We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, Friendly staff,kids loved pools, especially slides!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center to your Saves list
Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Gasser Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, Friendly staff,kids loved pools, especially slides!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We visit Wisconsin Dells one-two times per summer and usually stay at the Flamingo (or similar motel). This year I didn't want to deal with the urine-smelling, disgusting rooms so we tried Wintergreen Resort mainly because they offer free Noah's Ark tickets. What a pleasant surprise! The adjoining rooms were clean, fairly spacious and had a fridge and microwave. I am a freak about cleanliness and travel with a can of lysol so it was great to see that the sheets and bathrooms, sink, etc were clean at the Wintergreen. There are outside and indoor pools-the outside has a large hot tub and two pools (one has a fairly high slide with a lifeguard at the top-so it is only open until 6 or 7 p.m.) There is one indoor pool and a kiddie area with a slide and other activities which my children just loved! Only complaint is that the pool area could use a paint job. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Upon check in we were given discount coupons for the hotel lounge (enjoyed one beverage and it was good) and restaurant (did not try) as well as discounts to Knuckleheads bowling and arcade. Although this hotel is off the main downtown area (it is next to Great Wolf Lodge and across street from Kahlahari) it was convenient to walk to McDonalds or Knuckleheads. We really enjoyed our stay and plan to go back! Prices were obviously higher than the motels downtown but so worth it!!

Room Tip: We had a first floor room, poolside, with patio so it was convenient to get to pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    101
    43
    32
    56
See reviews for
220
60
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mukwonago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We booked this room as a pre-night to going to Noah's Ark. We got special pricing thanks to Culver's resturaunt. Look for their card at any of their resturants. Lots of buy one get one deals. Anyway we were upgraded to a family suite for no extra charge and had a pool view. My children are 6-8-and 10 yrs old. It was entertaining for them but I don't know about for older kids. Pools were plenty warm. Although not enough lights for the outside pool at night. Lifeguards were a little scary. Room was average. Beds were comfortable. Lots of ugly rose wallpaper. Only other complaint was that we checked in at 2:30 and found out at 5PM that my husband's grandfather was killed in a car accident. We wanted to check out and there was no getting our room charge back. That left a sour taste in our mouthes. :(

Room Tip: As about the Culvers deal. They didn't ask for the coupon but you have mention it on the phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I booked a one night stay to our annual trip to Wis. Dells.....not overly impressed with this hotel for the $$. The outside looked lovely and clean, but the rooms were VERY small, and not the cleanest. It feels like they are trying to get as many rooms packed in as possilbe for the resort town. The stay did come with 2 Noah's Ark tickets, but I doubt I will go back again. Overall, not the worse i've ever seen, but definitely not the homey, comfty, clean feeling I like to see in hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Booked this hotel by calling the property, it was a last minute trip. We were given a 3rd floor room which I requested. The desk staff were very professional and courteous. The room itself was decorated in a Victorian theme. It was very clean. It was quiet, heard no noise from other hotel guests. My man complaint about the room was the beds. Very uncomfortable. I would stay there again in the future if a better sleep system were in place.
The room did contain a tiny fridge and microwave. The bathtub did not drain properly. The air conditioner was window type, and was a little noisy.
We did not get a chance to use the pools, but did take a look at them and they looked great, especially for young kids. We did not use the restaurant either so can not speak to that. We have stayed at multiple places in the dells, this is a good middle of the road hotel. I really liked the quietness while we were there, but really did not sleep because the beds were really uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

All in all a nice hotel. Good location - close to the parkway, but not too close. Lots of restaurants nearby. Clean rooms, but beds a little hard and thin towels. Nice indoor and outdoor pool areas. No complaints. Good - but not great - value for price paid.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here on the second half of our trip to the Dells. We have been to the Wintergreen several times and keep coming back for the same reason -- it is the nicest hotel in regards to rooms, staff, and location, in the Dells. The waterpark doesn't compare to Blackwolf or Wilderness, but I like the rooms and the general feel of the hotel better. Plus, it's a great deal and an easy drive to any of the Dells attractions. Ask about their packages...we always get Noah's Ark tickets through the hotel which is a better deal than staying at one of the "waterpark hotels". Plus, Noah's is the best waterpark.

We'll be back in 2 months.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We spent 2 nights at the resort and it was a nice experience.The first impression was very positive,the lobby was clean,staff friendly.Our room was also in a fair shape.However,the sleeper sofa wasn't very comfortable and made a noise whenever you moved.On the other hand the king bed was pretty good,so make sure you reserve a room with beds and not sleeper sofas.The water in the indoor pool was warm and kids enjoyed the slides.However the main slide in the outdoor pool was closed due to "avalanche" which was a big dissapointment for us.The internet was very slow and disconnecred every 5 min.Overall,we got what we expected for the price we payed: a clean room,pools and most importantly free tickets to the Noah's Ark waterpark(we had a lot of fun there).The door in the bathroom didn't close and our 2nd key card didn't work.Of course the resort needs a LOT of improvements.But the location was great,,wintergreen is close to the malls and restaurants. It was Ok and we will go back!

Room Tip: Try to get the romm on 3 floor otherwise u'll hear everything that is going on upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center

Address: 100 Gasser Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wintergreen Resort is perfect for your next meeting, group function, or family vacation. Relax and enjoy our indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, and children's water facilities. Our convenient onsite restaurant and lounge are sure to please any appetite.  If  searching for a romantic getaway, our whirlpool rooms will accommodate every couple with room service and special packages. Centrally located just off I90 makes it a perfect location for all to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wintergreen Resort And Conference Center
Wintergreen Wisconsin Dells
Wintergreen Resort Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wintergreen Resort & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.