We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Olympus Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Mt. Olympus Resort to your Saves list
Mt. Olympus Resort
1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Waukesha, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything was fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We just returned from 2 nights at Mt. Olympus. We were in building 16b and knew we were "off-site" when we made the reservation. For about $115 a night (including taxes) we had a clean bed, what appeared to be fairly new carpet, a hot shower with great water pressure and a TV that worked. We only planned on sleeping/showering there so we didnt need a lot of amenities. When we checked in we discovered there were no electrical outlets by the bed/nightstand (the lamps are hardwired) and my husband uses a CPAP machine at night. We called the hotel operator and within 10 minutes maintenance arrived and brough us an extension cord. Problem solved!

Housekeeping cleaned fine, and there were plenty of towels in the bathroom for just the two of us (six towels each night!) The price of the room included the waterpark each day we were there so for two nights we got essentially close to three days at the park. The park itself was not crowded and was extremely clean.

I'm not sure what people expect with some of the negative reviews. Of course the pools/hot tubs are shut down at the small properties Mt. Olympus bought. They expect you to go the water/theme park and spend money there! If you want a pool/hot tub you can stay at the some of the other small places which give you tickets to Noah's Ark. We went in with a good attitude towards everyone on the staff and were rewarded with smiles, pleasant comments and good service. The room was clean, the park was fun and I would stay here again. Its not The Four Seasons but I didn't expect it to be!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    160
    184
    170
    228
See reviews for
551
50
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had a very disappointing stay at Mount Olympus Resort Village.

Booking/Reservation Problems:

After receiving an email confirmation of our reservation, I noticed an extra $20 fee. This fee was not mentioned during booking and was not identified on our confirmation. I called the resort and they indicated that it was a resort fee that covered linen, parking, and room cleaning. After I confronted the resort and threatened to complain to the BBB, they dropped the rate of our room by $20. They also required a 50% deposit.

Poor Location of Building:

The building where we stayed was a great distance from the main resort. It appeared that the resort purchased several old hotels in Wisconsin Dells and very cheaply remodeled them and turned them into the "Village."

The Room Sucked:

It appeared that they kept all the old failing room mechanicals - heater/air conditioner, bath fan. The fan appeared to have a bad bearing and the air conditioner was extremely loud. The The room pictures on their website are deceiving.There was no carpeting, but vinyl flooring with a fake wood pattern. When we called guest services for hand towels since our room had none, they stated that hand towels were not provided to any guest. They agreed to provide some extra washcloths, they never arrived to the room. They shoved a set of bunk beds in our standard size room so they could charge more money. There was only a cheap 3x3 foot table and two chairs to use. There were no actual head boards. They were painted on the wall. The mattress' were very uncomfortable. When you moved there was a plastic sound. The toilet took for ever to flush. The tub would not drain properly. We were provided with cheap hotel cups, soap, and shampoo. Things you could buy at Wal-Mart. Sine they did not provide a coffee maker, they provided instant coffee packets. But no coffee cups to warm up water from the cheap little $35 microwave.

The Swimming Park:

Appeared to be understaffed and over crowded. Staff were not friendly an appeared to be from several foreign countries. Most could not speak English. If the indoor water park park water was heated, ti did not feel like it. Life guards did not control any of the Lazy river for example. Lids would not use floats and hundreds of unused floats were everywhere. It was difficult to walk anywhere.

Carnival Portion:

Half of the rides did not work. Staff did not have good control over the rides and were not polite. We went to it after 7:00 p.m. No staff monitored parking or checked you in. Any predator could enter in and no staff would know about it.

In sum, we will never return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

4 years ago we stayed at the Hotel Rome and everything was wonderful. Decided to go back to Mt Olympus since my son was older now so he could enjoy more. Got an ok deal on a 2-night stay at the Mt Olympus 'Villages'. We stayed in the hotel that used to be the Skyline. The room smelled strange, there was dried feces on the toilet seat, stains on the carpet, finger prints all over the windows and mirrors and one of our key cards didn't work. Went to the room late since we were using the waterpark all day & part of the night. We were tired and so I decided to call the next day. Called and complained and only option was to receive a $40 credit that can only be used on food,drink & souvenirs at Mt Olympus. Since the food was so expensive at the park, the credit was used up and then some for lunch for 2 adults & 1 child.

Also, they boarded up the outside pool and hot tub at our hotel and closed off the indoor one that was supposed to be there. Thought we could relax at night in the hotel pools/hot tubs but could not since they removed them. Come to find out after speaking with other patrons at the waterpark that the owners removed / boarded up ALL of the pools and hot tubs (indoor and out) from all of the hotels them now own including the Hotel Rome. That is unbelievable ! I will not be staying at any of their hotels again. There are plenty of other hotels & water parks there to enjoy.

