We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel trying very hard to be a hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Olympus Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mt. Olympus Resort to your Saves list
Mt. Olympus Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Motel trying very hard to be a hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As others have said, the Village is actually a series of separate renovated buildings up and down the strip, NOT connected to the waterpark area. Unless you want to drive to the waterpark, be sure to stay in the Hotel Rome. The Village buildings have definitely had work done to spruce them up, with hotel-type carpeting in the halls, flooring in the rooms, etc. (the motel trying to be a hotel part). At least ours was in Building 10. Our room had a kitchenette with a full fridge, microwave, granite countertop. However, there was no coffee maker and no bathroom vanity. The only sink was in the kitchenette, the only mirror on the bathroom door. A little odd. The walls were motel thin though and we could hear everything in the hall and in the neighbor's room. Same goes for the ceiling...we were pretty certain a herd of elephants was staying in the room above us. This visit we did not visit the waterpark. The compound is much more enjoyable in the summer when everything is open...the indoor section is pretty small. Mt Olympus itself appears to be growing and seems to be making an earnest attempt at becoming a competitor with places like Kalahari and Great Wolf, but it's still in its tween years.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    164
    188
    175
    241
See reviews for
565
54
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We paid $125 for a one night all inclusive deal where you got to stay in a room at the My Olympus Village (a separate building from the theme park itself), access to the indoor waterpark, other attractions (which are basically kid oriented), free food at 2 restaurants (which are more like fast food "stands" with the free soda right in between the lockers of the pool area which was kind of yucky), and free drinks and shuttle to club "Wett" from 9pm-Midnight. Our room was not bad, it was actually very clean. The buildings considered "the village" however are not attached to the indoor water park and are kind of all over up and down "the strip". Some are quite the hike. If you stay in one of these rooms try and request one in a building close to the actual park. We were in building 6 and it was close (like a 30 second drive). The water park is small but nice. Lazy river and 3 or 4 slides. We didnt take the shuttle to club Wett because we were so close we just walked. The club is perfect for dancing all night if that's what you're into. Be aware the free "tap beer" is not tap beer, it is bottles of miller high life. All in all a good deal, just dont expect "luxury".

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While staying over on Thanksgiving night for a family get together; we were extremely dissatisfied by the employee who took our note to provide a key to our room, with our room number written on the paper, along with the name of the expected guest (Daughter), and he printed an extra key just to provide to our expected family member once they arrived so that we could enjoy the water park while awaiting for our late arrival of our family member. We should have stayed in the hotel room until all our family was present. Upon arriving no key could be found, no note, and no communication from the check in employee to the next employee once his shift ended. Unfortunately, our relaxing getaway turned into a nightmare of not knowing who had taken a key to our room with the note of telling them which room number the key belonged to. Needless to say our late family member did not even get to enjoy the water park or the theme park-Thanks Mount Olympus for a Thanksgiving we will never forget.

Room Tip: Beware, you will pay a hefty resort fee that covers the wifi in the room; and if they advertise you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, Iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a nice time overall. The hotel was quiet, the water park was fun for my 4 year old, and the indoor amusements kept us entertained for a few hours. One thing that was a little confusing is the parking lot. It snowed while we were staying and we followed the signs to exit, only to be surprised by a rope blocking the exit. Better signage for winter exiting would be appreciated.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not sure what to think after reading the reviews, but given the reduced rate, we thought we'd give it a shot. In hindsight, I get what all the other reviews are saying, but you have to look at the whole picture.
We found a reduced rate on-line, and our room was in one of the buildings off the main grounds. It would be a nice walk on a beautiful day, but we chose to drive to the park. Had we paid full price, we would have been located on the main grounds. However, by saving a little money on our room, we were able to do some other things around the Dells that we wouldn't have been able to do if we had paid full price.
During check-in, everything went smooth. However, as part of our package, we were supposed to get $10 to spend at the resort. We only got it after I reminded them about it.
The room was nice. I think this was the first room I have been in that has wood floors instead of carpet. It felt cleaner, and a huge plus for allergy sufferers. The boys thought the bunk bed was pretty cool. The maid even left their "fort" in tact when they cleaned the room. One thing I found odd was the fact that they don't have hand towels. They give you bath towels and washcloths, but no hand towels. Why??? The building we were in had an arcade and a nice gathering area with fireplace and pool tables. No complaints.
The indoor waterpark was small compared to the bigger resorts, but still gave us plenty to do. Walking by the outdoor waterpark, the boys were wishing it was summer!
The indoor theme park was geared more towards the little ones, and if you wanted to do rock climbing or laser tag, you had to pay extra. They also had an arcade and gift shop. The go-carts were fun enough until the outdoor theme park opened.
The outdoor theme park offered 2 go-cart tracks and 2 roller coasters. After a few rounds of each, we moved on. They definitely have more to offer in the summer.
I think my only complaint would be the cost of all the extras. If you stick to the waterpark and theme park, you're just fine. But the arcade, laser tag, rock climbing, gift shops, food, and drink will nickel and dime you to death.

Room Tip: Hotel Rome is on park grounds. All other buildings are along the strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I will never stay here again and although we had a good time at the water park itself I will never again give my money to Mt Olympus. We stayed at the resort over the summer and it was one of the worst experiences of my life. From the moment we walked in the door I wanted to run right back out. It looked like a bad hotel they had acquired 50 years ago and never stuck a penny into (our room was about $300/night). The burnt orange carpet was so dirty and disgusting you could actually see the grim trails walking in from the door around the furniture and in the high traffic areas. The wallpaper was peeling and re-secured with scotch tape in several areas. After dinner out with my husband one night I said to him, I'd rather sleep in the car and go back into that hotel room. Please don't stay here. You're better off putting up a tent and staying at a campground.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband took me here as I've always wanted to stay at a Wisconsin Dells water park. We stayed at Hotel Rome and took advantage of the water park. When booking, make sure you confirm that you are staying at Hotel Rome, otherwise you may be staying in a separate bungalow.

The hotel:
Pros: The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. There was just the two of us, but I can see how this would be great for families, as there were bunk beds and ample space for a family of 4.
Cons: The walls were paper thin and the hallways were very noisy. More than once I was awakened by people fighting or children yelling outside my door. I never felt unsafe, but it was definitely obnoxious.

Water Park:
Pros: The admission was free with the price of the hotel stay. I couldn't take advantage of the water slides or spa (being pregnant), but they looked fun. I can see how kids would really enjoy this place.

Cons: There were a lot of rude, unsupervised children. In the lazy river, we were knocked around repeatedly by kids racing. I wished the river was longer and more dynamic.

You have to pay for the lockers, which I didn't mind. The downside was that they were very small and we could barely fit our stuff inside

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm that you are staying at the Hotel Rome otherwise there is a good possiblity th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt. Olympus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Olympus Resort

Address: 1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Olympus Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt. Olympus Resort provides our guests with both Indoor and Outdoor Water & Theme Park fun! All 1300 Mt. Olympus Resort rooms are spread over the famous Wisconsin Dells Strip, surrounding Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Free skiing, tubing, snowboarding and Golf passes (depending on season) are included with stay, Free wi-fi access available, 44 Indoor and Outdoor Water Slides, 4 Interactive Children's water play areas, 7 Outdoor Go-Kart Tracks, 1 Indoor Go-Kart Track, 5 Outdoor Roller Coasters, 1 Surf pool, creating 9ft waves! 1 Wave pool and a giant water fortress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mt. Olympus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rome - At Mt. Olympus Water And Theme Park
Wisconsin Dells Treasure Island
Treasure Island Wisconsin Dells
Treasure Island Water Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Olympus Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.