with the reunions that come through, and your family was right in that category. The front desk tries to accomodate our guests however we can. We are so happy your stay was satisfactory! We can't wait to see you this next year either.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I usually do not take the time to do these but thought I should considering this is really the ONLY place I stay when I go to the dells. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the staff (thanks Shirley) - amazing! My girlfriends and I prefer to stay there for our "Girls Getaways". We love the location (right off the interstate), with in walking distance to shop, eat, bowl, spa & club. And there are tons of things that are just a short drive away - casino, movies, comedy club, magic show..... It doesn't get much better, oh WAIT! It does, the price - it is SO reasonable to stay there. Then you have a little extra to spend at the mall, dining, casino, bowling, clubing - you get the picture.

I can't say enough about the Wintergreen. I have also taking my kids (3 boys) and stayed and loved it, I love that you do not have to fight your way to get through the resort. I, myself can not stand having 20,000 people around me and this is the perfect balance. There is water features for the kids but enough breathing room for mom. These little things in my life I call "The icing on the cake"

Love this place and can't wait to go back again!!!
Thank You Wintergreen,
Rebecca T

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are so happy you decided to stay and have your "girls getaway" with us. The location is great to eat and even get some convenient shopping in as we are walking distance to Tanger Outlet mall. The attractions in the area are amazing and cannot be explained unless you are able to experience them.

The water area is perfect for your kids ages and parents can also sit and relax in our hot tub or pool (or even shoot a couple of baskets with the basketball hoop). We're glad we can be your "icing on the cake" and cannot wait for you to come visit us again! We appreciate you as one of our returning guests. Thank you for visiting us year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Halfway through labor day weekend we decided to get out of town and the Dells seemed like a good choice. We wanted to stay at a hotel with a small water play area for our two young children (2 & 4) and not spend a lot of money. Wintergreen was perfect for our needs.

Pros:

1. Clean accommodations
2. Staff was very friendly and helpful
3. Free Mt. Olympus waterpark tickets at check in (we didn't use these but many others must have which really freed up the hotels pools--we had the indoor one to ourselves)
4. Good happy hour deals for poolside beverages
5. Spacious room
6. Reasonable price for a holiday weekend (gave us better deal when we called rather than looking on line)
7. Pool areas perfect for little ones
8. Good location right off of the highway-- walking distance to some fast food options, outlet mall, Buffalo Phils train restaurant and Knuckleheads

Cons:

1. Decor is outdated (LOTS of floral wallpaper), but this wasn't a big deal for us at all
2. Beds not very comfortable (kids slept on sleeper sofa, I don't think as adults we could have)
3. Breakfast at the hotel was mediocre and EXPENSIVE--$40 bucks for 2 adult and 2 kid buffets and the food was blah. We even had a coupon from the front desk for free kids meals but they didn't count with the buffet meals and drinks were a la carte.

Bottom line: If you have young children who love to splash and want a place to get away for a night at a good rate, Wintergreen is great. If you are looking for a large, modern resort with lots of waterpark amenities look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel and found it to be a good choice for your Labor Day weekend.

We are constantly updating and renovating our hotel; the deocr is a traditional Victorian theme thus it does have lots of floral wallpaper. That is a period decor not outdated. We recently replaced all of our bedding with pillow-top mattresses and our guests have raved about how much they like our beds. Unfortunately, we cannot put pillowtop mattresses on sleeper sofas. They never are very comfortable, but we will continue to look for ones that are better for our younger guests (who generally sleep on them.)

We are very sorry to hear about your poor restaurant experience. We have many locals who come year around for our breakfast buffet as it is reasonably priced at $9.95 for adults and $5.95 for children. They love our pecan french toast, biscuits and gravy, homemade pancakes and breakfast pastries; fresh fruit, scrambled egges, ham and sausage and au gratin potatoes.

All of our food is homemade daily and we have been serving vistors to the Dells in our restaurant for over 50 years. Hopefully next time you visit we can have you try our restaurant again. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

At the last minute we dicided to go on a mini vacation. Two motorcyclists out on the open road week of Labor Day holiday . We arrived in the Dells and happened upon the Wintergreen Resort. We of course were looking for the best room rate stay. How would we have known that it would be the BEST HOTEL experience ever. We met Ashley and Kittie the manager and found ourselves being totally welcomed. They moved a few reservations around to accomidate us for our needs. They gave us a room that would allow us the comfort of watching our "babies" (Harley Davidson motorcycles.) They were able to assist us with BIG park venues with discounted tickets as well as, where to dine. They were so, accomidating and very appreciated by us. We have traveled alot and for sure will go back. The enitre staff was so welcoming and pleasant including housekeeping. Everyone made us fell apart of "their family". Thank you to all your staff for making our stay away from home fill like we were at HOME.

Room Tip: Be willing to tell them your needs. They will do what they can to accomidate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
It's great to hear from you guys! We all know what it is to have "babies" to watch and we are happy we were able to accomodate your needs. We're glad you were also able to take advantage of our coupons and discounted tickets to the parks in the area. It's always wonderful when we're able to help add to family's/couple's trips. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us; we can't express our appreciate for it. We can't wait to have you come see us again and bring your "babies" again (when it gets warmer of course).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockford,il
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was looking for a non high priced experience to take my family on. i chose here and it was awesome. Clean. staff is great. we loved the place. breakfast was great. we cant wait to go back. trust me im all about customer service and takes allot for me to be happy and they did it. YOU WANT AND NEED TO GO HERE.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen2285, Manager at Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we all thank you for your great review. As a staff, we do all we can to make sure everyone's experience is a great one. Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center

Address: 60 Gasser Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#24 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wintergreen Resort is perfect for your next meeting, group function, or family vacation. Relax and enjoy our indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, and children's water facilities. Our convenient onsite restaurant and lounge are sure to please any appetite.  If  searching for a romantic getaway, our whirlpool rooms will accommodate every couple with room service and special packages. Centrally located just off I90 makes it a perfect location for all to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wintergreen Resort And Conference Center
Wintergreen Wisconsin Dells
Wintergreen Resort Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.