We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip for a weekend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Olympus Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mt. Olympus Resort to your Saves list
Mt. Olympus Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
chicago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family trip for a weekend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Not a fan of this property. We stayed in Hotel Rome, and its not in the best condition. The room was fine but the halls and waterpark are pretty run down and small in size. Wasn't worth the deal we got on Groupon for it.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    179
    224
    219
    292
See reviews for
666
61
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After reading what everyone had to say on here . I was gonna rebook somewhere eles. But thought I give it a try. We got there April 17 check in at around noon. And are room was ready. I knew we were gonna be off sight no big deal knowing we were gonna do other things . We stay in building 25. The few things I would change is having someone at the front main entrance or at least signs saying where the elevators are and having carts too.. We walk two flights of stairs with are stuff because there were no carts to be found. as we got to the second floor we put are stuff down because there was no sense into both of us walking to look for an elevator. Went to the third floor and has I was coming up there of course was an elevator. Came down and found one so we took are stuff and finally got to are room. One other thing I change is they put alot of guest at the third floor didn't understand that I say start with first floor then move your way up. The water park is more for kids the indoor one. The lifeguards let kids and others do what they want so really I felt like there was no rules. The lazy river to many people running into each other. Other thing they should have innertubes up by the slides so u don't have to carry them up. Just little things to work on. The room was fine. The beds were nice. So all and all the stay was good . Not sure of I stay again. But got a great deal.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The pictures are flashy, the website slick, but the property is like a bad 1979 motel. We checked in and were informed we were in an out building of the property, thats fine except the dont offer a shuttle to the waterpark which was about 3/4 of a mile away. The room was terrible the pillows were flat the heaboard in the pictures is actually painted on cinderblock wall, we could hear every neighbor in the entire unit we cut our stay a day short and went to another much nicer hotel(Best Western if that tells you anything). Mt Olympus ruined wisconsin dells it is the ultimate bait and switch tourist trap. I would suggest The Wilderness or Kalahari just pay the extra 10$ a night for a decent experience for you and your family.

Room Tip: Stay Away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Ok - here is the lowdown on staying at the Villages. It doesn't make sense to go and complain on Trip Advisor about where the Villages are located when you could have read TA before you went and been well informed on the situation.

We read the reviews (mostly negative), but decided to take a chance on staying at the Villages and Mt. Olympus for these reasons:
1. It was only $65 night
2. We weren't planning on spending all of our time at the waterpark or in the hotel room. We saw the waterpark as a glorified hotel pool and were planning on doing lots of the other activities in the Dells as well.

And based on the two reasons above, we had a good stay. We were in building 18, just down the road. Our room was clean with a queen bed and bunk beds. The kids loved the bunk beds and it helped tremendously with sibling togetherness. We had a fridge and microwave which was great for snacks and Wi-Fi was free. We've stayed at $300+/night hotels and you don't get those things! The room was pretty basic other than that. Yes, the headboard was not real and painted on the wall and there were no bedspreads, only a sheet and blanket on the beds.

We had to drive to the waterpark and parking was difficult. Lockers are $10 and you get $5 back when you return the key. There are 2 innertube slides and 2 body slides, 1 hot tub for kids and 1 for adults, a pirate ship splash area, lazy river and a small pool. It was pretty crowded and the lifeguards aren't very take charge so be prepared for some mayhem. The innertube slides were the best and the wait wasn't too long. We went two evenings over our 3 night stay and that was sufficient as any more would have been boring. We have an 11 and 13 yr old.

The indoor theme park is definitely for younger kids. We did the bumper cars, go-karts and crazy trolley. We went once and did those three things in about 1.5 hrs. Nothing that exciting, but since it was included, we decided to do it! The outdoor park looks like it has a lot to offer in season. There were only 2 go-kart tracks and 1 of the smaller roller coasters open. We did all three a couple times and the kids really liked them.