Room Tip: Do not stay at any Mt Olympus properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

One star because zero stars isn't an option. A friend of ours booked the stay for 4 adults and 4 kids from 8-12 and we were all so excited as the photos online looked very nice! Complete bait and switch - Bldg 10 - you had to drive to the waterpark/theme park; room of 3 queens and one bunk was bare bones, headboards were PAINTED on the walls and beds were very uncomfortable; bathroom extremely tiny for that many people; bathroom door did not lock; no staff on hand other than the video game room; floors dirty; walls are paper thin and some of the other guests opened their doors at 6am on Sunday (after everyone was exhausted from the day before) to let their toddlers run up and down the halls. Waterpark would be a great spot, but they have a deal where the general public can join in the fun for $15. Great deal, but makes for a chaotic and extremely long wait time for anything besides the wave pool, which was so loaded with people that it was extremely dangerous to be in - adults getting thrown over kids - heads cracking together; saw one boy get thrashed around so bad he had skin marks down his side that looked like he was attacked. Roller coasters are wood, and somewhat fun, but shake you around so bad you get a headache. Go carts were fun but not very fast, and the giant Trojan Horse they have for you to take your go cart into was conveniently closed and when I asked a go-cart worker why she had no idea it wasn't open. Indoor waterpark was set up well, but so many people the chlorine smell once you went in was caustic and the water was murky all over. Also got the joy of seeing a couple attempting to use the lazy river as their personal makeout room - get a life people - there were SO MANY CHILDREN AROUND!! Just so overpriced for the rooms based on what you get. Generally the park workers were very nice and enjoyed their time which made the parks better, but I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Nothing about this was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Upon arrival to our first room in building 25, I checked behind the bed and there was a cigarette, ashes, peeled off nail polish and crumbs from a cookie. Not to mention the white door (to the room) that was filthy and the wood furniture was missing chunks of wood. I called the front desk and they said they would switch our room. I asked if housekeeping would check it because I did not want to go back to the main building to have everything rescanned and changed. Yes ma'am they are checking it now. Perfect. I walk into that room building 18. I immediately pull the beds from the wall. Behind these beds I find a string cheese wrapper and cheetos. I call the front desk once again and they said someone checked it and it was fine, do you want us to send someone to clean it? Yes please. That took 3 hrs out of our park/pool time. On day of check out....a ROACH was walking on the sink in our bathroom! Maintenance came and confirmed it. We talked to manager who said she could only credit us for $80. We said that was not enough considering we had to throw all our toiletries away. They said Rich the general manager doesn't come in until 1p. This was at 10am. He left my husband a voicemail message and gave us a credit for last night. I went to turn in my keys at the front desk of the main Resort and asked to speak to Rich. After 5 minutes of waiting, I was told Rich left for the day and here is his business card you can leave him a message. I said REALLY? I WAS TOLD RICH DIDN'T COME IN UNTIL 1PM AND IS ONLY 1230PM. The front desk clerk was like idk that what I was told by Juana. CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were in offsite building 8 and we were very happy with the room. Everything seemed new... Floors, furniture etc. price was right! Lots of fun in the park with kids even though it was cold while we were there. We will visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodgeville, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Nice room, lots of space. Quiet & clean. Lockers in the pool area are ridiculously expensive. The indoor water park is nice. Hated that we had to walk from the indoor water park OUTSIDE in below zero weather in winter to get to the indoor theme park. That was bad designing. Parking & parking lot is a disaster, signs are meant to direct you in the right direction, but are very confusing. Restaurants on-site are great. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt. Olympus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Olympus Resort

Address: 1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt. Olympus Resort provides our guests with both Indoor and Outdoor Water & Theme Park fun! All 1300 Mt. Olympus Resort rooms are spread over the famous Wisconsin Dells Strip, surrounding Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Free skiing, tubing, snowboarding and Golf passes (depending on season) are included with stay, Free wi-fi access available, 44 Indoor and Outdoor Water Slides, 4 Interactive Children's water play areas, 7 Outdoor Go-Kart Tracks, 1 Indoor Go-Kart Track, 5 Outdoor Roller Coasters, 1 Surf pool, creating 9ft waves! 1 Wave pool and a giant water fortress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Mt. Olympus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rome - At Mt. Olympus Water And Theme Park
Wisconsin Dells Treasure Island
Treasure Island Wisconsin Dells
Treasure Island Water Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Olympus Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.