We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to Complain About ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Olympus Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mt. Olympus Resort to your Saves list
Mt. Olympus Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nothing to Complain About ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was here on Christmas eve with family & extended family. We got a good deal courtesy of a coupon from a friend which allowed us to get a room for $136 including taxes. It was a promotional rate offer with a $15 gas card and a $30 resort credit. Additionally, we got a set of ski and snow tubing coupons that was good for two hours of tubing or skiing. It all seemed too good to be true at first and I wasn't ready to believe it till I actually got the promotional certs. Good news is that the resort came through on all fronts.

Now, I noticed a lot of negative reviews about this resort and it needs some perspective. First, we stayed in the main building which is a nice lodge and directly connected to the indoor water park and theme park. I can see how it would be an inconvenience if one came during the summer months and got assigned a "village room". The entire road is an attractions strip apparently all owned by the Olympus Resorts company with accommodations that are motel style up and down the strip. I would imagine that maintenance and upkeep of these accommodations would indeed be a gargantuan task. In addition, there is something that you should know about the staff profile here.

Most of the staff here are part of the work and travel visa program and therefore come with various accents and various cultural backgrounds. That is interesting as well as a reason for some mistakes and misconceptions or miscommunication. I am not making an excuse for them but I am giving a reason why we as guests should be patient and pleasant. After all, they are getting an opportunity to know us as a country and if we are willing to interact with them, we would all be so better off. This is not the only place that is participating in such a program. Other resorts do too and in fact, Canada has such a program too. Interestingly, Canada is curtailing this program and that has generated a lot of flak with customers who apparently prefer the foreign ski instructors!

All in all, a good deal for this time of the year that gives the kids something to do. Recommend.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    166
    190
    175
    242
See reviews for
567
54
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morton Grove, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you are thinking of visiting this water park in the summer, stop reading this review now.

Let's start with the good. Got a great price for our room plus $25/night in resort credit. We used this mainly for souvenirs. The check-in process was quick and easy and the staff was friendly and courteous. Also, our room was actually ready early. Big win.

The room had hard-wood floors, which was strange, but not a bad thing. However, being on the first floor the people walking above us were amplified due to the hard floors. The beds were fine, but the TV didn't swivel so the kids could see it from their bunk. Also, the cord for the heater was lying precariously near the kids' bunk. Not cool. We were shocked that the rooms didn't have any drawers for our stuff. None. Grant it, we only stayed for a few days, but still. People were terribly loud and discourteous around bedtime, but can't fault the resort for that. We did call down to complain one night and they sent security to ask people to quite down.

The waterpark has four big slides, two requiring an inflatable inner tube and two that didn't. They were fun and there were virtually no lines, which was good. The lazy river was nice, but there isn't an indoor wave pool. The small kid areas is small and dark and, unfortunately, near the doors to the outside making it susceptible to an occasional outdoor breeze.

Our biggest gripe with the indoor waterpark was the temperature. I shouldn't be shivering uncontrollably after coming out of the water. Just ridiculous. We've been to other waterparks in the winter (Key Lime Cove, Great Wolf Lodge, The Wilderness Resort) and their air and water temps felt like a summer day. Towels are provided, but just 2 per person and they are wafer thin. If you're going to go, be sure to bring your own. After our first day, we picked up towels at the local Wal-Mart.

The indoor theme park was ok. My daughter and I enjoyed the bumper cars, but the rest didn't thrill us. Plus you have to walk into the indoor waterpark, check in, then walk outside to the indoor theme park's entrance. Thankfully it wasn't too cold or wet this year.

The kids did like the arcade, but what kid wouldn't? Nothing there that we don't have at home.

The food choices at the resort are few and pricey, but we knew that before hand so we won't fault the resort on this point. Plenty of food choices just a few minutes away.

Overall, this trip was just so-so. We won't be visiting again, at least not in the winter. The outdoor water park does look epic so we could be swayed to make a summer visit.

Room Tip: If you are getting a room with a bunk bed, request that the bunk is near the door and not the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I like the resort but find that the food is not good and extremely overpriced! The rooms still had hair from the previous tenants. Icky.we had to clean toliet and tub. Would love to have a Christmas dinner here.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Complete waists of money overall we spent 15 min in waterpatk over two days,you cannot call this I resort,we got rooms in motel like facilities with resort prices could not cancel secound day,this resort has zero to offer in winter,wish I can ask for refund,owefull bad place

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Our kids enjoyed the themed room and the cool bunk beds And waterpark was fun. We also went skiing that was free or included with stay. Theme park was nice for this time of year. We Will definitely Come back.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed at Mount Olympus for the last 4-5 years. We have two kids that always really enjoy themselves. With the indoor water park, indoor theme park, and arcades there is alway something to do. It's also nice that we also get free tubing passes for Christmas Mountain. Although our family always has fun, I'm not sure that we will stay here again next December. The quality of the hotel seems to be declining. The carpets in the halls are filthy, there was mold in the bath tub, and our ceiling had a crack in it. We've noticed that there are now several more Mount Olympus buildings throughout the Dells and think that the main hotel just isn't being maintained the same.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As others have said, the Village is actually a series of separate renovated buildings up and down the strip, NOT connected to the waterpark area. Unless you want to drive to the waterpark, be sure to stay in the Hotel Rome. The Village buildings have definitely had work done to spruce them up, with hotel-type carpeting in the halls, flooring in the rooms, etc. (the motel trying to be a hotel part). At least ours was in Building 10. Our room had a kitchenette with a full fridge, microwave, granite countertop. However, there was no coffee maker and no bathroom vanity. The only sink was in the kitchenette, the only mirror on the bathroom door. A little odd. The walls were motel thin though and we could hear everything in the hall and in the neighbor's room. Same goes for the ceiling...we were pretty certain a herd of elephants was staying in the room above us. This visit we did not visit the waterpark. The compound is much more enjoyable in the summer when everything is open...the indoor section is pretty small. Mt Olympus itself appears to be growing and seems to be making an earnest attempt at becoming a competitor with places like Kalahari and Great Wolf, but it's still in its tween years.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt. Olympus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Olympus Resort

Address: 1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Olympus Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt. Olympus Resort provides our guests with both Indoor and Outdoor Water & Theme Park fun! All 1300 Mt. Olympus Resort rooms are spread over the famous Wisconsin Dells Strip, surrounding Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Free skiing, tubing, snowboarding and Golf passes (depending on season) are included with stay, Free wi-fi access available, 44 Indoor and Outdoor Water Slides, 4 Interactive Children's water play areas, 7 Outdoor Go-Kart Tracks, 1 Indoor Go-Kart Track, 5 Outdoor Roller Coasters, 1 Surf pool, creating 9ft waves! 1 Wave pool and a giant water fortress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Mt. Olympus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rome - At Mt. Olympus Water And Theme Park
Wisconsin Dells Treasure Island
Treasure Island Wisconsin Dells
Treasure Island Water Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Olympus Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.