If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay, aren't planning on a "waterpark only" vacation and don't have Intercontinental expectations, then I would recommend the Villages. One caveat on the price - they add a resort fee to your final fee. I don't know what the formula was, but it seemed to be equal to one night's stay at your room rate. Even though Rome didn't seem like that much more a night, after adding the corresponding resort fee, it was a lot (and definitely not worth it for what they have to offer in the off-season)!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Never ever stay here...we arrived and checked out our room..and immediately called nearby hotels (ended up at kalahari) ... just awful... dirty..headboard w err e painted on the wall.. it looks thing like the website...even the water park was packed and just dirty...

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We typically stay at the Wilderness Resort for our family vacations. Since we take a week long vacation their in July we decided to try somewhere new for our mini vacation. Not to mention they had good deals on there rooms. The first issue we encountered was during booking. I booked a room at Mt Olympus Villages. When I received the confirmation email it revealed that those aren't actually on the resort. OK. Well no big deal I'm sure they'll have a shuttle right? Ummm no! We would have had to drive everywhere. Thank goodness we called to check prior to our arrival so we were able to upgrade to Hotel Rome on the resort. The rooms in the hotel were clean for the most part I guess although they were some mystery spots on the ceiling and walls. The water park was ridiculously small. 4 total waterslides, 2 hot tubs that were always at capacity, and one not so lazy river. There were kids running amuk without tubes swimming under your butt, splashing your face as they go back, idiotic parents with babies who need life jackets and can't swim floating free to get run over by a tube or out of hand children running down the river. During our entire stay not a single life guard whistle was blown. Ever! Most places we stay your sick of hearing whistles when you leave. This place is literally a free for all for parents that don't want to watch there kids or be bothered by staff telling them they need to. When you want to eat anything besides$5 hot dogs or burgers you need to get dressed, hop in your car and leave the resort. Never have I stayed at a resort that had so many staff members pushing me to leave the resort and astonished that I tried to plan a trip were I didn't have to. The indoor amusement park was a joke with the world's smallest go-kart track and the rest of the rides geared to kids 5 yr or younger. 1 outdoor roller coaster (the smallest one )open 2 outdoor go-kart tracks open and one only half open. You couldn't even drive the whole track. There is not enough stuff to do to occupy anyone for a day let alone a weekend. The hotel itself is incredibly noisy. Always sounds like there are herds of elephants roaming around. The most bizzare part was that they have what looks like treasure chest between each room that hold towels, tp, and what not, and for whatever reason midnight or 1 am is when the staff refills those chests. Slamming them open and shut and talking, and there radios blaring outside your room. This is no kind of resort. I don't care how good the deal is I will never stay here again! SAVE YOUR MONEY! STAY AT THE WILDERNESS OR KALAHARI, OR THE GREAT WOLF LODGE! But seriously not here. 1 night somewhere else is better than 2 nights here.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited over Spring break with my 16 year old granddaughter, her friend and my 7 year old grandson. We were in building 6 a short drive from th we main entrance and water park. Our room was somewhat out dated but clean and it had a back door that you could go outside and it backed up to some woods. There was a picnic table there which would be nice in the Summer. The water park was nice for all ages and wasn't very crowded. We only had to wait a couple of minutes to go down the slides.I liked that there was an indoor amusement park. The girls went on the go carts and my grandson went on a lot of rides. It's more for younger kids, there's also a rock wall and an arcade. Overall it was fun and we will go back this Summer.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt. Olympus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Olympus Resort

Address: 1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Olympus Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt. Olympus Resort provides our guests with both Indoor and Outdoor Water & Theme Park fun! All 1300 Mt. Olympus Resort rooms are spread over the famous Wisconsin Dells Strip, surrounding Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Free skiing, tubing, snowboarding and Golf passes (depending on season) are included with stay, Free wi-fi access available, 44 Indoor and Outdoor Water Slides, 4 Interactive Children's water play areas, 7 Outdoor Go-Kart Tracks, 1 Indoor Go-Kart Track, 5 Outdoor Roller Coasters, 1 Surf pool, creating 9ft waves! 1 Wave pool and a giant water fortress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Mt. Olympus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rome - At Mt. Olympus Water And Theme Park
Wisconsin Dells Treasure Island
Treasure Island Wisconsin Dells
Treasure Island Water Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Olympus Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.