We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Save Saved
You added Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
840 Wisconsin Dells Parkway South, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Rolling Meadows, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Better than I expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was better than I expected. Room was very nice and roomy. It was clean. The housekeeping staff was exceptional. They were nice enough to even put my niece's stuffed toy on one of the beds nicely when they cleaned the room each day. The complementary coffee towards the lobby was nice. The pools were nice. My niece enjoyed them very much. She loved the slides. The women at the front were extremely helpful also. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    73
    17
    18
    15
See reviews for
162
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a one night stay in the hotel. We were looking for a good water area for our two and five year olds and this place was perfect. The kids loved the variety of pools. I wouldn't recommend for older kids though, as even my 5 year old got a little bored in the kiddie water park area after a while. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. We have stayed at another hotel in the Dells with a similar small pool for the kids and this place seemed a lot nicer on the interior which I definitely enjoyed. But, we did have an incident with bed bugs. My partner and I got all bit up all over our legs, and oh my goodness, those bites are extremely uncomfortable. The hotel staff did refund our money, but I'm not sure it entirely helped rectify the situation for me. I realize hotels are susceptible to this happening, so I don't blame them 100%. However, I did read a trip advisor review before I left that mentioned bed bugs. I didn't really worry about it, but I guess I should have. Our family did stay in another room and didn't have issues. Hopefully the hotel will take care of the issue so others don't have to deal with the same situation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkjk616, General Manager at Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Inspection off the room showed “not a single bedbug, dead or alive, was observed” and no blood or fecal evidence was found in an inspection of the room in question.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family and I recently visited Wisconsin Dells and were at the Grand Marquis Inn. We had a great time and found it to be a great value. The pools were perfect for the kids and they enjoyed all three of them. They especially enjoyed the water park which was custom made for the younger children. We absolutely will be back to visit the Grand Marquis. We found the staff to be caring and helpful and the motel was very clean

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel numerous times and impressed every time by how pleasant stuff is and how nice, clean rooms are. There is a nice swimming pool area, nice water park for kids without the crowds of bigger water parks. Hotel has a great location next to many restaurants and night life. Very nice place to stay....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake Beach, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have to say that for a weekend vacation, Grand Marquis made it special. The experience was beyond my expectation. It was our first family vacation, and the hotel went far beyond what we needed. The price was excellent and the location was great. John at the front desk was a great help, he made the trip special. Our 2 year old son is just getting used to being in water, and the splash park was a great thing to have. The hot tub in the splash park is a great add-on, good for when parents have to switch places on the fly. The location is far enough away from the major waterparks to allow for traffic to be a little less, but close enough to get to without a long wait. The only downfall is that the roads are being worked on, but we forgot about that once we arrived. We are already planning to visit again soon, bringing more family next time. Thank you for the great time.

Room Tip: No included breakfast, but just go to the Aldi in baraboo and stock your mini fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Grand Marquis Waterpark and Hotel in Wisconsin Dells was an excellent choice for our vacation. We traveled with 5 yr. old triplets, a 10 yr old and a 12 year old. The waterpark indoors was wonderful for the 5 year olds. It featured colorful dolphins and and several slides. It was clean, not crowded and family friendly. The outdoor pool had a waterfall. several slides and a little deeper pool. There was also an indoor pool and hotubs. The rooms were spacious, clean, new and brightly decorated. We had a great time for a fair price.

Room Tip: The family sweet slept 6 people comfortably and was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Just here this past weekend with my husband and two young kids. Although this isn't a big, fancy resort, it is perfect for those with little kids! The decor is very 80s/90s, but rooms were clean and had a fridge, microwave, and plenty of space. Mattresses could use upgrading, but that's my only complaint. They were a bit uncomfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. My kids loved both the indoor pool area and the "splash park" area! I wouldn't call it a water park, more of a splash park. It was perfect for my kids, aged 2 and 4. They could climb and go on everything by themselves, and my husband and I could relax in the hot tub that overlooked them so we could supervise. The outdoor pool looked fun, but was too chilly for us to use. I would say if you have kids aged 7 and under, this is a perfect place for them! My kids were in heaven and loved the splash park! Any older than that and they'd be too big. It's a perfect pace to stay before you have to upgrade to the bigger resorts when your kids get older! It was a great family vacation!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites

Address: 840 Wisconsin Dells Parkway South, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#16 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor Amenities◾Blue Dolphin Lagoon Waterpark Complete with 4 Slides (Kids Size)◾2 Half Tube Sea Shell Slides◾Water Spouting Sea Life with Coral Reef Jets◾Activities Galore in the Shallow Waterpark Wading Pool◾Whirlpool◾Large L-shaped Indoor Pool (3-5 Feet Deep)◾Triple Chute Dolphin Slide◾Toddler Pool◾Twin Whirlpools◾Sauna◾Game RoomOutdoor Amenities◾Large Outdoor Pool (3-5 Feet Deep)◾Triple Slide◾Purple Dinosaur Slide◾Water Basketball◾Grand Waterfall◾Picnic Tables & Grills ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Marquis Resort Hotel And Suites
Grand Marquis Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Grand Marquis Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.