We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1033 Wisconsin Dells Parkway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
GreenLeadersBronze level
St. Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Nice hotel located on the edge of the dells. Rooms were clean and upgraded. Staff was friendly. Full breakfast, eggs, sausage, pancakes, cereal. Large breakfast room. I would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    105
    62
    26
    21
See reviews for
143
57
Solo
0
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is probably better for families than couples since it has an indoor/outdoor mini water park. I'm guessing that is the reason that the rates are so high compared to other Holiday Inn Express hotels.

The hallway carpet is brand new and rooms are in decent shape. The bathroom consists of a very small room with toilet/tub/shower and a larger counter in the main room. We found the small room to be a bit claustrophobic.

Lots of TV channels, but only 1 TV, no TV by the couch in the suites. Average hotel type of free breakfast.

Hotel is a bit noisy between the wall air conditioners and in our case, garbage pickup outside (or something like it) around 5 AM.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear dave9956,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good and the opportunities to improve. We are delighted you liked the interior of the hotel and facilities. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I would like to apologize that you had less than satisfactory stay due to the room accommodations, noise from the air conditioning unit and garbage pick up. I had documented your comments and these will certainly be looked into. I hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Easy check-in, very clean hotel. Basic HIE...Great place to explore the Dells from. Right across from outlet mall and a short drive to all the restaurants and attractions. Breakfast is typical fare and enough to keep you going. The employees are friendly and helpful. Very good maid service. Room was remade while we were at breakfast. The pools are adequate.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor to avoid overhead footfalls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

this hotel was decent. found it satisfactory as hotels go. however for 25000 rewards points i could stay at a beautiful resort hotel on the beach somewhere. the continental breakfast was very good. layout not ideal.. it was set up in a small side room on 2nd floor which was ajacent to the breakfast table area. the room is small and crowded so squeezing in to grab a fork or cream cheese or something you forgot is not going to happen. stand at the back of the line feeding in. seen this inconvenience for many while eating. additional seating was through the glass doors and in the game room or the open loft area with tables over looking the pool. heres the issue- you come out of the continental breakfast line with a plate and a drink and utensils in hand and see no open tables. you head through the glass doors to realize you have no open hands and you have to dig in your pockets for your door key to pass through. i seen one lady put a garbage can in the door to prop it open because of the inconvenience. she was corrected by maintainence of the hotel. there was a manager of some sort, a gentleman who diligently took care to over see the breakfast. he was as helpful with the door issue as he could be. he also kept the tables very wiped down and clean as soon as one opened. pool was nice. everything was clean:) outdoor pool was frigid. several people went out to dip in and returned to the indoor pool. we were there on a HOT 95 degree day in july. still cold. because the sink area in the rooms is located outside the bathroom i set my shampoos and soap up in the shower before i showered. darn it if i got in and didnt forget my washrag. stepped out to find they dont keep washrags with the other towels int he bathroom, they are out by the sink in the room.. this is an easy fix inconvenience. check out was easy. we were running a few minutes past checkout. the front desk knocked on the door to offer a late check out. we were just on our way out anyway so we refused. we checked out at the front and it went smoothly. they said their were no charges as we used rewards points. i had transfered the amount of money we'd need for this long weekend we had in the dells. the drive home was 2 hrs so i went to put gas on and stop for lunch on the way home. my available balance in my checking was in the negative. when i got home i noticed on my online banking holiday inn express had a $25 hold for incidentals (which is standard, no biggie) but also another $164 hold . i made a few calls to the hotel and corporate per the hotels tranfer of the call to learn id have to call this particular hotel back. so i did. they called my husband back, being his is the member that holds the rewards account. they explained the $164 hold was an error on their part in a bubbly helpful voice saying it would be released to our account in a few day. no appology nothing, just an explanation. was an easy fix for me as i just transerred funds. i did incurr an unecessary fee but for others this could have been a big issue! my husband uses many hotel lines on the road each week. holiday inn will be at the bottom of the list in the use only as needed column.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear creebs,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the breakfast, swimming pool and the front desk efficiency in check out.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology about the breakfast area being crowded, bathroom arrangement and for the confusion on the deposit for incidentals. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, HaMerkaz, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

very nice, helpful and attentive staff the front desk. we booked a room with hot tub.
We got a very nice room with a very big hot tub.
the furniture is typical for Holiday inn hotels.
breakfast was good, with just enough variety for every one ( maybe some fresh vegetables would be nice).
pool area looked amazing for kids...
overall. my only problem was that i that the stay there was too short :)
hope to be back with the kids some day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This HIE is nice, but because it is in such a busy area, it could use more rigorous updating. Little things like cracked and lifting bathroom tiles show that the hotel is well-used. The room was clean, and the breakfast was standard HIE fare. Front desk staff were very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel on points, and we were pleased overall, particularly given some of the other reviews. It required a high number of points which I was willing to do because I had them to spare, and I know it's about location, but in general, the rate is fairly high at this property in comparison to other hotels in the area. The rooms have the necessary ammenities of the larger waterpark hotels, but they are fairly tight in terms of space. My room was dusty, and the bathroom wasn't spotless, but the common area was fairly clean and the decor was updated. Beds were comfortable.

The waterpark area is great for small children. It wasn't busy, and there were lifeguards available. It was easy to keep an eye on everyone.

There is a small gameroom, but the change machine was out of order, and the front desk would not give us change, which was disappointing for the kids.

In general, we had a great experience, but if I'd paid anywhere close to rack rate, I'm sure I would have been pickier. We've stayed at many hotels in the area, and I priced other options. If I weren't staying on points I could definitely have gotten more for my money, but we definitely enjoyed our stay and my kids loved the smaller pool area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells

Address: 1033 Wisconsin Dells Parkway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#21 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wisconsin Dells Hotel Near Popular Attractions The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Wisconsin Dells is at the heart of the 'Waterpark Capital of the World.' Located off I-90 at Exit 92, this Wisconsin Dells hotel is less than a mile from major attractions like the Original Wisconsin Ducks, Noah's Ark Water Park and Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Nature lovers staying in our Wisconsin Dells hotel will have easy access to the unique natural beauty of the Dells of the Wisconsin River; our hotel is also four miles from Mirror Lake State Park and 16 miles from Devil's Lake State Park. For more fun indoors, there is a 24-hour shuttle to the nearby Ho-Chunk Casino. Business travelers appreciate our convenient location near I-90/94 and I-39, keeping them connected to nearby cities. We're only four miles away from the businesses of historic downtown Wisconsin Dells, and our hotel is within 11 miles of companies such as Flambeau, Inc. and Seneca Foods. Lodging in our Wisconsin Dells hotel also allows you to utilize the services of our 24-hour Business Center. During your stay in our Wisconsin Dells hotel, be sure to take advantage of our free high-speed Internet access. We help you keep your usual routine by offering a complimentary hot breakfast, a Fitness Center and copy and print services in the Business Center. Book your reservation now for our hotel near Wisconsin Dells attractions and start planning your trip today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Wisconsin Dells
Wisconsin Dells Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.